We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one couple's opinion”
Review of Casa Lima B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Lima B & B
Ranked #3 of 70 San Jose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just one couple's opinion”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We planned to stay a full week at this cute little B&B but checked out after one night for a number of reasons. There were no really handy places to eat dinner as this B&B is in a residential neighborhood, and although younger more fit people might not think a 3-6 block uphill walk is a barrier, it sure was for us. Also, we had booked the 2 room family suite based on the website description. It was not within the cozy confines of the inner courtyard and we felt very vulnerable with just a little push-button lock on our door. There was a locking iron gate at the top of the outdoor stairway, but it was very hard to lock and unlock with our key Apparently others had the same problem as they just didn't lock it. Our room had 2 bathrooms but one had only cold water (one spigot) from the sink. There were no chairs or tables in either room so without a place to at least sit and set up the laptop, or have a snack, a week there would have seemed interminable. The queen-sized bed in one room was like a plywood box --unbearably hard. I can't imagine anyone actually being satisfied with this bed or the rooms for that matter. When we came back from our adventure in finding dinner soon after we arrived, they had had a water pipe break and the lobby was flooded (but running downhill and out the door). Consequently we had no water in our room for a couple hours. When it did come back on there was no hot water at all for the remaining 12 hours of our stay.
We did not have WiFi while we were there and that was blamed on the water pipe situation.
We ran into other Americans who were staying at Casa Lima while having dental work at Prisma Dental as we were. We also met a family that were returning customers.They seemed quite content there and I assumed that the comforts were better in the regular rooms.
The owner was kind about letting us go with no hassle. Fortunately, we knew of another place we could just take a taxi to and stay. (See my other reviews of SJ).

Room Tip: Don't book sight-unseen. Check out the particular room and bed you will be getting. Avoid the fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    44
    5
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
71
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had another fantastic time at Casa Lima, celebrating my birthday on Valentine's Day. Thanks to the owners Judie and Nelson for their warm hospitality and great recommendations, we toured the spectacular views of Arenal Volcano while sipping Cuba Libres at the Hot Springs Resort. We also enjoyed the private beach at Tulemar Resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio Natural Park about 2.5 hours from the homely confines of Casa Lima. Just 3 hour flight from Miami, Casa Lima is a great getaway...highly recommend it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edtv14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Vito, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My husband and I spent nine days in San Jose to get paperwork done to apply for residency, do some banking, etc. This charming small hotel is near the American Embassy, so it was the perfect location for us. The clean and comfortable rooms, the excellent breakfast, the helpful and friendly staff, and of course, Nelson, the extraordinary host, were more than we expected. The inner courtyard is lovely, and after a cocktail or two in the rancho, was almost enough to convince us that we were not in the city at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Nelson was a great host - incredibly friendly and helpful. The inner courtyard with tropical plants, birds and monkey is a wonderful welcome to Costa Rica. Andrey efficiently helped us secure back-up transportation when our first taxi driver didn't show up on time. The fruit at breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: The apartment with two adjoining rooms for a family is really nice, The rooms off the courtyard have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDBotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times during the beginning and end of various travels through Costa Rica and we are never disappointed. The rooms are simple and clean, a basic breakfast of toast, fruit, juice, and coffee is included, and the bilingual staff is extremely helpful. They can arrange for a rental car to be brought to the hotel, arrange airport pick- up or drop-off , etc. There are very near the small Pavas airport, so if you are over-nightingale in San Jose before a flight I would highly recommend Casa Lima. It is a much better option than the high-priced chain hotels in Escazu.

Room Tip: Some rooms have A/C, so you can request if needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamiWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

I spent two weeks at this eclectic and friendly property. Convenient to Centro by public bus. Nelson, a Cuban American from Chicago, can offer tips and any info you need regarding San Jose or Costa Rica. The staff is pleasant and friendly. Don't miss the stars here: Kiko the monkey, an iguana, scores of tropical fish and birds and a talking parrot.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank kipukatrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Front desk speaks English, Spanish and Italian. Rooms were bland, and not what I would call clean. We stayed 2 nights and there was NO maid service, which was the first time I have seen this in even a B&B in many years. We paid almost $100/night for the family suite: most of the furniture was antiquated; TV small; poor design of bathroom (my elbow hit the wall when I brushed my teeth); getting hot water to come out was tricky; and I could go on. The worst part was the breakfast, which was so bad the second day that we literally could not ingest it. That day, the coffee was so stale it was not drinkable, and there was only bread, jam and fruit - all of which was not edible in my mind (and I can eat almost anything). It appeared that management has relied on its main attraction (the animals) exclusively, and to the detriment of the rest of the establishment. The only reason I can give them a two star rating was because of the animals, which were delightful for our young kids. And FYI, they charge 10% extra with credit cards.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#11 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#31 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lima B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lima B & B

Property: Casa Lima B & B
Address: Del Colegio Humboldt 175 norte 50 oeste | 50 Oeste, Number 23, Rohrmoser, San Jose 00000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Lima B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A small-paradise." is what we often hear from our guests’. Casa Lima is a small exclusive bed and breakfast nestled in one of Costa Rica's unique and privileged neighborhood, Rohrmoser. Located only 15 minutes from San Jose city centre and the airport, Casa Lima offers the perfect strategic location for visiting the Central Valley and exploring Costa Rica. Only a short drive away from all the amenities of San Jose and Escazu, yet located in a tranquil and relaxed tropical setting. Casa Lima is only two blocks away from the American Embassy in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Lima B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lima Bed And Breakfast
Casa Lima Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing