We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good food and great service”
Review of La Divina Comida

La Divina Comida
Ranked #10 of 620 Restaurants in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$40
Cuisines: Peruvian, Latin, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a fine dining restaurant with exquisite unique food, excellent service and a cozy ambient. We have two separate rooms ideal for private events that can accommodate up to 30 people. In addition, we have an outside sitting area for a more informal dinning. We hope to see you soon! For reservations o bigger groups (until 150 people) email us
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always good food and great service”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A had been here a couple of times and I like the food and the service of the place. The ceviche and fish are great and the environment its quiet and welcome.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank flashmelendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    117
    49
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must try out the Nikkei Tuna”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

La Divina Comida is one of my favorite restaurants in Escazu, for a couple of reasons, just walk in and you will start to feel it is a sensory experience, the seats, the tables, everything is done with an amazing taste. However the food is definitely to die for, everything is done with finesse. My favorite dish is the Tuna Nikkei and to tell you the truth it is the best I have had even if other restaurants. Plus once you sit down they serve you the most delicious "choclos" to start out your meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ming Ming C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
298 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Despite language gap it was a great dining experience”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We chose La Divina Comida for several reasons. The proximity to our hotel was key; given the inclement weather. In addition, the focus on Peruvian flavors. After a week in Jaco, Costa Rica, we had become accustomed to minimal language barriers. The food and ambiance was clearly the highlight despite some language difficulties.

There were 5 of us and we sat outside which was perfect. The rain held off and we were glad we ate on the patio. We were treated to complimentary pisco sours (mini’s) and it was a great starter. They have a wonderful wine menu and we focused on a lovely rose. We had several bottles. Their menu has so many regional and Peruvian flavors. And best of all, several vegetarian options.

We shared a classic ceviche and a mushroom based vegetarian ceviche. Both were delicious and well executed. We had a traditional beef carpaccio and a zucchini carpaccio. Again, both well executed. So the starters got us off on a positive path.

For my main I had a colorful, creative and flavorful quinoa salad and the gazpacho. The salad was well done and prepared. The gazpacho pretty pedestrian. Some of the other mains included a chicken pasta with huancaina sauce. Very good. Great flavors. Two steak dishes were just okay. Better cuts and prep. Not terrible but not memorable.

We took a pass on dessert because we had some waiting in our hotel room.

The only blip was the service. A bit overbearing. We had 4-6 people tending to us at any given time which is overkill. And despite having rudimentary Spanish and it being obvious we are American, they kept sending us servers with very limited English. We worked through it but it could have been worse.

The area is packed with a nice collection of restaurants and we reviewed several menus. La Divina was the winner because it was unique compared to the other places.

Definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“flawless food, service, ambient - you can't get it wrong”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

seafood is excellent (try the "pulpo" as a starter), wine selection is very decent and the friendly, professional service makes your stay yet a little better -

make sure to book upfront.

I'd definitely come again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank agi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Their tuna tartare is the best! Last time I had a tuna sashimi with toasted red quinoa that was out of this world! A bit expensive but well worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Divina Comida also viewed

 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to La Divina Comida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing