We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“big value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Gran Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Gran Imperial
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“big value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

have been staying here more than 20 years. Great staff, high security, clean, sharing kitchen and a wrap around 2nd floor balcony overlooking mercado central. Can walk to many venues, no need to taxi. Close to bus terminal from Airport $1 not $15 and up taxi ride. Micro room with nice shared bath only $12.

Room Tip: rooms farther from the street are quieter and warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikedave5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
7
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I went last october to san jose, costa rica and I stayed with a group of people in the hostel gran imperial...and it was awesome!!! the place, the staff, the service!!! IT WAS A REALLY NICE EXPERIENCE!! The staff of the hostel made us love the hostel...a nice room woth nice bathrooms, internet, kitchen, everything!!! and the BEST is that it is cheap!!! I recommend the hostel for everyone who wants to stay in san jose!! Alex : )

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex29_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose costa rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Yes a couple of years ago it deserved a bad review. It is under new ownrship and under major renovation. The security is tops, no one gets past the front desk without being a registered guest. There are brand new tiled bathrooms although only cold water as of now. There is free coffee and a shared kitchen, the restaurant is gone. There are 2 free Internet computers. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Bone up on your spanish, no one speaks english here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

Okay so I checked into the Hostel Gran Imperial on June 4th 2008. I was shown to my matchbook sized room that cost 20 [--] dollars. As I was walking out my room, a lady with scabies all over her arms (obvious crack head) went into the room next to mine. I said hey neighbor and all she did was stare at me with that blank cracked out look. Weird I said. I thought they didn't let crack heads into hostels? Oh well.

Regardless to say, that cracked out chick started a fire in the hostel that ended up torching ALL of my gear and pretty much leveled the whole second floor. There were other guests at the hostel at the time but their things managed to avoid being charred to a crisp.

After things cleared up and the fire was put out I returned to the hostel to find out that everything I brought was totally burned up. Minus my passport which I was carrying with me at the time of the fire!
I ended up talking to the owner "Max Jimenez" as he called himself. Well "Max" told me to write down a list of everything I lost in the fire and he would help me get reimbursed from insurance etc. He gave me his "email address" and told me he would contact me in the next few days.
Well needless to say I never heard another word from this creep.
I almost died in the fire at his hostel and he never reimbursed me a penny for all the gear I lost in the blaze.

I would not recommend this hostel to anyone, as it is right smack dab in Coca Cola district San Jose, and just full of beggars, bums, crackheads, and hookers. Stay away from Costa Rica in general. It is to expensive and over rated from being plagued by tourism for the last 25 years.
Panama is where its at! Bambu Hostel David is where to go!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So yeah anyways. Stay away from Gran Imperial even though they just cleaned it all up with a bunch of new insurance money judging by the pics on their website.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boardfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

I went there in January 2008. I stayed one night and when I was visiting the city, somebody stole my stuff! I was in a private room, locked, but someone stole my stuff without breaking the door...
The staff said they are not responsible and they gave me no help. Also, there was blood on the sheets. The room was ugly, small and not comfortable. This was my worst hotel EVER. I will never recommand this hotel! There are so many hotels at the same price and so much better in San Jose.

  • Liked — When I left the hotel
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tristandd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sura B&B
Hotel Sura B&B
#13 of 67 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Novo
Hotel Novo
#11 of 67 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aldea San Jose
Aldea San Jose
#5 of 79 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Gran Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Gran Imperial

Property: Hostel Gran Imperial
Address: First Avenue, 8th Street | just across the west side of the central market, San Jose 1914-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Gran Imperial 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel has been completely renovated and its daily supervision of its owners, makes the service be as good as being home! Just in the heart of downtown San Jose, across the Central Market makes it an unique place to stay, the site and easy access to all its surroundings, bus stations and airport is comfortable for all travelers and visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostel Gran Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing