We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No luck ”
Review of Aldea San Jose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aldea San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We got this hostel recommended by lonely planet but it's not a clean place to stay. We were just in the room behind reception that it was noise and staff wasn't friendly neither helpful.
Nothing special about pool or other hosted people.
Just a place to sleep if you have a quite room and you don't care about cleanness

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tito_Edu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and rating your stay with us at Aldea. All of which will be taken into consideration for the improvement of the facilities that we offer.

- Unfortunately like every very centrally located accommodation we have to contend with a bit of traffic noise here. We are terribly sorry about the noise of guests as well, people are always told to keep the noise down after 11pm, at time it is just incredibly difficult when there are alot of people. From now on, we will be more strict with the quiet hours policy.

- As Aldea Hostel, our staff must do their best in order to accomplish the satisfaction of our customers. We have detected the persons checked you in & out. They have been given a warning message.

- At Aldea, we make huge efforts to maintain the dorms, private rooms and common areas clean and tide, providing daily deep cleaning to the house. Also, we have monthly fumigation so we keep control of plagues, insects, and so. We will pay even more attention to this aspect since we take the cleaning of the house really serious.

Once again, we are deeply sorry to hear that you had unpleasant stay with us, and would like to extend our gratitude for briging all of this to our attention. We hope that you will reconsider your decision to visit us in the future.
Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have travelled for 16 years and stayed in hundreds of hostels and I think this may be the worst. I haven't marked it "terrible" though, as I only stayed one night so I may have well been unlucky.

1. Room was FILTHY when I got in there. Bins overflowing with used toilet paper, filthy floor. Had to get a cleaner to come and clean it. They insisted that the bed had been changed though as it was made - seemed improbable and the sheets were stained, so then had to ask them to change them. Next ones did not look clean either, so I used my sleeping bag. I didn't brave the shower as it was brown. Wonder when it was last painted - the walls were filthy too. However, when I complained they did clean and change things immediately and were apologetic.

2. There was a huge TV (I had a private double room) but no remote and no way to turn it on.

3. Room was so small there was no floor space to open my suitcase.

4. The worst bit was the noise. They didn't have proper windows and it was so loud I may as well have slept on the road. And I live in central London on a main road - this was a hundred times worse. After 4 hours of trying to sleep, I had to put my iPhone on full volume just to try and drown out the sounds of the traffic. Seriously - they need proper windows! I was being shocked awake every few minutes. Had about 3 hours of broken sleep in the end - for which I paid $30.

It seemed friendly enough and it may well suit people who have low standards, don't find dirt and grey walls depressing and are very drunk. It is certainly NOT worth $30...

The location is good for walking into central San Jose (about 15 mins) and there are nice restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: don't get one by the road - you will not sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonCat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director General at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hola LondonCat7!

Thank you for taking some of your time to give us such a detailed comment. We truly appreciate this from our customers since it makes us notice the points where we have to be stronger in order to provide the best service possible.

It is great to know that you were pleased with the location of our hostel which is privileged since we are close to all the bus terminals, 5 minute walk to downtown and all the interesting places to visit in the area.

Normally we let our customers to check in around 1pm, in order to give a well ready room. We are really sorry that this happened to you. We take the cleanliness of our facilities very seriously, since this is one of the most important aspects, we will be paying more attention.

Like every centrally located accommodation, we have to contend with a bit of traffic noise here. We have up to 11 ensuited rooms which are distributed in different parts of our mansion. From now on, upon arrival of customers, we will place them according to their needs and preferences in addition to that we will be paying more attention to the quiet hour policy.

Oncee again, we send you our sincere apologies for all the bad experiences you had during your stay with us at Aldea; on the other hand, once again we really appreciate you taking sometime to let us know in what we should improve.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The hostel is in a neat old Victorian house with awesome decorations and paintings. It has a large pool table and outdoor kitchen and patio area. Downsides...I thought the dorm room was realllllly dirty and each dorm room has a private bath which I doubt gets cleaned regularly because it was grimy foresure. It's also a bad layout having a small bathroom in close courters with the bunk beds. I thought the staff was pretty unhelpful. They were nice if course, but not helpful. There is a pizza restaurant attached so if you arrive in late at night it's a decent option if you aren't into the fast food chains nearby. Overall, I would not stay here again and would recommend other hostels if staying in San Jose.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saltchunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hey Saltchunk,

Thanks for the compliments given to our hostel! The style of the house is unique, beautiful and original paintings, good taste in the color combinations of the house, and the common areas, ideal for meeting and sharing with the other backpackers.

“The Corner Pizzeria” is a great option for having lunch or dinner and we are happy to know you have enjoyed it. Also, it has a 10% discount for our guests and they have a great service.

It’s a shame that you had a bad experience in the dorms, but eventhough we do daily cleaning and keep it all in the best shape possible for the comfort of our clients, sometimes is a little hard to maintain the dorm rooms in a perfect shape since they are usually pretty full and some people just don’t respect the order of the place. We will keep on doing our best to avoid this situation to occur so that everybody feels nice in the shared rooms.

The bathrooms are a little small is true, but we just wanted all our rooms to have their own bathroom so is more comfortable and accessible for everybody and so that people don’t have to wait long for using them.

Thank you once again for the feedback provided and we hope you have enjoyed your traveling in Costa Rica.

Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The bathrooms were dirty, the showers were moldy, there was hair build up in the corners. The water trickled down the walls in the shower closet. and I got spider bites during the one night that I stayed (this is after staying on a farm for two weeks with no bites and at the beach for a week with no bites).
The kitchen was sooooo dirty. I watched the cleaner "clean" the counters and stove, after her 30 second wipe down there were still large crumbs visible!!!
Plus, the common space art and flooring seems to be original and very cool looking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hello Rosie,

We are glad to know that you were charmed about the beautiful deco of our house! This colonial-like house attracts the looks of all our travelers for its unique style.

At Aldea, we make huge efforts to maintain the dorms, private rooms and common areas clean and tide, providing daily deep cleaning to the house. Also, we have monthly fumigation so we keep control of plagues, insects, and so. We will pay even more attention to this aspect since we take the cleaning of the house really serious.

We appreciate you taking some time to let us know in what we should improve and hope you enjoyed the life at Aldea!

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very nice and welcoming staff, clean dorms, pretty calm, nice kitchen full equiped, small courtyard snooker and good pizzeria! Ideally located close to the center and 3 minutes from the TICABUS station. Godd prices for the service!

Disfrute amigos! Jean-Arthur.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hola Jean!

We feel really flattered for all these good comments you have made about Aldea! It is really important to know that you had a pleasant stay with us during your time in San Jose! Every day our goal is to make our guests feeling like at home, by having a comfortable sleep, nice relaxing time playing some pool or just by cooking and sharing with others in the backyard.

Thanks for the nice feedback given, you are welcome back whenever you pass by the capital.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I spent 2 nights at Aldea, and was amazed at how laid back everyone was there!
The staff was particularly cool and helfpul.

I loved the pool table and the overall style of this place.

My room was a bit noisy (front street window), but it was ok.
Location was great (10 minute walk to downtown, and 2 minute walk to the amazing Grano de Oro restaurant).

I recommend this hostel to travelers on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OBM97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hey OBM97,

It is awesome to know that you have really liked and enjoyed our hostel in the heart of San Jose. The location of the place is privileged since we are close to all the bus terminals, 5 minute walk to downtown and all the interesting places to visit in the area.

Our staff members are always with the best attitude to attend our guest’s needs, these guys are smiling the whole time and willing to help with anything we can possibly do to make you feel like home.

We try to keep the rates accessible so that anybody can come and stay with us for a reasonable price.

Whenever you come back to San Jose, we will be waiting for you in your home away from home, Aldea Costa Rica.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

nice music when you enter, friendly staff. some even speak english. only 4 people per room, bathrooms and showers with hot water for each room.also comes with breakfast. and a really nice backyard area =)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bumblebeelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Hola Bumblebeelea,

Thanks for all the positive feedback! This motivates us to keep on doing a great job in our hostel. The staff is one of the best aspects of the place, all of them speak good English and have a great attitude towards the clients.

We try to have a really nice ambience, so that’s why we play a vast variety of music during the day, of course, respecting the silence hours so that everybody have a pleasant sleep.
Coffee in the mornings, hot water, free wi-fi, nice backyard and common areas, are one of the things we have in our place.

Once again, we appreciate your nice words for our place and please feel free to join us whenever you are back in the country.

Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#27 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
TripOn Open House
TripOn Open House
#1 of 82 in San Jose
187 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Garden Guesthouse
The Garden Guesthouse
#2 of 82 in San Jose
51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Selina San Jose
Selina San Jose
#8 of 82 in San Jose
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldea San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea San Jose

Address: Avenida 2 | Calle 28 100m south Pizza Hut Paseo Colon, in front of the Garbo Room, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Speciality Lodging in San Jose
Price Range: £15 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aldea San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aldea San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing