We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel for stay in San Jose” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Rica Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Costa Rica Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great hostel for stay in San Jose”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I used San Jose as a stopping off point for other travels in Costa Rica and stayed at the Guesthouse each time. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and totally functional. The common area is also nice for checking email and hanging out. We had hot strong showers, free coffee all day and free breakfast each morning (nothing fancy but a perfect start to the day). This is one of the nicer hostels we've stayed at and really cheap!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank skadetzfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRGuesthouse, Owner at Costa Rica Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Than you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    91
    57
    18
    5
See reviews for
26
121
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I arrived and the first guest house is really spacious and nice. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant over the phone as well as during my stay.

Great value for your money because the quality of the lodging for the price, which included coffee all the time and breakfast in the morning and Wi-Fi, was awesome.

The staff went out of their way to accommodate me and I had extenuating circumstances. Even so, Juan Carlos (hope that is right) made my stay, amazing.

Thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRGuesthouse, Owner at Costa Rica Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

At low cost we had a very clean, large room with private bathroom, here.
Good WiFi, a Tourist Desk with good information, breakfast included and the whole day coffee and tea free. No Aircon or van, but in San José we did not need that.
We were here and came back again, got the same, good room!

We gave the Taxidriver the address: Avenida 6, Calle 25, 100 norte, 25 oeste and the name of the church nearby, but it took him very long to find it, and he had to ask for it several times. So my advice is not to mention the name of the church, but: "very near to the National Museum".

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with private bath upstairs, e.g. La Amistad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHPOLET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRGuesthouse, Owner at Costa Rica Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I chose this hostel for overnight stay on a stop-over, mostly due to the central location and very responsive management. I planned originally another place, but they never responded. So I wrote to CR Guesthouse, and voila! It is what a budget hostel should is, in terms of wear and tear, but fit all my needs very well. The reception desk was helpful. The building itself (old convent?) is atmospheric. The noise problem, mentioned in other reviews, exists. The hostel is not at the main square vicinity, but rather close to partying district, and, despite it is removed about two blocks of the closest pub, you can still hear the music on the weekend. But this applies to ANY building in central area, unless they are provided with modern windows (and cost more). Otherwise, short walk to all museums and attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serguei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRGuesthouse, Owner at Costa Rica Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

This was a pleasant hostel, which was a great stop prior to leaving Costa rica. Very well priced. We stayed in the apartment on the top terrace. It was a good size for two people with a bedroom off the kitchen. We were able to prepare a meal one evening. There is a large fridge and a gas stove. There is a cute small terrace outside. It was clean. There were towels, breakfast included and free tea and coffee. There was a supermarket 10 min (walking) away. The hostel also organises airport transport for you as well, which was a taxi. The airport is a short distance away. Good wifi connection throughout. The staff were helpful and friendly. We would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRGuesthouse, Owner at Costa Rica Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

A relaxing hotel, an atmosphere of the most warm, family, very nice facilities, excellent service, the place where is located is very nice, close to the restaurants, excellent food. very good prices......

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank michaela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRGuesthouse, Owner at Costa Rica Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a good place to stay for visiting central San Jose. The staff is very helpful and attentive, the coffee in the lobby is always hot. Overall, this is nothing fancy (no TV in room, but with a shower en suite, plus refrigerator and cooking facilities), providing very good value for money, though probably best suited for the high end of the backpacking crowd or the low end of other budget travelers. I stayed in the apartment (Chipirro), which is up two flights of stairs with a small balcony that has a good view of the city skyline and a steady, cool breeze.

Room Tip: This is a quiet location, though some sleepers might notice the trains that start running around 5:0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TilEulenspiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa las Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Rica Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Rica Guesthouse

Property: Costa Rica Guesthouse
Address: Avenida 6 - Calle 21 y 25, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Costa Rica Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-minute walk from Avenida Central with restaurants, bars and shops, colonial-style Costa Rica Guesthouse has free Continental breakfast, coffee and tea. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi and private parking. The spacious rooms feature private or shared bathrooms with shower. Costa Rica Guesthouse serves breakfast in its Common Lounge. Guests can use the shared kitchen. Restaurants are within a 10-minute walk of the property. In the immediate vicinity of Costa Rica Guesthouse are various museums. A shopping center is within a 15-minute walk of the property. The International Airport of San Jose is 20 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Costa Rica Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Rica Guesthouse Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing