We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding! The most helpful innkeepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Out of Bounds Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This sweet little boutique hotel is a gem. Just 5 rooms and a larger house that sleeps 11. The rooms are clean and well appointed. And the view from the balcony is wonderful. I had breakfast out there every morning and sat out there for a bit each evening. Watching the weather sweep across the valley and the lights of San Jose each night.
Miranda and Matteo who own and run the in we're as helpfully as can be. They knew the places to eat, the places to see, how to get there and tips that saved me time at the airport coming home. They made arrangements for whatever I needed and their suggestions were all excellent. They even gave me a free 3 day pass at the World Gym down the street.
I highly recommend this inn. Get in touch while you are planning your trip. They will be a great help. I will satay here again next time I go to San Jose.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 are on the second floor balcony. They have the best view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becca5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Out of Bounds Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

An accurate review is something I appreciate - positive or negative. This one is positive, and I'm glad to give it. Matteo was very helpful beginning to end and the place is very nice. My spanish is modest, but his english is perfect. The 'hotel' is architecturally pleasing, w/ lots of details done right - the lines of the rooms, the colors, bedding, and an ample bathroom... Good feng shui inside and out. The breezes, mild temps, and the view were appreciated as well. The location, though on a road, feels quiet and peaceful, plus high up: Sunset and sunrise were nice. I've stayed 4 other places in the San Jose area, and this is my fave. It's proximate to stylish parts of town, and we passed plenty of worthy looking eateries on the way to our chosen restaurant that night. We decided not to head out after dinner, but we had all the info we needed if we'd decided to, w/ a variety of options to suit different moods, and the details you need to know to be safe and have the experience you want. Local knowledge in abundance. Support these guys and have yourself a sweet time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannybobanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We picked out of bounds for our last in CR because of its proximity to the airport (about 15 minute drive) but we were pleasantly surprised by the amenities when we arrived. Matteo was very hospitable and even helped us order take out (my spanish isn't up to par). The beds were large and the linens were clean, the rooms give you the feeling of being at home. There was a beautiful view of the city backdropped with volcanoes. This was definitely one of our favorite places to stay in CR. Satellite tv and wifi also kept us entertained for our stay. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brixypablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

What a beautiful little place this is up on the mountainside with amazing views of San Jose and the volcanos. The building is but several years old, and looks almost brand new. Everything is immaculate with great house keepers. Meranda and Mateo are the consumate hosts. Both so friendly and helpful. reakfast was very good, fresh and tasty. Ricardo is also a great asset to this B&B. We stayed with Meranda and Mateo several different times during our 2 month stay in CR. As we traveled from one side of CR to another, we always "based" at the Out of Bounds. Meranda got online with us several times to locate accomodations in the different places we wanted to visit. As this was an extended trip of 2 months, we wanted to keep our costs down with lesser known, more remote places. She was terrific, patient and extremely helpful. We are going back to CR in January and will definitely use the Out of Bounds again. What a treat!
Thanks Meranda, Mateo and Ricardo.
Reg & Dale

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegandDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed one night at the hotel before an early morning flight out of SJO. It's only 20 minutes from the airport, and they had a driver pick us up at 4:45 a.m. to take us. They even let us store some bags there until we got back to San Jose, and when we did get back, they let us pay a reduced fee to rest for a few hours before our flight back to the states.

The room was great — modern, clean and super comfortable. And the views of the city from outside the room and the outdoor patio area are amazing. Great place to have a glass of wine on our last night in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliciaP03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Out of Bounds hotel review, feb 9 2012

The owner of the Enduro Tour Company I was going to recommended me this small hotel from a choice of 2…. Quality Hotel and Out of Bounds Boutique Hotel. Because of the size and the fact that you will see the owner’s daily I chose Out of Bounds.
Out Of Bounds are a small 5 rooms Hotel and rental house that the owners Matteo and his wife own and run. I arrived late Sunday night by organized taxi service by Matteo $25usd from the airport to the hotel (super easy English speaking driver) and greeted by Matteo, a quick chat then he ushered me to my room #3. The view is fantastic over looking the twinkling lights of the city of San Jose and surrounding mountains. The bathroom is spacious; the room is light and airy from the beautiful breeze that gushes up the valley. There is cable Tv, coffee maker, spacious wardrobe mini fridge, surprisingly an intercom to the front office and a communal microwave on the upstairs terrace. The bed was super comfy and the cotton Sheets wrapped you in luxury. Free fast WiFi everywhere and Free local calls! For Breakfast a choice of two things:
Aroz Pinto (rice and beans wit scrambled egg) or the continental (fruit and cereal). Both served with a refreshing super watermelon juice and tasty Costa Rican coffee.
Ricardo is a super friendly, approachable, well dressed, presentable general helper but mainly security guard, he holds the key to the front gate to let you go and come as you please. Within walking distance down the side of the main road (15mins avg) there is steak house, Peruvian Inka restaurant, Chinese, supermarket and pharmacy; if you need to go further then Matteo is more than happy to help you get a taxi, if you prefer take out then you will find a mountain of menus in the office. If your looking for a dentist then turn right from the hotel and within 3 minutes there is dental clinic, (I did not use it but other occupants of the hotel were there because of the proximity) In front of the office there is an abundance of information on waterfalls, coffee plantations, rafting, volcano tours, bus tours, transportation, cuisine, your standard lonely planet tour guides, armada of pamphlets, history photo books and the yellow pages if you need to go and find the impossible.


All in all and super place, if you don’t like big impersonal hotels, that have a cold heartless feel and volume base service then Out of Bounds is the place for you. Daily smiles, polite courteous service and if you need that extra little bit of help then the owners are just a gentle knock knock on their front door and they are super happy and willing to help you enjoy your stay not only in Out of Bounds but Costa Rica.
PURA VIDA!

Room Tip: Rom tips: All the rooms 1-5 are joined and made from cement/steel, so be aware of noise resignation...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Booking on the internet was easy, our pre-arranged transportation was there on time, friendly and a nice start to visiting Costa Rica. The hotel is very clean, has a great view and the breakfast was very good. The owners, a local and a Canadian gal, went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied,. Even though there were some mix ups with transportation to our dentist they made sure we were taken care of. Little things like this plus FREE phone calls back home make this an excellent choice in Escazu, San Jose.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have more open view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escazu hotels
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartotel Don Francisco
Apartotel Don Francisco
#10 of 14 in Escazu
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#8 of 14 in Escazu
198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out of Bounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of Bounds Hotel

Address: West of Commercial Paco, Old Road to Santa Ana 1 km | In front of Restaurant Taj Mahal, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Escazu
Price Range: £39 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Out of Bounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better description than the ones our guests have left here. We are a small boutique hotel where comfort and hospitality are #1, operated by the owners to ensure the best service is given. Our ideal location is a plus, within walking distance to shopping centers, supermarkets, restaurants and more. Take in the amaizng Views of 3 Volcanos and the Valley while eating your Free Breakfast. Free Wifi and calls to Canada and the USA included. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Out of Bounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of Bounds Hotel Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing