We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly cooked rib-eye!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Donde Carlos

Donde Carlos
Ranked #76 of 599 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rowland Heights, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked rib-eye!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

The last night of our honeymoon was spent braving the San Jose traffic and one-way streets to this gem of a restaurant in a residential area. We arrived just after the restaurant opened at 5pm and the staff seemed surprised to see anyone come for dinner so early. We were asked to choose where to sit, and decided on the second level room facing the terrace. Server was attentive and spoke English. He was able to describe menu items and answer our questions. There were three dipping sauces for the basket of bread that were delicious! We ordered the Argentinian meat roll appetizer, which came with potato salad. We both thought it bland. The ribeye was medium-rare as ordered, the grilled eggplant was tender and sweet, and the mashed potatoes were a great complement to the meat. My husband's pork roast was a bit dry, but was compensated a bit by the sauce containing roasted apple slices. We were too full to order dessert, but didn't miss it. Total bill came to 25,680 colones.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sun5hine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent steak!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Absolutely delicious argentinian-style steak!!! I had a homemade sausage and a sirloin steak cooked to an ideal rare-medium finish. Very kind owners, great location, a bit pricey, but great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get the Apple Pancake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

My boyfriend and I came here on our last night in Costa Rica and I am so glad we did. The food was amazing. He started with sweet breads (he loved, I refused to try) and I started with Seafood Tartar (delicious). We shared an Argentinian Meat Entree for 2 which was served a platter that had coals underneath giving us the option to further cook our meat when it was too rare. We reluctantly ordered dessert after being too full for anything else. SO GLAD WE DID!

The Apple Pancake was probably the best dessert dish I have ever had in my life. We were amazed. I need the recipe!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Argentinian no nonsense steak house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Donde Carlos is a 'not so cheap' neighbourhood Restaurant in los Yoses , San jose.
However..the food is superb. The attention and service ...faultless.
It is best to seat on the terrace upstairs and enjoy an al fresco experience.
Due to its Argentinian heritage ordering meat is always an excellent option.
The desserts are outstanding.. the wine list extense..
Be prepared to fork out $$ but you will not regret this pleasant experience

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TEREHDEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a positive and great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

The food is excellent, high quality dishes at an affordable price. Me and my family have been here multiple times and have always left happy. They have a great wine selection and in my opinion is the best steakhouse in San Jose. The service is very good. The steaks and their pork tenderloin are my favorites.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Donde Carlos also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Donde Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing