We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Experience”
Review of La Boruca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Boruca
Ranked #5 of 66 San Jose B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We picked La Boruca because of the reviews and the location. We flew into San Jose that day and rented a car. We were headed to Tortuguero so we wanted to drive out of San Jose and be in the right direction to head to the Carribean. We didn't want to be delayed by San Jose traffic the next day. It was a perfect choice. Ken was very helpful. He checked on the times of the boats heading to Tortuguero for us and prepared us for slow travel.
The room was lovely and the internet worked well. There is beautiful landscaping all around. We ate dinner($16) there and it was very good. We enjoyed breakfast in the morning and then were off for the rest of our adventure. We were sorry to stay only one night but it was a lovely way to start our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanRah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
75
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have not stayed at many bed and breakfast places, so this was a new experience for us. Ken and Susanna are wonderful hosts, and their place (remote though it is) is very comfortable and welcoming. They were very attentive, taking room service to a new level when I was sick.

Ken is a fascinating guy to talk to, having had a wide variety of life experiences. He is also a computer whiz, so the large screen TV was also the computer monitor in our room. The Internet worked well.

The room was very clean and comfortable, with big windows showing the lush tropical greenery (all planted by Ken and Susanna) outside. The hot tap in the shower is on the RIGHT side, marked with the letter C for "Caliente."

Nice place, great people, Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We have stayed in La Boruca for 5 nights and we couldn't have chosen a better place. Rooms are almost luxurious, with large-screen PC and fast Internet connection. Kenneth was extremely helpful, even to the point of lending us a local mobile phone for a couple of days. Food is great, the property lovely and really close to rainforest. This also means that it is quite away from San Jose (15 - 20 min), but especially if you rent a car that should be no problem. Beware, though, to print the map from their website, finding the place is not easy even for local taxi drivers. Overall, it has been a brilliant experience and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepabou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

really loved Kenneth and how great he and his family made our trip. we visited only for 3 nights but we made use of our time with all of his help. easy airport pick up, great knowledge of where to go and what to do, great food, great room! there was a fun hike accessible just down the road, and Kenneth and his wife go above and beyond for transportation for people like us without rental cars. breakfast included, lunch ($7) and dinner ($16) available upon request every night (steak, fish, pork or chicken - all tasty) and amazing tres leches dessert as well! cute daughter who makes jewelry, i bought gifts to take home to family! birds and cows nearby are loud in the morning, and sun is up at 5:30 this time of year (january). they also have workout equipment if you're there long enough to use it!

Room Tip: safari room was great, as recommended by others. cant speak for other rooms but there are 2 upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeltaFlyGirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

During our three week trip to Costa Rica, my husband, 10 year old daughter and I spent a total of 4 nights at La Boruca and it really felt like a home from home. Kenneth was incredibly helpful and welcoming. We were picked up at the airport, taxied around to wherever we needed to go and fed wonderfully. Ken had a helpful solution to every small issue we faced (he leant us a phone when ours didn't work, brought us our meal to the room when our daughter was ill and even leant us a mask and snorkel). Our room was lovely and the bed marvellously comfortable.

La Boruca is well out of the hurly burly of San Jose and is a very peaceful place to stay. The garden is lovely and attracts some beautiful birds (for any bird watchers out there, I saw a blue-crowned motmot metres from our room!)

Thank you Ken and family for helping to make our trip truly wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hummingbird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My wife and I spent most of our trip to Costa Rica on the coast and in the mountains. To catch our early departure flight, we decided it'd be easiest to spends our last night in San Jose.

After six hours of tough navigation and epic traffic on the PanAmerican Highway (from the Palmares rodeo competition), we arrived at La Boruca frazzled, hungry, and wanting a drink. (Well, my wife was completely cool, I was a baby.)

Ken immediately put us at ease. He had cold beer and fast internet in our hands in under five minutes. Even though they only serve breakfast, he improvised some delicious mushroom burritos, and took time out of his evening to plot out the best route to the airport the next day. There's a massive library of films to borrow, and our room came with a large-screen computer.

I am so glad we came here, it was a nice, calm way to navigate San Jose and end our trip.

Thank you for your great hospitality, Ken!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyOpinionsAintFacts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

A friend and I stayed here for two nights after after she was on the coast on business for a week. I had met her at the end of her business trip and Ken was EXTREMELY helpful in getting us a driver to drive us from Flamingo Beach to La Boruca. He was also helpful in finding us a driver to take us into town for a shopping day. Both drivers were safe (local driver was a former cop) which was extremely important for two women traveling in a foreign country.
Realize that La Boruca is some distance away from the city. Depending on your desires, this can be good or bad. But, Ken seems to be well connected in finding drivers and knowing ways to get where you may want to go. He's extremely helpful and knowledgeable. First night there we had dinner provided by the owners and it was excellent and more food than we could consume! There's a small town that walking distance although it's not much...a grocery store, church, and one shady looking bar. We went and bought "treats" at the grocery store and ran into Ken who graciously gave us a ride back. Ken also gave us a local cell phone to use while shopping in town. Extremely helpful in calling the driver to take us back at the end of the day.
I only have two very small complaints: 1) it was cold the two nights we were there. (it's in the mountains) Very chilly sleeping over night and we weren't well prepared. They do provide extra blankets, however. The water was cold too, which we believe was related to the weather. Ken did say he could turn up the water heater. 2) Ants attacked any food we left open overnight! Ken did warn us, so can't blame anyone but ourselves.
LOVED that they had wifi and a computer with MANY movies in the room. My friend is a movie buff and we watched 3-4 movies during our stay! Wifi couldn't support Facetime on my iPad, however.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PreferToNotSay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
944 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
880 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Boruca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Boruca

Property: La Boruca
Address: Moravia San Jose, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 15 minutes from downtown San Jose on the hills heading to the Caribbean. The whole property is surrounded by lush gardens our rooms are modern and large all of them have high speed internet and a computer in the room with a nice flat screen to use our movie or music archive our beds are king size orthopedic, we offer hot water safe box and always free helpful advice on Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Boruca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Boruca Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing