We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't help but wonder who did a lot of the posts.”
Review of Casa Lima B & B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Lima B & B
Ranked #3 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Just before leaving for CR we got an email telling us to be on the lookout for posts done on establishments by people who had only done that 1 post since they might be done by "fake" tripadvisors.

After spending a night here we understand what they meant.

Our room was the smallest room we've ever been in, and that includes some inside cruise ship cabins. We had NO hot water in the shower. This is really a small apartotel and not a b&b. There are about 20 rooms. The dining area and courtyard are quite lovely. We found it because he drove slowly and I recognized the courtyard since there isn't even a sign outside. We saw the sign sitting on the ground next to the unplugged, empty water dispenser on the way to our room. The room did have a small fridge with snacks and drinks with a price list on the door.

Though it appeared to other guests, as well as us, that there was a continental breakfast buffet since all kinds of bowls were set on a large table, nothing was put out. A couple of other tables waited, as we did, thinking that they were just late setting up but eventually found out when someone else was served, that everything had to be ordered through the waiter/front desk person. He was wonderful and did his best to handle all the tables and answer the phone and assist patrons.

We had read posts about the restaurant and were looking forward to dinner the night we got there. Unfortunately, it was closed by 7 pm.

Nelson, the owner actually lives in Florida and was not there when we were.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachsidegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Casa Lima B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2009

Our stay at Casa Lima was delightful. The facility was charming and clean and the staff was extraordinary in terms of friendliness and service. The location was a very nice residential section of San Jose only blocks from the American Embassy. The room was equipped with a safe and a refrigerator stocked with wine, snacks and drinks. The rooms surround a lovely courtyard landscaped beautifully with lush plants, a waterfall and the residence of the entertaining and comical Kiko the monkey. Breakfasts included delicious Costa Rican coffee, delicious fresh fruits, fresh bread and jams. The expanded breakfast menu includes eggs, pancakes and local breakfast fare which includes rice and beans (delicious!). Other meals offered at Casa Lima are just as delicious.

The service was excellent. Nelson and his mother, owner/managers, go above and beyond to create a welcoming and friendly atmosphere. One night after a long day we came "home" to find a complimentary bottle of wine in our room. It was one of the extra touches offered by Casa Lima that made our stay so wonderful

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My family and I stayed at Casa for one week while visiting Costa Rica. It was our first time in the country and not only did we have our 1 and 2 year old girls but we also had our 15 year old son. We had an excellent time, the staff was very helpful, the service was excellent and we got individual attention all the time, its a very clean and tranquil environment. This is a vacation that will always be remembered.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBNVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

It needs kind of signals to find it. But you can manage you reservation by internet. Rooms are awesome!!!..huge beds, lot of pillows, wonderful food. Service is fast and you will feel like at home..in deed better than home..
Fco.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjpsjino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Casa Lima is an amazing bed and breakfast in San Jose (about 20 minutes from the airport). Since this was our first trip to Costa Rica we decided to stay in San Jose and take several "day trips" throughout Costa Rica. We researched places to stay online and chose Casa Lima because we wanted to stay where we would embrace the Costa Rican lifestyle. We also believe in supporting locally owned and operated businesses. As soon as you enter Casa Lima you will be greeted and cared for by an outstanding staff! Anytime we needed anything (from extra toilet paper to pillows) the staff at Casa Lima assisted us immediately and with the upmost courtesy. Throughout our stay Nelson (the owner/manager) checked in with us to ensure we were comfortable and well cared for. You feel like family staying at Casa Lima. We stayed in room 6 which is located around an open patio area. This open area feels like a slice of the rainforest with the gorgeous trees, tranquil waterfall, small pond with a turtle, and beautiful birds. We sat out in this area often and played games, listened to music, had a few drinks and even surfed the internet with high speed wireless internet access. My husband is an online professor and the internet service was faster than what we have at home. The rooms offer comfortable beds, television, full bath, refrigerator and are decorated beautifully and are immaculately clean. The food....scrumptious! The fruit explodes with flavors you could never imagine. Casa Lima's kitchen has plenty to offer from typical Costa Rican meals to pizza with pepperoni and banana (You will be glad you tried it!). We were able to book several excursions because the staff has all the information you'll need. ALSO there is a massage school a couple of blocks away so take advantage of a massage while you are there. We are going back to Costa Rica and we will stay at Casa Lima again because of the attentive staff, outstanding service, delicious food, and wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed at Casa Lima for more than a week. We explored Arenal volcano hot springs, the beach, biodiversity center, folk art, and the architecture--all with the help of the excellent management of this inviting bed and breakfast (and his helpful tour book.) The staff is responsive and friendly, the rooms are delightfully decorated and the colorful courtyard with waterfall and flowers is beautiful. Casa Lima was great to come home to after a day of exploring. We ate breakfast in the comfortable dining room every morning and enjoyed dinner there several evenings. Casa Lima is a relaxing, friendly, garden-like bed and breakfast in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue055049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We stayed at Casa Lima on our way into Costa Rica, and it was amazing!
The rooms were large and airy, the courtyard / garden area was beautiful,
and they have a number of amazing pets (like a monkey and a few beautiful parrots.)
The food was also excellent, with tons of fresh fruit and tasty breads.
The best reason to stay here though is the amazing customer service:
We forgot our hair dryer and they ran up a brand new one up to the room,
A second example is that we needed to make it to church in the morning at a specific time,
and the staff called around to multiple churches / friends to find a church that fit our needs.
Then to top it all off they arranged our taxi and everything worked perfectly.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulYak2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#32 of 77 in San Jose
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#13 of 77 in San Jose
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,392 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lima B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lima B & B

Address: Del Colegio Humboldt 175 norte 50 oeste | 50 Oeste, Number 23, Rohrmoser, San Jose 00000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: £49 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Lima B & B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A small-paradise." is what we often hear from our guests’. Casa Lima is a small exclusive bed and breakfast nestled in one of Costa Rica's unique and privileged neighborhood, Rohrmoser. Located only 15 minutes from San Jose city centre and the airport, Casa Lima offers the perfect strategic location for visiting the Central Valley and exploring Costa Rica. Only a short drive away from all the amenities of San Jose and Escazu, yet located in a tranquil and relaxed tropical setting. Casa Lima is only two blocks away from the American Embassy in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Lima B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lima Hotel San Jose
Casa Lima Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing