We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to land” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aldea Hostel San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aldea Hostel San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Key West, Florida
1 review
“Great place to land”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

A cab driver pretty much scooped us into his cab and took us here. I was exhausted and confused I knew as soon as we walked in we were in the right place! They have fun music playing and you walk into the main lounge play area with a pool table we were greeted with a smile and it was a wonderful way to crash! Super friendly and helpful staff! Walking distance from where we needed to catch our busses. I will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rancherasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words about both our staff. We at Aldea are always happy to hear that we´ve excelled to meet our customers needs and standards, as we come think of you all as family. Aldea Hostel´s prime central location is one of the biggest assets to the city and its guests and are happy its convenience was beneficial to you.

We are very pleased to have had you stay with us and hope to see you back during your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    54
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
3
48
74
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
356 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I spent six nights at the Aldea Hostel in December of 2013. I rented a private room for 30USD/night. I was given room 104, which is accessed from the lobby. It consisted of a very comfortable full size bed (with a real spring mattress), a set of bunk beds, plenty of pillows, a nightstand on each side of the double bed, and a large bathroom with a walk-in shower.

The room was clean, spacious and pleasant. The high ceiling and the ceiling fan kept the room cool during warm afternoons.

They play reggae music in the lobby, and you can hear it from the room, but it was always turned off before I went to bed.

The outdoor kitchen/dining area was the center for socializing at the hostel. There were all kinds of friendly people there. It was a really enjoyable atmosphere. People were always eager to share their food, beverages and stories. This was one of the things that made the Aldea Hostel so delightful.

The kitchen facilities were always kept clean, and there were always plenty of pots, pans, glasses and cutlery.

The location is excellent. It's about half a mile from the main bus terminal (where you can take the bus to the airport for 550CRC). There is a supermarket and several mini-markets within two blocks. There are also numerous restaurants nearby, including fast food chains, local options, and about half a mile away, a very good Brazilian steak house. The Rosenstock Lieberman plastic surgery clinic and an opthamalogist office are on the same interstection.

There was decent coffee in the morning. Sugar was provided. I bought my own cream at a supermarket and shared it with other guests.

The owner and the staff were very friendly and always willing to assist.

Aldea Hostel has a great vibe, and I enjoyed my stay. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldeaStaff, Director General at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We would all like to thank you very much for your indepth review of our hostel. To receive a top notch comment such as this makes us proud of the work we do and happy that our customers view us to such standards. We are happy that you found everything to your liking, from: the facilities and the ammenities to the location. We do however like to apologize for the volume levels and lack of variety in the music. We thank you once again for your wonderful review and hope to see you back as part of the family in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This nice colonial hostel a good walk from the center has large spacious rooms and a fantastic pizza restaurant adjoined. I stayed in a single room in a king size bed and enjoyed the place and what good value it was.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldeaStaff, Director General at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us during your time in Costa Rica. We at Aldea aim to please our customers with not only comfort in the lodging we provide, but with great food thanks to our neighbors at The Corner; they will be thrilled to know you enjoyed their cuisine. We hope to see you back during your travels where you can become part of the Aldea experience once again. Happy New Year and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Super beautifull drawings in THE hostel, Nice atmosphere from THE moment you walk in. You can see they took THE time to decorate it nicely. Also THE positioning of THE rooms is nice.

When you arrive by bus at THE cocacola terminal, this hostel would be your best option!!!!

I slept in à privat room and got - again - à beautifull and cosy room.
Only bad thing was THE noise you hear from THE street and next to THE open kitchen so i didnt sleep much. Which is à Pitty of you pay 30 dollars.

Super welcoming by à Guy with glasses at THE reception (forgot his name).

Breakfast is only coffee and banana.

Overall : wonderfull, clean, à big +

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolien 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldeaStaff, General Manager at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We would first like to say thank you for all the amazing compliments about the decor of the hostel. The proximity to the CocaCola Bus Terminal as well as other terminals is quite convinient to all our travelers. We do our outmost to provide as much comfort as possible to our traveling company and are glad to hear that the ammenities were to your standards. Pity we can´t do something about the street noise for our guests, the price of being in the city. We are looking to expand on our breakfast during high season so we hope to see you again soon during your travels. Michael (the receptionist with glasses) sends his apreciation for complimenting his duties and hopes as well to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

The staff were great from the minute we walked in, we got a free taxi from the bus station after advice from a fellow traveller that it was a good hostel. The hostel was close to the station we wanted to use the next morning. Breakfast was coffee and biscuits. Very poor. It is the most expensive hostel we stayed in while in Costa Rica. The dorm was for 8 and was quite small for the amount of people. It is noisy from the traffic but its the city. Some interesting art work to look at and computers to use. We did not use the kitchen but it was clean. I personally did not sleep that well in the beds. It was ok for the 8 hrs we spent there passing through but would not stay for a longer period.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toohotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldeaStaff, General Manager at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are grateful that you did and had a fairly positive experience with us. Aldea Hostel´s prime central location is one of the biggest assets to the city and its guests and are happy its convenience was beneficial to you. We apologize about the size of the breakfast, we are currently looking to expand it with the help of "The Corner" the restaurant next door to us. Eventhough there is little we can do about the hustle and bustle of the city noice we are very glad you found the rest of our ammenities to be of use. We hope that you reconsider and stay with us a longer period of time in the future, we would be thrilled to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night on our way through Costa Rica. The guy at the reception was great, very friendly and gave us advice on the city and getting out of the city. Beds were great and rooms were nice temperature.

On the down side the showers were pretty non existant - a little dribble, and the breakfast was just a banana and coffee.

Overall a nice place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianmcgillivray88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldeaStaff, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are happy that the night you spent with us at Aldea was a pleasant one. Our staff does its outmost to make sure our guest´s questions are always answered so that their time in San Jose is always enjoyed to its fullest potential. We are happy to hear that our accomodations were up to standards but would like to apologize about the shower. Aldea, though beautiful and unique; is situated in a very old Colonial house, thus sometimes certain little tend to be a little tempremental. Safe travels to you, we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Best staff ever so far, great friendly people, more friends than staff really, going the extra mile if needed.
Rooms comfortable, hot water, nice patio, really cool music. just excellent!
I recommend highly!! muchisimas gracias

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinderellapiveteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldeaStaff, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Cindy,

If we could only express into words how grateful we are to have had you as a guest. We at Aldea come to think of our guests as part of our family and have to say we were very sad to see you go, but understand that as a part of life, you must move on with your travels. We thank you very much for not only the great times you shared with us, but also for taking the time to review us and share your experience at Aldea with the world. Be safe, take care of yourself, and come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea Hostel San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea Hostel San Jose

Property: Aldea Hostel San Jose
Address: Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aldea Hostel San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Aldea Hostel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing