We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 6 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
1  Thank Ding L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel is OK, but could do with some freshening up. The Wi-Fi in room 601 works sporadically if at all. Hotel is aware but offers no solution. There is no fridge in room in which to place my insulin. I had to make do by keeping it in the ice bucket with ice cubes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
1  Thank Fulvio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I chose to stay here for location, but was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff and the modern decor. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and I loved the breakfast menu (included!). Great hotel if you are staying in San José, close to restaurants and La Sabana park wich is ideal for jogging. I would recommend this place to a friend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Felipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel was nice, room was clean, and breakfast buffet was a huge plus, except there was construction on the floor below us that started at 6:45AM! It's in a decent location for enjoying nightlife but if you want to stay out until 2AM, the last thing you want is to hear hammering and drilling right under you hours before a normal work day would even start. It took three complaints before anything was done about the noise. We called reception twice then by 7:30AM went down in person to complain. Management had no idea what was going on, it was the maid that informed them that there was construction right below our room. It was nearly an hour before the noise subsided. It would have been much better if construction did not start until 9AM, not the crack of dawn. It's a HOTEL where people SLEEP.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel was a nice, clean hotel that you would expect from a Wyndham property. The beds were rather comfortable and the front door service was top notch. It is in a rather lackluster and, at night at least, somewhat questionable neighborhood and I did not feel comfortable walking back from the downtown area to the hotel past dusk.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank mcshortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here on our first night in .Costa Rica .It is quite near to the airport in a busy area . It is secure-has guards outside the entrance. Check in was fast and smooth and staff pleasant. Lifts have a security feature too as you have to swipe your room keycard to get it to accept the floor you are going to.
Our room was fairly long and spacious with A/C and was quiet as it was at the back away from the street but had no view, just concrete buildings to be seen. It was clean,had large flat screen TV ,Coffee maker, phone and a safe also free wi-fi. Bathroom had a spacious shower and a toilet ( as is usual toilet paper has to go in bin, not down loo) There was a separate sink/vanity area with plenty space to lay out toiletries etc.
Breakfast was a buffet and was nice-plenty fresh fruit,cereal or cooked items to choose from.
There is no pool nor Spa but it does have a gym.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one at the back as our friends one was at the front and noiser.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a very nice,business oriented hotel. Ask for a room that doesnt face the street to avoid the noise (only in the daytime). Within walking distance of Machu Pichu restaurant which is fantastic. Breakfast is fantastic. gallo pinto is perfect (unless it is at room temperature). the fruit especially papaya, is good. The coffee is great. I had the greek salad in the bar,not as good as I hoped for. The drinks at happy hour are perfect(I had a cosmo). The internet computer is almost always available. I did not go, but I heard there is a great market down the street. We went for a walk in the Sabana park nearby and it was very nice and safe. This is a very civilized area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 77 in San Jose
961 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £54 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing