We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aldea San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The hostel is in a neat old Victorian house with awesome decorations and paintings. It has a large pool table and outdoor kitchen and patio area. Downsides...I thought the dorm room was realllllly dirty and each dorm room has a private bath which I doubt gets cleaned regularly because it was grimy foresure. It's also a bad layout having a small bathroom in close courters with the bunk beds. I thought the staff was pretty unhelpful. They were nice if course, but not helpful. There is a pizza restaurant attached so if you arrive in late at night it's a decent option if you aren't into the fast food chains nearby. Overall, I would not stay here again and would recommend other hostels if staying in San Jose.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saltchunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hey Saltchunk,

Thanks for the compliments given to our hostel! The style of the house is unique, beautiful and original paintings, good taste in the color combinations of the house, and the common areas, ideal for meeting and sharing with the other backpackers.

“The Corner Pizzeria” is a great option for having lunch or dinner and we are happy to know you have enjoyed it. Also, it has a 10% discount for our guests and they have a great service.

It’s a shame that you had a bad experience in the dorms, but eventhough we do daily cleaning and keep it all in the best shape possible for the comfort of our clients, sometimes is a little hard to maintain the dorm rooms in a perfect shape since they are usually pretty full and some people just don’t respect the order of the place. We will keep on doing our best to avoid this situation to occur so that everybody feels nice in the shared rooms.

The bathrooms are a little small is true, but we just wanted all our rooms to have their own bathroom so is more comfortable and accessible for everybody and so that people don’t have to wait long for using them.

Thank you once again for the feedback provided and we hope you have enjoyed your traveling in Costa Rica.

Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

The bathrooms were dirty, the showers were moldy, there was hair build up in the corners. The water trickled down the walls in the shower closet. and I got spider bites during the one night that I stayed (this is after staying on a farm for two weeks with no bites and at the beach for a week with no bites).
The kitchen was sooooo dirty. I watched the cleaner "clean" the counters and stove, after her 30 second wipe down there were still large crumbs visible!!!
Plus, the common space art and flooring seems to be original and very cool looking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hello Rosie,

We are glad to know that you were charmed about the beautiful deco of our house! This colonial-like house attracts the looks of all our travelers for its unique style.

At Aldea, we make huge efforts to maintain the dorms, private rooms and common areas clean and tide, providing daily deep cleaning to the house. Also, we have monthly fumigation so we keep control of plagues, insects, and so. We will pay even more attention to this aspect since we take the cleaning of the house really serious.

We appreciate you taking some time to let us know in what we should improve and hope you enjoyed the life at Aldea!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very nice and welcoming staff, clean dorms, pretty calm, nice kitchen full equiped, small courtyard snooker and good pizzeria! Ideally located close to the center and 3 minutes from the TICABUS station. Godd prices for the service!

Disfrute amigos! Jean-Arthur.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hola Jean!

We feel really flattered for all these good comments you have made about Aldea! It is really important to know that you had a pleasant stay with us during your time in San Jose! Every day our goal is to make our guests feeling like at home, by having a comfortable sleep, nice relaxing time playing some pool or just by cooking and sharing with others in the backyard.

Thanks for the nice feedback given, you are welcome back whenever you pass by the capital.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I spent 2 nights at Aldea, and was amazed at how laid back everyone was there!
The staff was particularly cool and helfpul.

I loved the pool table and the overall style of this place.

My room was a bit noisy (front street window), but it was ok.
Location was great (10 minute walk to downtown, and 2 minute walk to the amazing Grano de Oro restaurant).

I recommend this hostel to travelers on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hey OBM97,

It is awesome to know that you have really liked and enjoyed our hostel in the heart of San Jose. The location of the place is privileged since we are close to all the bus terminals, 5 minute walk to downtown and all the interesting places to visit in the area.

Our staff members are always with the best attitude to attend our guest’s needs, these guys are smiling the whole time and willing to help with anything we can possibly do to make you feel like home.

We try to keep the rates accessible so that anybody can come and stay with us for a reasonable price.

Whenever you come back to San Jose, we will be waiting for you in your home away from home, Aldea Costa Rica.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

nice music when you enter, friendly staff. some even speak english. only 4 people per room, bathrooms and showers with hot water for each room.also comes with breakfast. and a really nice backyard area =)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumblebeelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hola Bumblebeelea,

Thanks for all the positive feedback! This motivates us to keep on doing a great job in our hostel. The staff is one of the best aspects of the place, all of them speak good English and have a great attitude towards the clients.

We try to have a really nice ambience, so that’s why we play a vast variety of music during the day, of course, respecting the silence hours so that everybody have a pleasant sleep.
Coffee in the mornings, hot water, free wi-fi, nice backyard and common areas, are one of the things we have in our place.

Once again, we appreciate your nice words for our place and please feel free to join us whenever you are back in the country.

Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The place is filthy and a good place to have all your stuff stolen. I got bed bugs there. And a case of impetigo too. The loud music played till to the wee hours. The mean spirited desk clerks don't care about the guests at all. Good luck trying to use the dirty ill equipped kitchen the workers dominate it. And the dirty refrigerator is stuffed with the workers rotting food, good luck finding a place for yours. You will find much better hostels very close. Try Mi Casa instead. Not recommended. Stay clear warning!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Hello Gary.

Due to the previous problems we had, in which you caused an scandal with some guests and even a staff member, to avoid further problems we kindly asked you to leave the hostel to search for another hostel rather than to stay with us..

Even though whatever you have mentioned here are not true, we feel responsible to clear some points to our fellow travelers that may read this comment:

- We respect silence hours from 11pm to 8am, where is NOT allowed none to play music, to have parties or to even be in the backyard to cook, just to make sure that our guests can have a pleasant sleep.

- Regarding the refrigerator, we have deep cleaning two times a week, thus we have signs all over clearly saying "please label your food or it will be put away on the days of cleaning".

- All our receptionist do their best to provide the best Customer Service experience, being that one of our best qualities as you can see in other travelers comments.

- Also, by coming inside the hostel next to the main door, you can see the record of the fumigations we constantly do, this being said, we can assure we have NEVER had problems with bed bugs or any other plague at all.

We hope you will continue to have a good time during vacations, on the other hand, from our side we are gladly very satisfied with our decision to exclude you from our hostel so that we can continue to provide a nice and pleasant environment for our customers which we have always had.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

A cab driver pretty much scooped us into his cab and took us here. I was exhausted and confused I knew as soon as we walked in we were in the right place! They have fun music playing and you walk into the main lounge play area with a pool table we were greeted with a smile and it was a wonderful way to crash! Super friendly and helpful staff! Walking distance from where we needed to catch our busses. I will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank rancherasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words about both our staff. We at Aldea are always happy to hear that we´ve excelled to meet our customers needs and standards, as we come think of you all as family. Aldea Hostel´s prime central location is one of the biggest assets to the city and its guests and are happy its convenience was beneficial to you.

We are very pleased to have had you stay with us and hope to see you back during your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 78 in San Jose
300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
975 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 78 in San Jose
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#2 of 80 in San Jose
48 reviews
2.2 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 80 in San Jose
184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Selina San Jose
Selina San Jose
#11 of 80 in San Jose
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea San Jose

Address: Avenida 2 | Calle 28 100m south Pizza Hut Paseo Colon, in front of the Garbo Room, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: £11 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aldea San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Aldea San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing