We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best balanced hostel in San Jose”
Review of Aldea San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aldea San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
“The best balanced hostel in San Jose”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very nice and welcoming staff, clean dorms, pretty calm, nice kitchen full equiped, small courtyard snooker and good pizzeria! Ideally located close to the center and 3 minutes from the TICABUS station. Godd prices for the service!

Disfrute amigos! Jean-Arthur.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hola Jean!

We feel really flattered for all these good comments you have made about Aldea! It is really important to know that you had a pleasant stay with us during your time in San Jose! Every day our goal is to make our guests feeling like at home, by having a comfortable sleep, nice relaxing time playing some pool or just by cooking and sharing with others in the backyard.

Thanks for the nice feedback given, you are welcome back whenever you pass by the capital.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    58
    29
    18
    6
See reviews for
3
50
76
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I spent 2 nights at Aldea, and was amazed at how laid back everyone was there!
The staff was particularly cool and helfpul.

I loved the pool table and the overall style of this place.

My room was a bit noisy (front street window), but it was ok.
Location was great (10 minute walk to downtown, and 2 minute walk to the amazing Grano de Oro restaurant).

I recommend this hostel to travelers on a tight budget.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OBM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hey OBM97,

It is awesome to know that you have really liked and enjoyed our hostel in the heart of San Jose. The location of the place is privileged since we are close to all the bus terminals, 5 minute walk to downtown and all the interesting places to visit in the area.

Our staff members are always with the best attitude to attend our guest’s needs, these guys are smiling the whole time and willing to help with anything we can possibly do to make you feel like home.

We try to keep the rates accessible so that anybody can come and stay with us for a reasonable price.

Whenever you come back to San Jose, we will be waiting for you in your home away from home, Aldea Costa Rica.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

nice music when you enter, friendly staff. some even speak english. only 4 people per room, bathrooms and showers with hot water for each room.also comes with breakfast. and a really nice backyard area =)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bumblebeelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Hola Bumblebeelea,

Thanks for all the positive feedback! This motivates us to keep on doing a great job in our hostel. The staff is one of the best aspects of the place, all of them speak good English and have a great attitude towards the clients.

We try to have a really nice ambience, so that’s why we play a vast variety of music during the day, of course, respecting the silence hours so that everybody have a pleasant sleep.
Coffee in the mornings, hot water, free wi-fi, nice backyard and common areas, are one of the things we have in our place.

Once again, we appreciate your nice words for our place and please feel free to join us whenever you are back in the country.

Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colville, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The place is filthy and a good place to have all your stuff stolen. I got bed bugs there. And a case of impetigo too. The loud music played till to the wee hours. The mean spirited desk clerks don't care about the guests at all. Good luck trying to use the dirty ill equipped kitchen the workers dominate it. And the dirty refrigerator is stuffed with the workers rotting food, good luck finding a place for yours. You will find much better hostels very close. Try Mi Casa instead. Not recommended. Stay clear warning!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello Gary.

Due to the previous problems we had, in which you caused an scandal with some guests and even a staff member, to avoid further problems we kindly asked you to leave the hostel to search for another hostel rather than to stay with us..

Even though whatever you have mentioned here are not true, we feel responsible to clear some points to our fellow travelers that may read this comment:

- We respect silence hours from 11pm to 8am, where is NOT allowed none to play music, to have parties or to even be in the backyard to cook, just to make sure that our guests can have a pleasant sleep.

- Regarding the refrigerator, we have deep cleaning two times a week, thus we have signs all over clearly saying "please label your food or it will be put away on the days of cleaning".

- All our receptionist do their best to provide the best Customer Service experience, being that one of our best qualities as you can see in other travelers comments.

- Also, by coming inside the hostel next to the main door, you can see the record of the fumigations we constantly do, this being said, we can assure we have NEVER had problems with bed bugs or any other plague at all.

We hope you will continue to have a good time during vacations, on the other hand, from our side we are gladly very satisfied with our decision to exclude you from our hostel so that we can continue to provide a nice and pleasant environment for our customers which we have always had.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

A cab driver pretty much scooped us into his cab and took us here. I was exhausted and confused I knew as soon as we walked in we were in the right place! They have fun music playing and you walk into the main lounge play area with a pool table we were greeted with a smile and it was a wonderful way to crash! Super friendly and helpful staff! Walking distance from where we needed to catch our busses. I will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank rancherasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words about both our staff. We at Aldea are always happy to hear that we´ve excelled to meet our customers needs and standards, as we come think of you all as family. Aldea Hostel´s prime central location is one of the biggest assets to the city and its guests and are happy its convenience was beneficial to you.

We are very pleased to have had you stay with us and hope to see you back during your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
357 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I spent six nights at the Aldea Hostel in December of 2013. I rented a private room for 30USD/night. I was given room 104, which is accessed from the lobby. It consisted of a very comfortable full size bed (with a real spring mattress), a set of bunk beds, plenty of pillows, a nightstand on each side of the double bed, and a large bathroom with a walk-in shower.

The room was clean, spacious and pleasant. The high ceiling and the ceiling fan kept the room cool during warm afternoons.

They play reggae music in the lobby, and you can hear it from the room, but it was always turned off before I went to bed.

The outdoor kitchen/dining area was the center for socializing at the hostel. There were all kinds of friendly people there. It was a really enjoyable atmosphere. People were always eager to share their food, beverages and stories. This was one of the things that made the Aldea Hostel so delightful.

The kitchen facilities were always kept clean, and there were always plenty of pots, pans, glasses and cutlery.

The location is excellent. It's about half a mile from the main bus terminal (where you can take the bus to the airport for 550CRC). There is a supermarket and several mini-markets within two blocks. There are also numerous restaurants nearby, including fast food chains, local options, and about half a mile away, a very good Brazilian steak house. The Rosenstock Lieberman plastic surgery clinic and an opthamalogist office are on the same interstection.

There was decent coffee in the morning. Sugar was provided. I bought my own cream at a supermarket and shared it with other guests.

The owner and the staff were very friendly and always willing to assist.

Aldea Hostel has a great vibe, and I enjoyed my stay. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldeaStaff, Director General at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
We would all like to thank you very much for your indepth review of our hostel. To receive a top notch comment such as this makes us proud of the work we do and happy that our customers view us to such standards. We are happy that you found everything to your liking, from: the facilities and the ammenities to the location. We do however like to apologize for the volume levels and lack of variety in the music. We thank you once again for your wonderful review and hope to see you back as part of the family in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This nice colonial hostel a good walk from the center has large spacious rooms and a fantastic pizza restaurant adjoined. I stayed in a single room in a king size bed and enjoyed the place and what good value it was.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AldeaStaff, Director General at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us during your time in Costa Rica. We at Aldea aim to please our customers with not only comfort in the lodging we provide, but with great food thanks to our neighbors at The Corner; they will be thrilled to know you enjoyed their cuisine. We hope to see you back during your travels where you can become part of the Aldea experience once again. Happy New Year and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 76 in San Jose
284 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 76 in San Jose
1,416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.7 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 76 in San Jose
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea San Jose

Property: Aldea San Jose
Address: Avenida 2 | Calle 28 100m south Pizza Hut Paseo Colon, in front of the Garbo Room, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aldea San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Aldea San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing