We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Hotel is clean and modern with full bar, restaurant and casino on premises. The rooms
are spacious and well appointed. It's location is a bit far from the centre of San Jose if u want to use it as a base to explore the city. It's only about 15 minutes to airport and hotel can arrange a shuttle so is very convenient for just overnight stays at start or end of visit to Costa Rica. About 20 to 25 minute walk to central mercado. Not a lot of restaurants nearby. Very close to Sabana park which is great to stroll around. Free international calls is a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matthew922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, Director of Sales at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Matthew912,
Thank you for your taking the time to write a note on Trip Advisor, it helps us big time to improve our service and areas we may want to tune up, I must tell you that our hotel does not offer a casino anymore, however we still have great food and rooms! Best regards, Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

This is a beautiful hotel and it has the most amazingly soft sheets and towels. The service is excellent. The restaurant was also excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Dear M H,

Greetings from San José, Costa Rica. Thank you very much for your beautiful review..we´re very very happy you liked our hotel and specificaly our sheets and towels....I hope we made you feel like home away from home! Thanks again and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

we stayed at the Tryp Sabana for one night as we first arrived in Costa Rica. the rooms are clean and wi-fi and breakfast are included. my only complaint is that we reserved a King and received a Queen, but honestly the room was nice and clean so we didnt even complain or ask for it to be corrected. it was great. The breakfast the next morning was wonderful and inlcluded in what we paid for the room which was very affordable. we had a transfer arranged before we arrived to pick us up at the aiport which was about 8:45pm. our flight was delayed an hour and he was there waiting with our name on a sign which was very nice after a long flight. they also arranged for a transfer to the local aiprt the necxyt morning.

overall very happy wth this hotel for our less than 24 hour stay. thanks!

Room Tip: ask to be aware from stairs/ it was kind of loud during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Kathryn,

Greetings from San José! thank you very much for your nice review....we appreciate pretty much taking the time to write positive things about our hotel..we try hard everyday to please our guests, and reading reviews like yours provides us information that we´re going the right direction. Very sorry to hear we assigned a queen bed instead of a king..if we knew about the incident we would have fixed it right away. Well, next time it won´t happen, I promise.
Yours truly,
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I had to overnight in SJ after a looong journey across the border from Nicaragua and this was the perfect haven. Extremely welcoming, clued-up staff who had plenty of suggestions, booked a very smooth transfer to my next destination (Arenal) and really looked after me as a woman travelling on my own. The little guy who welcomed me into the lobby was a real gem, especially when he showed me up to the room with my mountain of luggage.
The restaurant had lovely food and wine.
The room itself was great.... extremely comfortable and I had a very good night's sleep.
This place has got things right, bravo.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samba-jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Samba-Jo,

Hola! what a beautiful review!!..I will make sure the "little-guy" Don Mario reads it, he will be very happy...Thanks again for your time...and for your positive comments. We look forward to wine and dine you in the near future!
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The staff was super friendly. We had a coupon for a free room upgrade and we got this amazing suite with wrap around windows. Such an amazing view. The room was clean, the breakfast was good and it was only a few block walk to both the Avenida Central (pedestrian-only street mall)/Plaza de la Cultura and Sabana Park. Definitely a good location for a one night stay.
The only thing that was less than optimal about my stay was the noise at night. The traffic noise wasn't bad, but on the 5th floor we could still clearly hear people outside, because there was some sort of rave at a club that sat in the same building as the hotel. However, with ear plugs in, I slept pretty well!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, Director of Sales at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear JennyL,
Thank you for your taking the time to write a note on Trip Advisor, it helps us big time to improve our service and areas we may want to tune up, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our food, room and location, I am very glad to tell you that we are currently working in the windows to make it more comfortable to sleep for our guests, hopefully pretty soon we will have a more silent hotel! Best regards, Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights - one at the beginning at one at the end of our G Adventures family tour. Nice place. Checked in and out easily enough. Our first room was good - comfy, clean and modern. We ate wraps with fries at the hotel restaurant (as the buffet seemed a little pricey) which was good. On the last night of our tour we got a corner room and the view of San Jose at night was spectacular! Again the room was great but Shower floor was slippery though and my daughter fell. We liked this place - it's a good place to stay in SJ. One thing though, the free international calls didn't work. We got a strange tone before making calls and even though it sounded like the call was going through and ringing, it wasn't. This happened both nights we tried and staff weren't really interested in the problems we had trying to connect. Other than that though we would recommend this place. We didn't have any time to experience San Jose so I can't comment on location etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlr519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear guest,

Greetings from sunny Costa Rica. Thank you very much for your nice review...I´m sorry to hear your daughter slipped in the shower...I assume she´s ok? Due to your review, today I approved the purchase order to buy anti-slippery mats for the showers...in order to prevent another accident, thanks again for your constructive suggestion. It´s a shame also to hear the int´ phone system didn´t work, I just made a phone call and it went through from my office, so I will investigate what´s happening in the rooms. Thanks again and please let us know if you are coming down here again...Yours truly,
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Had 2 night here and paid 86 dollars pr night including breakfast (which were ok).
They have a small gym, but no pool.
Rooms were small but clean with big tv and international channels.
We liked the hotel and thought it was good value for money.
The hotel is a 15-20min walk from the center of the town, but it was fine with us, because we found it more attractive than the center.
The windows are not tight so there was noise from the streets outside...it didn't bother us but if you wake up easily I could imagine it could be a problem.
We would probably have rated the hotel 3.5 if it was possible, but as 3 is a bit on the low side we give it 4

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jegerenlampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Hello...thanks for taking the time and writing a review of our hotel..we´re always trying to improve in everything and with the help and feedback from our guests is a lot easier. Thank you very much on behalf of the entire staff of the Tryp by Wyndham Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#11 of 78 in San Jose
1,580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £55 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing