We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good long stay”
Review of Casa Lima B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Lima B & B
Ranked #4 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cancun, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good long stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was in Casa Lima for almost 2 months while in San Jose for work.

Everyone was really helpful. I loved their breakfast. I stayed in room 19. They definitely do need to give it a bit of maintenance and I did mention it but otherwise I was very comfortable all the time.
It is a safe area, close to everything that you need.
I am really glad I found them ...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biancam27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    45
    5
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
72
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed at Casa Lima in April of 2012 in both the beginning and the end of our trip. We have family who lives walking distance from the hotel and chose this property mostly because of location but also because we had a great experience booking the property and retrieving info from the management.

The courtyard was beautiful! We spent a lot of time hanging out in the courtyard, playing with Don Kiko and just hanging out. The staff was friendly and joked around with us. The breakfast was great, I always love a traditional Costa Rican continental breakfast. Fresh fruits, breads and plenty of nummy coffee and fresh squeeezed juice.

We rented the same room for both of our stays. Two, attached rooms. One had a queen bed and one had two twins. They were adjoining, both had TV's, A/C, mini fridge and their own bathrooms. Simple, but clean and certainly comfortable. We had a rental car, parked outside, below our 2nd floor rooms and it was safe, they patrol the area all night long.

We most definitely return to Casa Lima in the future (next trip, April 2014!!). We were a party of 3 adults and a 5 year old. Family friendly and all around a great experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Good place, good feeling when you arrive, immediatly in jungle (monkey, perrots, birds, plants...)!!!!! Rooms are not large but enought for some nights...I was ejoy for my first trip in Costa rica and came back night before turn back in France

Room Tip: rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DADOU H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

stayed at this b&b on our first and also last day during our visit in CR.
everyone is very helpful and friendly. arranged car rental at great prices (better than online!) and drop-off at the air port for us.
The garden inside the "casa" is especially beautiful! I can only recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolfmanHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The courtyard and the wildlife inside was always great to wake up to. Nelson and his staff were awesome and took care of all our needs. It was a great jumping off point to our Costa Rican vacation. We would recommend this place to our friends and family.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 2nd floor facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is not your typical B&B but your home in San Jose .my husband and I were there for 3 weeks primarily for my dental care.Nelson,Danny,and all the staff became our "family "in San Jose and I will never stay anywhere else.I have to return at least twice in the upcoming year to finish my dental care (poor me ha ha)Nelson,the proprietor is the "man with the biggest heart in latin America"he goes above and beyond anything you would normally expect from a B&B owner.we left very early Tuesday morning and we miss casa Lima already.all you have to do is call their miami phone # and ask to speak to Nelson or Danny(the day time front desk manager)tell them what your bedroom requirements are and they will do the rest.p.s. The price is right.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downscale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
945 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#28 of 77 in San Jose
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#14 of 77 in San Jose
268 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,440 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 77 in San Jose
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lima B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lima B & B

Property: Casa Lima B & B
Address: Del Colegio Humboldt 175 norte 50 oeste | 50 Oeste, Number 23, Rohrmoser, San Jose 00000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Lima B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A small-paradise." is what we often hear from our guests’. Casa Lima is a small exclusive bed and breakfast nestled in one of Costa Rica's unique and privileged neighborhood, Rohrmoser. Located only 15 minutes from San Jose city centre and the airport, Casa Lima offers the perfect strategic location for visiting the Central Valley and exploring Costa Rica. Only a short drive away from all the amenities of San Jose and Escazu, yet located in a tranquil and relaxed tropical setting. Casa Lima is only two blocks away from the American Embassy in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Lima B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lima Hotel San Jose
Casa Lima Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing