We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a one night stay, if driving to the airport the next day.”
Review of Costa Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Costa Verde Inn
Ranked #1 of 14 Escazu B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for a one night stay, if driving to the airport the next day.”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed here because it was relatively inexpensive compared to other hotels closer to the airport. We had a rental car and GPS so it was easy for us to drive to the airport (20 minutes) the next morning. The inn is located in Escazu which is a more affluent suburb of San Jose. Many gated communities and barbed wires around people's properties. We felt safe enough to walk into the little downtown area of Escazu to get dinner at a ranch-style restaurant called "Layli." We walked back to the inn in the dark with our children and no problems except for the little dogs in people's yards constantly barking at us at 7:30 pm.
The room itself was outdated in furniture; the couch looked like it was over 20 years old and should've been thrown out long ago. The bathroom wasn't very clean. I was just happy to be there the one night and not longer.
The people working there were very friendly. Kitchen ladies who served the breakfast were very sweet. Simple but good breakfast.
Yes, the hot tub was tiny and I wasn't sure about its
cleanliness. You need to give them 30 minutes notice so they can start it up for you. We skipped it.
Sleeping at night was difficult because I kept smelling the smoke from their outside fireplace even though all the windows of our room was closed. It almost smelled like second hand smoke. Again, I was glad we were just there for one night.
Stay there for its closeness to the airport but not for any
longer.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    47
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
36
51
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

If you are looking for a cheap place to stay the night before a flight or to use as a home base while traveling during the day I suppose this would be an option if your on a MAJOR budget. I did not feel entirely safe driving to this location and I did not feel 100% safe at the hotel either. There was a large wall surrounding the property and the gate was locked at 10:00 pm with access to only guest but I couldn't shake the feeling. The rooms are incredibly outdated and although I didn't see any bugs or major dirt I didn't feel clean staying there. This placed reminded me more of a hostel than a "hotel".

The other review about the worlds smallest jacuzzi wasn't kidding. In the words of Zoolander "What is this a jacuzzi for ants"?!?!?! It was hilarious to see the picture of the couple sitting in it all comfortable and beautiful lights and then see the real thing.

I would not recommend this hotel if you can afford a better stay. We stayed here based on Trip Advisor reviews and we were very disappointed. We only stayed two nights but it was not the best way to end our vacation. We wanted to be close to the airport and use this stay as a base for a whitewater rafting trip. If served it's purpose of a place to rest our heads. But I would have spent twice the amount to stay somewhere else if I could do it over again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkJay12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonel C, General Manager at Costa Verde Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Hello, thank you very much for taking some time to let us know you valuable opnion. You are right about our rates we are one of most inexpensive option in Escazu area. About driving around Costa Rica in general we know is not easy and driving to our inn may be not the exception, please excuse us for the inconvenience but is something out of our control. Our Inn is gated, first of all for safety and that's because the property use to be someone house 15 years ago and because we don't like to have arm security guards as other hotels or have security cameras everywhere. This year we are planning to change some things in the rooms, we have to go little by little. We apologize that you feel disappointed about the jacuzzi even though in the picture that you mention it doesn't look like a large one. We will continue working hard to be as good as we can. And your opinion will help us to improve, thank again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed here 9 days to get dental work done at Dentavac clinic. Short taxi ride to Escazu and Multiplaza. Walk into old Escazu, hilly but a good peek at Costa Rica lifestyles. Breakfast made by cheerful Adela was tasty fruit salad with eggs, toast, or pancakes. Nice shaded area by the pool.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diddis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Staff is what can make the major difference in your stay at any B&B. Jose, Adela, Samuel and the manager Leon are excellent. The grounds are spectacular.Pricing is excellent and the apt. room was spacious. It has great eating areas and tasty breakfasts! and what flora.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for one night. The staff was very nice and helpfull. Our room was a bit musty and outdated, but was otherwise clean and roomy. Nice gardens. The breakfast was good, but nothing special -- for Costa Rica. The property is of the beaten path and well secured. It is a good place for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JandeBelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This place is very nice! Great location, great views, nice compound. The larger rooms and suites are very cheap for what you get. Nice trees all around, free breakfast cooked to order, nice pool to swim in, and the property is walled and gated for security! I will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Replace the living room furniture! Those chairs are very uncomfortable to sit in and they hurt your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Costa Verde Inn is a great place to stay away from busy San Jose but close enough to explore the city. Our room was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts are served with a smile by a lovely women. A kind member of staff even ordered us a pizza one Sunday night and delivered it to our door! The pool is great and meet the high standards of our five year old daughter! We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCT-23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.9 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#8 of 14 in Escazu
198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Casa Reflejos
Aparthotel Casa Reflejos
#1 of 2 in San Rafael de Escazu
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
410 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
3.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Verde Inn

Property: Costa Verde Inn
Address: | La Rosalinda,300 Mts sur del Cementerio, Escazu 63734, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peace and comfort, at the edge of San Jose - but high above all the traffic and crowds...In fine Costa Rican tradition, we can honestly say: My House Is Your House . . . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Costa Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Verde Hotel Escazu
Costa Verde Inn Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing