We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Umberleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A short stopover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed her as part of our pre-arranged itinerary to Costa Rica and four Central American countries to the north. Only one night. Very urban setting which not every one cares for. Very good welcome, good room on seventh floor facing the setting sun. En-suite facilities could have been better (more room, tub). Evening meal was not covered in tour arrangements and a bit expensive. Excellent buffet breakfast but attentive staff on hand to help.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    396
    157
    40
    13
See reviews for
158
285
74
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We enjoyed our first stay with Tryp Sabana. Our second stay was on the 9th floor facing east. It was very windy and the windows rattled all night long. The pipes also made noises every time a toilet was flushed. Our first stay was much nicer than the second stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
257 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Nice, helpful staff, good location, clean and well appointed rooms. We had no noise issues, as noted by others, from the nightclub.
Only regret was the box breakfast. We were to leave at 6 am so the hotel "prepared " a box which, they told one of our group, would contain a sandwich, fruit, etc. When we got the box, it was a little white bag and it had snack packs of peanuts, crackers and a power bar from 1920 (ie, stale). Lousy and offensive, could have easily been better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel is nice and clean. The restaurant is good. The staff of very helpful and friendly. They will sell you Colones if you need them, and they will book long distance transportation and suggest day trips. transportation service is convenient. However, the water is the sink was backed up the entire time, the silverware was dirty, and the driver of the shuttle service didnt want to pick us up from anywhere we were dropped off.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kirby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed here twice on our trip when we had to spend a night in SJ, and couldn't have been happier. Jorge at reception was excepionally friendly and helpful. The rooms we got were top notch, very comfy beds, big bathroom, clean etc, and all this at a very decent price.
The on-site restaurant is actually excellent, far exceeding my expectations. My GF had a great seabass and I the tuna tartare, both really very nice (and big portions to boot). The breakfast was also very good. On one of the days a chef was actually making your omelettes right in front of you.
We didn't really explore the surroundings, but the comments about being in walking distance to the center appear a little fancyful. But taxis are cheap and safer than walking some parts of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lachbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel twice, at the beginning and end of my trip to Costa Rica, and enjoyed my stay very much. The restaurant is excellent, the beds exceedingly comfortable and free phone calls (inc international) and wifi a real plus. The only downside is the on-site/neighbouring nightclub - the music can be heard throughout the hotel. All night long. But I gather it isn't a regular event.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Tamarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Property: Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing