We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to visit, but not to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Taranova-Villas Palmas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit, but not to stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This is an RCI timeshare facility. One trades your points or weeks to stay. It has almost no amenities. They say so. But what it means is no place to eat or but groceries within a 15 to 20 min walk. There is an armed guard after dark and the gate is always locked. We stayed there this Aug 2013. The place was clean, no AC ( but I didn't need it). It is not near anything. A trio to downtown is a bus ride(may not be safe after dark) or a taxi ride. There is a casino in The Best Western (15 min walk).
The hotel seems to be managed by Mark, from Sol Tropical Tours. But he dosn't say so. The idea is to get you to sign up for his tours, which run exclusively from the hotel. He good tours and good packages.

In short, I would give the facility a 2 star rating. I stayed here because I booked very late (in June) and that was the only thing avaliable. Now I see why.

I had a great time, but not from the Hotel. I would gladly pay for a better location (San Jose is not a clean, uncontested city) and a few more amenities.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank dwightie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    26
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MIAMI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The condo is lovely, spacious, the staff always genuine and friendly, I have been here many times since 2005 & 6 & 7 and stayed for weeks each time having plastic surgery & dental. The kitchen has solid wood cabinets very attractive and built in but in desperate need of being restained now. There are tiny ants every where if you leave anything down even a coffee cup. One trip to Home Depot for a container of Ortho spray and that problem is solved. This time the pool is not clean, its is murky and I would not get into that nasty looking water. This is a wonderful place but desperately needs up keep, stain the solid wood cabinets, a couple dollars of stain at Home Depot, also the Ortho Spray for the ants . This would be a paradise . I love the indoor gardens and fans, that makes it comfortable and healthy to stay here.

Room Tip: Bring your own or buy Lysol , and hydrogen peroxide to disinfect counters, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLORIDAGOLDENGIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our unit was at the end by the pool which was nice. It is a large unit with three bedrooms, a full kitchen, 21/2 baths, a small sitting area upstairs, a dining/living room area, and a patio with table outside. It was outdated, definitely can hear highway traffic and large trucks. No wi-fi in your room (had to go to office with your laptop - we used it a lot to look at maps and places to go). There was intermittent hot water for showed and dishes. When ther are heavy rains we had some leaking inside our unit. The tour guide presentation left us feeling like the months of planning we had done were for nothing. We had rented a car and they really talked it up about not being able to drive into downtown San Jose unless your lisence plate had a tag (true, but for one ther really aren't many police and we were told by several people that they don't bother tourists - we never encountered a problem). They also mentioned that speeding tickets were given out all the time and you would have to deal with that when you went to return your car. It just felt like they were scaring you into returning your rental so you would be dependent for transportation. All that said, the staff was helpful in offering advice and help with directions. The place is located close to airport and a casino which makes changing money convenient. Grocery store and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank mmettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The location is good if you wish to tour the area. I wouldn't choose this location if the idea is to spend much time at the hotel.

The city of San José can be visited by bus (although there are some issues crossing an extremely busy street to get to the bus stop...). Mostly we toured with the car. The traffic directions are very poorly marked in Costa Rica. After it had taken us once 2,5 hours to find the highway on the other side of the city, we started askind directions to get to the right road from the reception. And they were able to give very precise instructions how to find the road we want to go to. This was excellent.

The appartement had a downstairs living area and kitchen and three bedrooms upstairs. Everything was okay, there was plenty of room but the age of some of the things was very visible (you see the stained bed cover on one of my photos). For example, several lamps were not working but the light bulbs had not been replaced. But the apartment was clean.

There was some traffic noise from the highway.

There were some good restaurants within walking distance as well as a grocery store and post office in the same shopping center (although it took ages for the post cards to arrive to their destinations...).

Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

...stayed a week with my husband, our pregnant daughter and her husband and my
brother and his wife! The unit was just perfect for us! It had everything we would have
wanted in a unit- and more. The staff were extremely accomodating and courteous.
The unit and surrounding areas were kept tidy and clean. The place is also close
to almost everything you could imagine-restaurants, the bank, grocery, drugstore,
souvenir shops, even a casino!!! We checked in on a Sunday and the following day, we
had breakfast prepared by Sol Tropical Tours ( a lot better than the breakfast at
Denny's)!
We only booked 2 tours from Sol Tropical because we have rented our own vehicle.
Christian was an absolutely amazing tour guide! He showed so much pride and
respect for his country that perhaps he deserves a special award from the
government! Mark, who heads the Sol Tropical,is another guy who is worth mentioning.
His tours were exactly designed the way a first-timer in Costa Rica would want it to
be.! I am sure we would have loved the rest of the tours if we have taken them too!
I would definitely recommend Taranova-Villas Palmas and Sol Tropical Tours to
anyone! Muchas Gracias to Villas Palmas and Mark and Christian!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank Floramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We had a 3 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath timeshare, for 2 weeks. It had all the conviences of home, swimming pool, very friendly staff, and worked for our needs. We used it, as a homebase, as we took off, for Jaco Beach for 3 nights, Nuevo Arenal, for one night, and Atenas, for 2 nights.
I had read on a previous post, that the sheets and towels were sub-standard, so they must have replace them, before, we got there. They change sheets and towels, twice a week, and have daily maid service.
A tour company provides any tour you could want. We had a rental car, so found the location, great, for hopping on the local freeways, etc.
Free Internet in the office.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Claudiagenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fun coast
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We used it for a home base for day trips - and it was pretty good for that purpose, it's not a resort or 4 star hotel. With that in mind it was a very good place to stay in San Jose.

Our apartment was the 3 bedroom place, so it was plenty roomy. A small living room area with a futon & TV, the bedrooms and 2 bathrooms were upstairs, so there was a comfortable breeze - no A/C. Downstairs there was a large living room areas also with a TV, a kitchen, dining room and an outdoor table facing the common area. Off of the kitchen was an outside sink and clothsline.

The only downside - which also is good thing - was that it was close to the highways, so the traffic noise came through.

We had a rental car - if you want to drive, be sure to get a GPS. If you don't want to drive, the tour company seemed to be enjoyed by those who took their tours.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank mhectorgato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose
0.0 mi away
Hotel del Sur
Hotel del Sur
#7 of 7 in San Isidro de El General
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Real Apartments & Suites
0.6 mi away
Apartotel Suites Cristina
Apartotel Suites Cristina
#17 of 77 in San Jose
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taranova-Villas Palmas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taranova-Villas Palmas

Property: Taranova-Villas Palmas
Address: 200 Metros Este, 100 Metros Sur del Hotel Irazu, 549 San Jose La Uruca, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 83 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Hotel Class:3 star — Taranova-Villas Palmas 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Taranova-Villas Palmas Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing