We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    396
    157
    40
    13
See reviews for
158
285
74
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good points: 1. Rooms vary in size but all are well appointed with comfortable beds.
2. Breakfast buffet is fabulous. 3. Has work out room 4. Front desk help is friendly and knowledgable

Bad points: 1. outside traffic is very loud so bring ear plugs (unless you're expecting a wake up call). 2. Bar on street level can have rowdy patrons in early morning hours, so get a room away from there. Overall, the front side next to the street is not conducive to a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosewards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmigoCostaRica, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Rosewards,

Hola. Greetings from San Jose, Costa Rica. Thank you very much for your kind review..I will share it with the entire staff.

Regards,
Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very well located close to the Saban Park. This park is good for running, walking anc practicing sports.
Rooms very clean and safe hotel.
Cost benefit is noted. We quoted many hotels in Costa Rica and this one has the bast price for what it is offered.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Eduardo,

Hola! greetings from San José! Thank you very much for your email. I appreciate your comments. Warm regards,
Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have lived in Costa Ruca for 13 years. I owned a small hotel and am a French trained chef. The breakfast was one if the best "free" buffets I have had in a SJ hotel. The sheets are amazing. The desk clerk at night was so polite (male) and gave me an upgrade (for nothing, even though I didnt have tennis shoes to run the treadmil). Enormous TV. Very centrally located!!! Now the downfalls: morning female desk clerk did not smile once. The bathroom ceiling tiles are office tiles from the 60's, but the worst was the NOISE! I did not sleep one wink and was in the 8th floor!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vistadelparaiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
To Whom it may concern,

Greetings from Tryp Sabana. Thanks for your detailed review. I will definitely share this with my work mates since there´s a lot of important feedback in your words. We are very close from investing sound proof windows for the 8th and 9th floor. Coming soon!
Esteban Oreamuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Tryp Sabana. The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel clerks were friendly, and spoke excellent English. The restaurant had a great tapas menu. We just weren't crazy about San Jose. We didn't feel comfortable leaving the hotel at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eoreamuno, General Manager at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Mr. Jill E,

Greetings from San Jose. This is just a little note to thank you for taking the time and writing such an honest and nice review of our property, I will make sure the entire staff reads it since this will make them extremely happy. Thanks again and I hope you have a safe trip back home.
Esteban Oreamuno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
220 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed in the Tryp as part of a package trip to Costa Rica. The first and last nights were in the Tryp Sabana. My first stay was in a large, very well-appointed room. My second stay was in an extremely small, cubbyhole of a room. Since I travel to visit a new environment and not to stay in a hotel room the small room was also satisfactory. If all you want to do in a hotel room this small version was fine. Both rooms were clean and the hotel facilities were fine. In short I would stay at the Tryp again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmigoCostaRica, Gerente at Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear TOG11,

Greetings from rainy Costa Rica! thank you very much for your honest and detailed review. Yes, we have some rooms that are smaller than the average..we use them in high occupancy nights..the small rooms make you feel you are in a hotel in Europe! :)
Esteban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
845 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
922 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.8 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#15 of 85 in San Jose
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana

Property: Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana
Address: Avenida 3 Calle 38 y 40, San Jose 433-1007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tryp by Wyndham San Jose Sabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing