We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of KC Hotel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KC Hotel San Jose
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This hotel is very clean, has air-conditioning, a nice restaurant and isn't too far (a block or so) away from 2 markets. They service was very great. They have wifi available and also 2 computers for visitors to use.

Room Tip: All the rooms that our group had were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

This was my first long stay in Costa since living tin Costa Rica back in 2000. It was so exceptional that I actually returned to Colaye three different times throughout my 3 week stay. The hotel is very boutque style hotel located in beautiful Sabana located just minutes from San Jose and exclusive Escazu. It offers a very modern / trendy feel throughout the hotel with deco art throughout the hallways. Miguel Guevara Molina who works up front has gone above and beyond to make sure the stay far exceeded my expectations offering a level of unparralled service that is hard to find in any hotel. The rooms were spotless and the beds beyond comfortable and free Wifi. The restaurant offers a great inclusive breakfast that was a complete added touch. I highly recommend staying at Hotel KC Colaye when visiting San Jose. You will not be dissapointed. Chris H - CEO Data One Merchant Services

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Pros: the breakfast is really good and the decor is nice

CONS:
- They have a serious problem with the drainage system (pit) that causes an awful smell it is really unbearable. It was just so hard to fall asleep with that sent.
- We were charged $15 dollars for the amenities that are normally courtesy at other hotels, they even charged us for the chocolates we did not consume since my boyfriend and I are both allergic to chocolates but the room attendant said the chocolates wasnt there so they charged it.
- They have a table with only one chair, so what if we both wanted so sit around the table?
- You can hear everything going on in the hallways and between rooms.
- No flexibility if you need to check out later.
- The hot water did not work, we called for them to fix it but they didnt come so we had to shower with cold water since check out time was coming up and as i mentioned before there is no flexibility when it comes to the check out time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naomi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria p, Public Relations Manager at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

We deeply regret and apologies for your inconveniences. We proceed to check on your room and nearby room for both the water problem and the smell that you reported. Our operations manager is pay close attention to this matter. As per the late check-out it was reported to me that the hotel was full and for that reason it was not possible to offer you a complementary late check out. We do our best to offer our clients this option, when is possible.
Thank you for your information.

Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Very Very recomended! Hotel Colaye located in the capital citi San Jose.
I have been there a few times, and when i'm visiting san jose i always like to stop and stay there, Its always feels like home (even better haha) the rooms are very clean and tight, the beds very comfortable, always when i coming there i sleeping very good.
You have there all what you need, the staff is always take care about everything you ask for or you need .
Easy to get there, AM:PM supermarket on the corner of the street and its really close to the center. They have a nice pool and really good restaurant.
The prices are very fair and worth it.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idansasson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I sencerely recomend staying at this hotel when visiting San Jose. I enjoyed very much this hotel, since the rooms are very clean and tight. It is located in a quiet environment, yet very close to the centre of town. Prices are very fair. Fun to sit near the pool at night and drink bear or coffee. Very good food. Staff is super welcoming! I would certainly pay an additional visit to this hotel if I return to San Jose in the future. Yoav Gal, Israel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoavgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

The hotel more than met my expectations. All needs were taken care of right away. The resturant was FABULOUS. They are working on the pool area, that is the only reason I didnt place 5th star. I plan to write a letter to their management commending multiple employees. I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the atrium area as far back on the right as possible, quieter. Request AC although yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tami s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I find it hard to believe some of the reviews posted for this hotel (trip advisor will not let me post the reason why I think this happens and asked me to amend this review which I have done).
The front desk staff were not welcoming or friendly. A member of staff regularly walked around the breakfast buffet eating his breakfast while standing.
Our reservation (made on their online booking site) was for a king sized bed. We were not given this and when challenged and a copy of the confirmed reservation shown no apology was made or solution offered - just "we don't have one available."
We booked the "studio with equiped kitchen" - this is basically a sink unit on one side of the admittedly large bedroom. On the same unit were a coffee maker and two burner hotplate but there was no where to plug these in. (there was no socket nearby). There was a large fridge.
There was no extractor fan and as this cooker was in the same room as the bed if we had have cooked we would have had a very smelly room. In no way did this room merit the title "studio". There are for example no easy chairs or sofa, only a small dining table with ONE chair.
Construction work is going on in the hotel leading to noise during the day and ugly barriers near the swimming pool.
No one offered to help with our luggage - the room was on the first floor and there is no lift.
For large parts of the day during our stay there was a smell of sewage in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank playasdelcoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria p, Public Relations Manager at KC Hotel San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Sr
Thank you very much for choosing KC San Jose Colaye for your stay!
your comments are very important for us and we will take acction rightaway , it is always important to receive feed back.
We are very sorry that you are doubting in the other reviews posted for our hotel. Inconvenience with your stay don't means others experience the same!
I have to agree with you that we had some problems with the web site reservation system inventory updating and this way you find availability with King size bed for this dates, and for that we are very sorry and will assure it will not happened again! It is thru we were repairing one area in the pool area for our guest future connivance, but the work started after 09:00am and ends before 05:00pm and we are very sorry it affect your stay!

we hope to see you again and we will assure you will enjoy your stay with us

Thank you

Hotel KC San Jose Colaye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
909 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rincon del Valle Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Autentico Hotel
Autentico Hotel
#37 of 78 in San Jose
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.7 mi away
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KC Hotel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KC Hotel San Jose

Address: Calle Morenos, Sabana Sur | 100m West 175m South From la Contraloria, Sabana Sur, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £47 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — KC Hotel San Jose 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you look for hotels in Costa Rica, KC Hotel San Jose is the place to stay. Developed with executive travel in mind, this boutique hotel is perfect for short or long term stays in San Jose. Located in the prestigious neighborhood of Sabana Sur, across from La Sabana Central Park, KC Hotel San Jose brings together the charm of residential San Jose with the convenience of easy access to the city center, neighboring Escazu and Juan Santamaria International Airport. Affordable yet luxurious, KC Hotel San Jose offers a variety of accommodations depending on the needs and length of stay of each of our guests. A/C is avilable only on Superior Rooms. All the rooms have fans. Our rooms and suites come fully furnished with all the comforts of home, including cable television and unlimited free access to the Internet. Among the hotel's amenities are room service, restaurant and bar, lobby lounge and a large pool, to the convenience of our guests. He have an special Smoked Garden pro Carbon Neutral, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your KC Hotel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing