We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aldea-the spot to go!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldea San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aldea San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
jj
1 review
“Aldea-the spot to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Stayed at this hostel several times throughout this year, while travelling in Central America!
You wouldn't want to stay ANYWHERE else in San Jose!! Its clean, safe, friendly, fun, close to transport- u can even get there easy by local bus from the airport for less than a dollar! Would stay there again ANYTIME! The owner/manager guy is ace! Enjoy your stay, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirhan, Receptionist at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
j j, Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Aldea, and we really do hope that you stop on back here when you head back to San Jose in the future. You certainly already know how easy it is to get here from the airport by bus!
Mateo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    54
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
3
48
75
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

This relatively new hostel in the West of town has bright, contemporary decorated rooms and a relaxed & welcoming vibe. There's a large kitchen & dining room, good common area with Tv & pool table and free computers and free wifi. A home from home in Sa Jose

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kris10Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirhan, Receptionist at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
kris10Paris_France, thanks very much for your kind words. Here at Aldea, we pride ourselves on creating a homely environment and endeavor to make our guest feel as comfortable as possible. Glad that you too felt at home at Aldea.

Mateo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed in a private double for just one night as we needed to catch a bus to Managua the next day. On arrival the room we had booked had not been registered on their system (thank you hostelworld!) but the staff members quickly arranged a room for us while we played a game of pool and used the computers. The was about the only bad experience of the place. It is in a nice neighbourhood that feels safe at night (something definitely not true of many other hostels in San Jose), with plenty of food close by including numerous westerns chains side by side with little local sodas.

Wireless connection was available on the ground floor and the computers provided were pretty standard fare for what one would usually get at a hostel.

The best thing about it for those traveling through San Jose is it's location a couple of blocks from the Tica Bus station, which is perfect if you need to catch an early bus.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will123ABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stylish and clean hostel.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Great location right off the Paseo Colon.
Tastey BBQs.
No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gobulls123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2011

This hostel has its good points but overall my stay wasn't great and I probably wouldn't stay here again. I'll start with the good news... this hostel looks fantastic its nicely decorated with cool artwork on the walls and the furniture is stylish and comfortable. In the lounge there is a huge wide screen TV. The location is great, close to amenities and a great location if you are stopping over in San Jose for the night and want to be close to bus stations. Breakfast is included and you just help yourself from the communal kitchen! The staff are very friendly although they are not always available at reception when you need them and as a couple of previous posts commented, they seem a bit too relaxed and don't really seem to care. I got chatting to a couple of them and they just seemed to be other travellers who were stopping off in San Jose to earn some cash before moving on in a couple of weeks.
I stayed in a private room, upstairs which was huge and when we first arrived It didn't look like the sheets had been changed and there was no toilet paper. The room only had one double bed and had no curtains. I realise that you shouldn't expect too much from a hostel but the room felt cavernous and because the window was so huge as soon as there was a hint of sunlight in the morning I woke up, at 5am!
Wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CateMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

I am reluctant to write this review, since everything about this place seems great. I've stayed here on two separate occasions, but I will probably not return. The lounge area is really nice and there is even a kitchen available. The owner is nice and helpful (although a bit spacey). As another reviewer commented, "All of the staff were nice but most were 'relaxed' to the point of being apathetic and unhelpful". It is not the quietest place to get a good night sleep, but that is a consequence of any hostel. Otherwise, it is a great place to meet people from all over.

I really like this place, but I discovered on my second stay at the hostal, on the day that I left that they do not change the sheets between guests. I had gone back into my room after checking out to use the restroom, and I saw that the cleaning lady was remaking the beds with the same already used sheets for all the bed even though everyone had checked out.

While the hostal looks lovely and clean, and is a great value, I can't recommend it as the best place to stay. Maybe some are fine with this indiscretion, but be warned. Perhaps, the private rooms get a better cleaning!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feliz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zancudo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Just the facts about my private room:

Pros: decent location to things in the city; friendly front desk girl, relatively clean, relatively quite, ok price.

Cons: cold - seems like it used to be victorian and has not made a good transition to shabby-chic modern, no hot water, no soap, no towels, ceiling fan that couldn't operate without the lights on at the same time.

I guess I was expecting a private room in a hostel to be a little more comfortable and really I felt like it was just shy of being a room you would find in the Adams Family home.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliveincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea San Jose

Property: Aldea San Jose
Address: Avenida 2 | Calle 28 100m south Pizza Hut Paseo Colon, in front of the Garbo Room, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aldea San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Aldea San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing