We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Still New, Clean, Convenient, Stand-out Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, Still New, Clean, Convenient, Stand-out Staff”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It's the people who make the place. General Mgr, Daniel Navas was a jewel. Hope Wyndham knows what they got because he's a special person. Helped us in so many ways. Additionally, Gustavo Chacon handled our reservation, our bags (bellman at lunch), our checkout, call for taxi, etc., with professional, friendly, prompt service. Can't say enough good things about our bartender for one evening! Omar Muñoz. We learned more Spanish, he learned more English, we were very happy with his service and recommend asking for him when you go.

It's a great deal for business people, your first night in the area or your last night or two before heading home. They need to add a free shuttle to the SJ airport, but have free shuttles for taking guests to shopping areas or museums in downtown SJ.. Food was wonderful! Their chicken Alfredo was the best either of has ever had... anywhere! Good free breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: views best on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear customer, thank you very much for your comment, we are really happy to know that your stay at our hotel was nice, I'll congratulate Gustavo Omar for their good work and we will give them a special mention and prize. On behalf of all our staff, we appreciate your contribution and we hope to see you soon around here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    305
    79
    20
    13
See reviews for
189
244
58
285
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

To be clear, I did not actually stay in hotel. I booked it for my consultant/friend that I hired to do work for me here in Costa Rica.

I hate to give not great reviews, but I have to say I was disappointed. I watched this hotel being built and really anticipated finally being a patron. Room was very nice, but predictable. I know these places are trying to classify themselves as "boutique", but there is nothing really boutique about them. It is smaller and a bit more upper-scale design that you could see almost anywhere.

I think for business purposes it would be a good fit. But for vacations...? Nothing really about it is very Costa Rican or is unique to any hotel in it's class.

I hate when front desks will not match rates offered by the OTA's . It forces you to do your booking through OTA's to get best rate and then hotel pays commission to OTA - which of course you the consumer are paying. To the front desk credit, they did point to in-house computer terminals to allow us to book with OTA.

Breakfast, was too a let down. I noticed they served Britt Coffee, which in Costa Rica is considered premier brand. However, it was the most watered down high quality coffee I ever tasted. After 1 cup each, we asked if we could have espresso. They said we could not as the machine was broken. Costa Ricans make some of the best coffee just using a cloth filter and pouring hot water through it. So, getting us a stronger cup of coffee could easily be accomplished.

I guess the waitress saw how disappointed we were and and miraculously after 5-10 minutes came back and said they could get machine working and provided us Americanos. I was really pleased. I know it sounds picky... But I have lived here in Costa Rica for 10 years and I eat and drink in the most humble places and love it. But when you go into a place like this and pay $14 for breakfast, I think expecting decent coffee is allowed.

Almost without fail, you can go into the most humble soda (counter restaurant) with a mother and daughter running it - and if you asked for a stronger cup of coffee, they would not even blink an eye and smile and get it for you.

Given that it is a chain hotel, I am not sure what they could change. But if they are just going after business traveller, they will be fine (with better coffee of course).

Room Tip: Ask for a view. I think rooms booked through OTAs are given less desired rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinsito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Customer, I appreciate your taking time to comment on your experience at our hotel. I think, It's not right that we have devalued by you, if you not have stayed in our hotel. I see that you working in Hospitality like us, you should know very well what I appreciate all the comments that we have to improve. We have scored 3 points by you for our coffee, decoration and rate was not to your liking. You know the rest of our facilities? Rooms, pillows, beds, GYM, etc?.

I will answer each of your comments below.

Our hotel was not what we promote as "Boutique Hotel" because we have more than 100 rooms and our hotel is a contemporary and urban concept hotel, if you have seen advertised our hotel as Hotel Boutique, please help us know where you saw it to ask improve our description, would greatly appreciate it.

About your comments on the OTAs, I can assure you that our prices are the same in all places to avoid price parity and not have commissioned them because we work with “net prices” and through a software that make this, the difference in price is not that could be due but your comment that is something common I think is erroneous.
About your comments about our Coffee, every day I take minimum two cups of coffee from the buffet and can I conform the coffee has the same taste every day, we have a Britt machine that makes automatic way, to avoid having a different taste or concentration, if you like more stronger you can order an American coffee like you did, our expresso machine effectively was damaged by 24 hours it gives the coffee watery for that Iorder to close until fixed.

About your comments , how we assign our rooms, I think you are assuming something, in this case is also wrong, we do not give better or worse rooms based on who make the reservation, our software in reception, assigns rooms while they enter in the booking system to asigned by zones that with the intention to save energy.

I hope to meet you in person to apologize for that coffee was not to their liking and to clarify their assumptions about the OTAS and allocation of rooms. Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heredia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Katherine Retana, alvaro garcia, gustavo chacon, alexia alfaro, were all extremely helpful in all the services. and also the hotel was extremely clean and comfortable, I will definately be coming there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear customer, thank you very much for commenting on your stay at our hotel, I will congratulate each of the workers who thanked you for help. Hope to see you around here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Clean, contemporary, and convenient place to stay in Escazu if you have your own transport and know your way around. This hotel is perfect if you are looking to run errands and load up your car with purchases from EPA (literally right next door), PriceMart, MultiPlaza Mall, and Avenidas Escazu (right across the highway but hard/impossible to access without a vehicle) before setting out on the road. Maybe not so much for tourists. There was a shuttle that ran to both the mall and the Avenidas Escazu area around dinner time. Rooms were comfortable and had all the necessary amenities, but there were no views to speak of. Nice gym and indoor pool for those so inclined. Very good, hot breakfast...omelets to order.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wander27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thanks for commenting your stay in our hotel, we are glad to know that you like our location, facilities, room and buffet breakfast. We hope to continue to be your choice in hotels in the area and again we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel was beautiful, fair rates, and very clean. Pool and exercise room were very good. However, location,location, location. This hotel is isolated from many of the more populated touristy areas and while there is a free shuttle, it only runs at certain times and its not something that was shared with me upon check in. Restaurant is fairly priced, breakfasts were amazing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear customer, thank you for commenting your stay in our hotel, Nice to know you liked our facilities, room and breakfast. About your comments the beginning you did not notify the free shuttle service, we will make a meeting with Reception to verify inform all customers at every check-in. About our restaurant menu, they are now changing the menu and we hope that you can see our improvements and we hope be to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escazú, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Wyndaham Garden San Jose - Escazu is a new hotel located at one of the most exclusive areas of San Jose (San Rafael de Escazu). It is very close by to good restaurants and large shopping malls. Access to downtown is fast and easy through Highway 27 and the international airport is only a 20 minute ride (during non-rush hour time). The service is excellent and the rooms are big, comfortable and luxurious. The front desk staff was also very helpful on getting sightseeing tours booked.

Room Tip: I would advise to get a room on the third floor or higher on the North side, as the views to the sor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticoviajero_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear customer, we are glad to know that you like our hotel in general and especially the location of facilities and service in the name of our staff thank you very much for commenting your experience. We hope to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The location is easy to get to, and the area is very nice. The hotel is clean, modern and generally comfortable. We stayed a total of three nights in two different rooms at the beginning and end of our trip. The shower in the rooms without a bathtub is poorly designed and leaves the bathroom floor soaked after every use. Otherwise, the rooms were fine, and the wifi signal is very good. The beds are also very comfortable.

The included breakfast is somewhat limited in variety but should be fine for most guests. Dinner in the restaurant is a bit on the pricey side for the quality, but wasn't terrible. With a couple of minor exceptions, service was generally good. If you want to stay in Escazu, this is a good option at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyfdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dnavasdiaz, General Manager at Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear customer, thank you very much for commenting your experience in our hotel, we are glad to know that you liked the location, service and rooms in general. About your comment shower floor, we have some rooms which we are changing the bathroom floor drain so fast. On the variety of buffet breakfast, we are expanding the options and we have placed an Omelette station, the restaurant's menu are changing with more options. We hope you will come and see it soon, thanks for recommending us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
2.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
1.9 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu

Property: Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Address: Mts. West, Epa Store 200 | San Rafael Escazu, Escazu 10203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Escazu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
#5 Business Hotel in Escazu
#5 Family Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu - First-Class Amenities In Trendy, Upscale Escazu Located in the trendy, upscale suburb of Escazu in Costa Rica's largest city - San Jose - the newly constructed Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu hotel offers travelers a host of modern amenities, world-class service and easy access to all that San Jose and this beautiful Central American country have to offer. Easy proximity to several corporate centers, restaurants, shopping, museums and stunning natural attractions like the Poas and Irazu volcanoes and with Juan Santa Maria International Airport just 20 minutes' away, leisure and business travelers alike will want to make this San Rafael Escazu hotel their premier lodging destination. Guests can stay active with a workout in the state-of-the-art fitness center, or with a swim in the 65-foot long indoor heated lap pool, while those looking to unwind can enjoy a relaxing soak in the Jacuzzi. Female travelers will rest comfortably in specially designated female-friendly guest room floors, and thoughtful amenities like complimentry breakfast, 24-hour Mini-Mart, 24-hour business center, free Wi-Fi and valet and dry cleaning services add to a sense of both productivity and well-being. El Cortijo restaurant serves up International cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner, while Provenza Lounge and its outdoor terrace provide the perfect spot to relax and enjoy cocktails and dinner, and the convenience of 24-hour room service affords guests the luxury of savoring food and beverage without having to leave the hotel. Ample free parking offers convenience, while those who prefer to leave the driving to the hotel can take advantage of the free shuttle service to local business parks and malls. Each of the hotel's 111 over-sized, smoke-free guest rooms features contemporary styling, a unique fusion of warm and cool tones and thoughtful amenities like a 37-inch flat panel TV with 88 channels, free Wi-Fi, plush bedding, ergonomic work station, in-room safe and fully-stocked mini-bar. Guests upgrading to a Junior Suite will enjoy a separate seating area, full-length mirror and sleeper sofa, while the Junior Superior Suites feature separate sleeping and living areas, dining table and chairs, sleeper sofa and microwave. This San Jose hotel features over 3,500 square feet of conference and meeting space. The event space ranges from an event room that accommodates up to 32 people, to the 2,260 square-foot Alhambra Ballroom that accommodates up to 130 people for a banquet or 18 10 X 10 exhibit booths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing