We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best chocolates in Costa Rica!!”

Cafeteria Giaccomin
Ranked #12 of 18 Dessert in San Jose
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best chocolates in Costa Rica!!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Best chocolates in Costa Rica, excellent service and beautiful setting !! Have a cappuccino on the terrace Recommended 100%

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    8
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This is an excellent coffee shop. The pastries are different and out of this world. It is clean and the food is consistently good, and you really get service with a smile.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crafterincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sweets are good, Coffee NOT”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Their sweets are good, we like the turron, and some of the bar cookies. But the coffee we got there at Paseo de las Flores Mall was the worst I have tasted in Costa Rica. Too bitter to drink, we had to dump it. They also did not put all of my order into the bag, so I missed my almond cookies. :( I won't stop there again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shondra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Definitely the best bakery in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

It's owned by an Italian family that has been able to make their business grow maintaing excellence in their products.

The best cakes and pastries you can find in Costa Rica!

They also make chocolates that are very good and have some that are tradition in many families like the easter bunnies and Christmas chocolates.

Must try: marzipan rolls and the cookies.

Although it is true that the prices are a little expensive, it's definitely worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valeria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuigiGiacomin, Owner at Cafeteria Giaccomin, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for your comments! They help us continue get better every day! Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“chocolate a mi!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Their pastries have always been a favorite in our family over decades. The cakes and chocolates keep the tradition alive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafeteria Giaccomin also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Cafeteria Giaccomin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing