We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Tryp Sabana. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel clerks were friendly, and spoke excellent English. The restaurant had a great tapas menu. We just weren't crazy about San Jose. We didn't feel comfortable leaving the hotel at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Mr. Jill E,

Greetings from San Jose. This is just a little note to thank you for taking the time and writing such an honest and nice review of our property, I will make sure the entire staff reads it since this will make them extremely happy. Thanks again and I hope you have a safe trip back home.
Esteban Oreamuno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in the Tryp as part of a package trip to Costa Rica. The first and last nights were in the Tryp Sabana. My first stay was in a large, very well-appointed room. My second stay was in an extremely small, cubbyhole of a room. Since I travel to visit a new environment and not to stay in a hotel room the small room was also satisfactory. If all you want to do in a hotel room this small version was fine. Both rooms were clean and the hotel facilities were fine. In short I would stay at the Tryp again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmigoCostaRica, Gerente at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear TOG11,

Greetings from rainy Costa Rica! thank you very much for your honest and detailed review. Yes, we have some rooms that are smaller than the average..we use them in high occupancy nights..the small rooms make you feel you are in a hotel in Europe! :)
Esteban

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a weekday as part of a tour group. Since the hotel was paid by the tour company, I cannot speak to price our value. Multi-lingual staff, very friendly and secure. Good location.
We were told there is a disco next door that gets loud and goes late on the weekends, but I cannot verify.
Good food in lobby, and just a mile or so to the town's center. Very close to multiple American fast food chains.
I recommend, and would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mrtommy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Mrtommy74,

Hi! thank you very much for your nice and honest review..I´m glad you had a great time here with us.

Sincereley,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
Thank Ooi C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2014

At the end of a tour so we were a bit tired when we arrived. Large unimpressive square building in the centre of city which has shopping arcade underneath. Reception is quite small and was very busy but the receptionist was excellent. Our room was very strange in its layout with a long corridor from the bed to the window, felt like it had been botched together. It was clean and quiet with a decent bathroom but it looked out over industrial rooftops. The restaurant would have been good but there was a live football match featuring Costa Rica on the tv with the sound up very loud so it completely spoilt the ambience, I am a big footy fan as well. Not too impressed by San Jose either when we walked out so all in all not recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraemeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tryp Hotels
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The most important for me is safety, leave any value in the room without having to worry about having it stolen :(, without such security how can I enjoy the hotel or go outside to enjoy the city?

The ipad lost was reported, but what happened with the security cameras, they works?
they don´t have anything and the indication was the housekeeping employee have a long time working there, for me doesn´t matter, the ipad wasn´t at the room and nobody give me a good response!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 77 in San Jose
1,486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 77 in San Jose
961 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range: £54 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing