We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location in Escazu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Out of Bounds Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Central Location in Escazu”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I live at the beach in Guanacaste and usually go to Escazu for shopping once a month. I first tried Out of Bounds about 4 months ago and since then it has become my home away from home, while in Escazu. The hotel is central for everything in the area and yet very quiet at night time. The hotel has an amazing view of the city. The owners are very personable, friendly and accommodating to special requests. Prices are great...... definitely recommend Out of Bounds Hotel while visiting Escazu area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    22
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
64
38
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juanillo, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

hi everyone, i can warmly and highly recommend this hotel! after 14 years in costa rica i know that this is the best place in san jose! matteo and meranda are so friendly and helpful people, the rooms are a hit, clean & elegant, one doesn't wanna get out of bed in the morning because they are so comfy, and every time coming to out of bounds is like coming home.
raaji dessena

Room Tip: all rooms are great, the upper rooms have better view over san jose and the mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raaji d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I've never written a review on TripAdvisor before but my stay at Out of Bounds inspired me to take the time to credit Meranda and Matteo on fabulous accommodations and make sure others know of it. For starters, the place was spotlessly clean which was awesome and it just generally felt well-built and comfortable. The beds and linens were great and I slept fantastically well there. In addition to the excellent accommodations, Meranda and Matteo were perfect hosts, I stayed for two days at the end of January while I was waiting for my travelling companion to arrive and was working for those two days. Matteo was super-attentive in making sure the internet was working for me including resetting the routers that broadcast the signal on the upstairs level and ensuring they were functioning. It made it so that I could join conference calls via wi-fi and I was also able to use their courtesy phone to call in a few times free of charge so I had seamless work days. Meranda was very personable and helpful in providing directions to find a place for dinner, get to the gym (and pointed me to a free online pass), where to go to buy a phone as well as connections regarding dentistry and real estate in Costa. They accommodated my late arrival close to midnight on check-in and were very flexible on allowing me to stay on the property after checking out to continue working while I waited for my friend to arrive. All of this for a price that was affordable and excellent value for dollar. As hosts, they were perfectly accommodating without being overbearing and they have a fabulous, clean, comfortable boutique hotel. I will definitely stay here again if I need to overnight in San Jose and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Two queen beds and a single bed with lots of space on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmberYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

oh wow... mateo+wife were great! very hospitable and accommodating. from the free phone calls back to the states to the gallo pinto every morning for breakfast, it was an awesome stay.

we were there for new years and the city view from the terrace was simply amazing. can see fireworks going off almost with an almost 180degree view throughout the vast landscape of sanjose/costa rica.

even after we checked out, a friend was flying in and mateo+wife went out of their way to be the contact for her should we were unable to connect.

great people + great place = great stay =)

thanks guys

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very good experience with our family (5). Host very welcome and helpful. Nice place. We had a family room (5) : spacious. The quality of the bed is excellent. The vue of San Jose and some volcano from the terrace is gorgeous. The "costa rica breakfast" was more than yummy. Definitely the place to stay while visiting CR.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

ha ha i have stayed here several times and always have enjoyed myself from the excellent service and genuinely nice people. They really do try to make my stay comfortable and mateyo and miranda if i remember there names correctly are great and helpful in all areas from going shopping to zip lining easy aces for touristy things. ps it says i just stayed there december and in fact i have stayed two and four years ago.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialed2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

what ever your vacation needs, requirements or plans in Costa Rica Out of Bounds is just the right choice.
if your needing the dentist, 3mins walk to Dentavac, if you need to do some shopping, cinema, etc….5mins away, if you would like just enjoy the city, or if your starting or ending your costa rica adventure and need a safe place just until you get to the airport or ask Miranda or Matteo to organize a day tour for you, volcanos, beaches, hikes, waterfalls are all right there for you to enjoy!

its just the best place in there central valley to experience everything you want, great service, safe, easy and the best thing is that these love to help, serve and make your vacation/experience one never to forget. this is why i and others keep going back time after time!

Room Tip: room 2 has a kitchen to save a few $$ and make some basic meals, keep an eye on the huge tree right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Escazu hotels
2.3 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#8 of 14 in Escazu
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartotel Don Francisco
Apartotel Don Francisco
#10 of 14 in Escazu
22 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
1.6 mi away
Hotel Linda Vista
Hotel Linda Vista
#11 of 14 in Escazu
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out of Bounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of Bounds Hotel

Property: Out of Bounds Hotel
Address: West of Commercial Paco, Old Road to Santa Ana 1 km | In front of Restaurant Taj Mahal, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Out of Bounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What better description than the ones our guests have left here. We are a small boutique hotel where comfort and hospitality are #1, operated by the owners to ensure the best service is given. Our ideal location is a plus, within walking distance to shopping centers, supermarkets, restaurants and more. Take in the amaizng Views of 3 Volcanos and the Valley while eating your Free Breakfast. Free Wifi and calls to Canada and the USA included. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Out of Bounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of Bounds Hotel Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing