We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kevin Rocks!”
Review of Rios Tropicales

Rios Tropicales
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Full-Day San Jose to Pacuare River Rafting Class III-IV
More Info
US$87.00*
and up
NARANJO RIVER RAFTING - EL CHORRO CLASS IV-V
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
ARENAL LAKE KAYAKING
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rios Tropicales is an eco-adventure company that operates throughout Costa Rica. We offer adventure activities that take advantage of Costa Rica’s unique variety of environments: whitewater rafting, multisport activities that feature kayaking,canoeing, hiking, and cycling, family adventures, cultural encounters, nature and wildlife tours, and “volun-tourism”. Our mission, to share the rivers, natural resources and culture of Costa Rica while sharing conservation values, has not changed since we began in 1985. Rios Tropicales was established by native Central Americans, El Salvadorian Rafael Gallo and Costa Rican Fernando Esquivel, whose deep connection with the region and culture are apparent in every aspect of the company.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We loved the rafting trip and our guide Kevin was awesome. It's a first class rafing experience and our family of four loved it.

That being said, here are a few downwsides:

It's a long drive to raft. We were picked up at 5:30 am at our hotel. We were the first pickup and the last to be dropped off. We spent at least the next 2 hours picking people up and we did the same thing coming home. On the way home, two couples staying at the same hotel got off the bus early and shared a cab back to their hotel. They were tired of sitting on the bus. We didn't get back to our hotel until 7:30-8pm that night! They use a large bus (the bus driver Edwin was great) and pick everyone up rather than having a few small buses to pick up people from different parts of town.


The bus they use is comfy but it it has plush seats. When you're done rafting, you are picked up and taken on a 10 min ride to change, shower and eat, using the same plush seated bus. You get on the bus and there are trash bags covering the seats so they don't get wet - perfect. Except when I boarded the bus to return back to San Jose for the 4 hour ride back my seat was soaking wet!

My advice to RT - have several busses to pick people up, a 3.5 rating trip should not last 14 hours!!! And get a bus with vinyl seats.

if you take the trip, take and use your sunscreen on your arms and the tops of your thighs!

it was a great rating trip, again Kevin is awesome but the trip out there was way too long.

Thank wendelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear wendelyn, Thanks for coming on our Pacuare River day trip. I appreciatte your recommendations and comments. We will act on them immediatelly, as we usually do.

Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 267 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had the best time ever rafting back in July with our amazing raft guides Andres and Mae. They were so nice to us and helped us out so much. Once we got back to the river lodge, we were able to help prepare meals with orellio the photographer (not sure how to spell his name) and Juan Carlos the gear boat guide. We made some delicious fish and they were super funny. Totally recommend this!!! By any chance is there a way that we can get their face books or contact info so we can thank them personally and stay in touch? Thanks again!!!!!!

Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Barbara P: Thanks for your recommendation on TripAdvisor and coming along on one of our Multiday Pacuare River Trips. If you want you can send me an email to fernando@riostropicales.com and I will forward it to Andrés, Mey and Aurelio.

Pura vida,

Fernando Esquivel
VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent day-trip beginning with breakfast and safety training followed by amazing rafting experience with class III and IV rapids. Excellent guides. Finished with a refreshing shower and a delicious lunch.

Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Rob K, thanks for joining one of our trips and taking your time ro recommend us on TripAvisor.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
VP
Rios Tropicales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We took the 2 day overnight Pacuare trip and highly recommend it! Yes, they pick you up early from your hotel and we had lots of traffic in San Jose on our return trip so the term 'river time' applies, but it is sooooo worth it! The adventure starts on the tractor ride down to the river, but I am so glad we didn't have to walk it! We had too much wait time at the river to start our adventure. I am not sure why none of our boats were ready, I guess 'river time' (everything moves slow). Our young guide Fernando was fantastic and the second day we were even serenaded. The best part of the lodge was the swimming hole with waterfall, but the cable bridge and zip-line adventure (included if weather permits) are great fun! The second day has better rafting and a waterfall to go under. We were also allowed to swim along by the raft. Get the pictures (for an extra charge), you will be so glad you did. This is our second time overnight on the Pacuare and a different company, I think you will be very please with this choice, we are!

Thank SuzannaVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear SuzannaVirginia, Thanks for coming on our Overnight Pacuare river trip and taking your valuable time to write your review and recommendation. I would like for you to let me know (fernando@riostropicales.com) which day you went so I can check what caused the delay at the put-in.

Take care,

Fernando Esquivel
VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a wonderful tour group. Took us through Fortuna to a waterfall for rappelling. ( I am not a natural athlete) so I had a guide assigned to stay by me through the entire rappel while climbing over rocks and boulders through the water. Then after a hearty breakfast they transported us off to the Balsa river for a white water rafting trip and then on to a fantastic late lunch and sugar cane tour. Fantastic group

Thank James E. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiosTropicales, Owner at Rios Tropicales, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear James E. H, Thanks you for recommending your experience with us while staying at the Arenal/ La Fortuna area. I will send your info to the rest of our staff.

Sincerely,

Fernando Esquivel
VP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rios Tropicales also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Costa Rica, Central America
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Rios Tropicales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing