We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place for a night or two”
Review of The Palm House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palm House Inn
Ranked #25 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 September 2012

On my way to Nicaragua I often stay at this hotel. Not because it's so great, but the location is perfect. Short walk to everywhere in San Jose. The rooms are reasonably clean and small but sufficient for a short stay. No luxury, but also the price is ok with about $ 50/night. What can you expect? The staff is friendly, the breakfast is not worth eating it but as I said before, you can walk to excellent cafes on calle central, watch people and have breakfast.
Basically the price is right, the staff is friendly and it's convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank panamacityguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

This hotel is located near the National Museum which makes it an excellent option to visit the main attractions in the city. Although the facade is not very chip, inside the rooms are very clean and the bathroom is new. Staff are very kind and helpful. Breakfast was included in the price. I would recommend it. Good quality-price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLibelula_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

1 star for the polite service who was even able to call our tour company for us when they were running late to pick us up.

1 star for relatively modern rooms complete with an updated bathroom and crown molding. However there were two beds crammed into a tiny room leaving minimal room to maneuver around our suitcases. Also like another reviewer mentioned, we had "stains" on our sheets. And worse part of it all, there was NO HOT WATER even after letting the water run for several minutes. After a long flight, taking a cold shower was not very pleasant.

And finally 1 point for location - well kinda. We had a quiet night's sleep and were in walking distance to a supermarket and restaurants. However we were extremely nervous walking around at night as the area is a bit grungy with no tourists in sight but plenty of locals staring at us.

Overall, I think the hotel was totally sufficient for a night's stay after flying into San Jose. You can start the real trip bright and early the next morning.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachsuntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The rooms at the Palm House Inn, were not too big but modern, very clean and had everything which was needed. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful and we could use the internet for free. As we did not have time to eat breakfast, our bus left very early, we can not give a comment about this point.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi und Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel was in the best spot in town for walking around and exploring. It was right next to the National Museum and across the street was a souvenir market with great shopping. The beds were a bit of a joke. They were on wheels or something and kept moving around. But everything was clean and of good quality. The staff was excellent, especially Juan Carlos who gave us great ideas for places to visit. I would stay there again, just for the location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shai_Gyul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Stayed two nights at the Palm House Inn for our flights in/out of San Jose. Got in late both nights and noticed the neighborhood seemed a little rough / scary (forget a night stroll for some fresh air).
The rooms are very small. The bathrooms seemed to have been recently updated. However, the walls / bedspread were spotted up with stains. We have some guesses of the source of those stains, but I won't get into that for my review. However, the floors and bathroom were clean.
Our room had a tiny window which I don't think opened, there was a ceiling fan so the room was stuffy. The hotel has 1st, 2nd and 3rd floor rooms. The front desk guy was kind enough to carry our heavy suitcases up the stairs for us, so service was friendly.
Breakfast was included.
We didn't spend anytime in San Jose, so I cannot comment on the hotels location to any attractions. If you only need a place for a quick night, this place will do the trick.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colorado626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Our room was tiny and there was a horrible smell which we believe was coming from the drains. However as we were only booked in for two nights we decided to put up with it but on the second day we had to move as water started to pour down the wall. The second room was on the ground floor and was much bigger and quieter and didn't smell! The receptionist spoke excellent English and was very helpful. Breakfast was included but was not worth having as it was so meager.
Free Internet available at reception and free wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
504 reviews
3.6 mi away
Casa Lima B & B
Casa Lima B & B
#3 of 67 in San Jose
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel la Posada del Sol
Hotel la Posada del Sol
#28 of 67 in San Jose
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Novo
Hotel Novo
#8 of 67 in San Jose
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Alfi
Casa Alfi
#11 of 67 in San Jose
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palm House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palm House Inn

Address: Calle 13 Ave 2 y 6, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: £36 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palm House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Palm House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palm House Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing