We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything I Needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ritzli

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ritzli
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything I Needed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I wanted a quiet and not overly expensive place to stay for a couple nights in San Jose before moving on to begin my experience in Costa Rica for real. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and wasn't annoyed with my attempts to communicate in very broken Spanish. The location is not in a beautiful neighborhood, a few sketchy characters visible but not unsafe. Just a few blocks from the central part of town without the noise. Street noise was minimal and I slept just fine. There was a safe in the room and a hot shower with good water pressure, cable with a lot of channels. Fan only but that was fine for me as it was fairly cool in the evening. Good breakfast in the morning. A little pricier than some other options but a nice place to keep to yourself and get yourself together before moving on from San Jose.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Rooms and especially bathrooms are small, but everything is very clean. Very convenient location to downtown and the central market. Staff is exceptionally friendly.The breakfast is alright - ham and eggs, toast and jam, fresh fruit. If you expect more - pay a higher price and book a different hotel. Like I said - fair value for money

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the tail end of a Lindblad/National Geographic Panama Canal/CR islands and parks "expedition". The Ritzli is centrally located, within easy walking distance of the main sights in San Jose, what there are of them that is. The staff is cheerful and helpful and the rates are cheap.
Our room had a safe, flat screen TV, and a quiet area fan. The bed had clean linens, but was in sore need of a new mattress. Only cold water was piped to the sink. The hotel could use a renovation or at least a paint job.
Breakfast was included, simple but adequate: good coffee, juice, fresh bread, eggs to order and delicious fresh pineapple.
In summary if your looking for the Ritz, this is not it. However if you're young in age or heart and on a tight budget, you may find it a good value.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room on the back side of the hotel. No view. I suspect rooms that look out on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrodoEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed here at the end of a group tour. The general consensus of the group was that the rooms were unclean.
Upon arrival I had a shower in the bathroom which was no larger than 2m by 2.5m which consisted of a shower and toilet with the basin in the bed room. The shower drain smelt like urine and there was no cutain in the bath room so the rooms adjacent to the courtyard could see through to the bathroom.
The bed sheets were clearly not washed as it had someone else's hair on it and the pillows were extremely old and way passed there used by date.
The location was in a rough street I would not recommend walking alone at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annette-geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Jose hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at this place for a night before venturing out to other areas of Costa Rica. The photos online looked pretty good, but the room ended up being a disappointment. There was no top sheet on the bed - only a bottom sheet and a comforter that was clearly not washed with each use. The bathroom was clean but very run-down with bandaid fixes, and the floor mats and rugs were stained and dirty. No A/C , and you can find much better places for $50, especially in Alajeula. On the plus side, the owner was nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starbuck02140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I have stayed at the Ritzli 4 times now. I go there when I have appointments at Clinica Biblica and want to shop downtown. The hotel is just 4 blocks north of Biblica, 4 blocks south of the major shopping area on Calle Central. It is possible to walk from the Ritzli to the Coca Cola bus station area (it is a good long walk, but not difficult).
The staff at the Ritzli are very kind and helpful. The hotel is always clean and quiet. There are rooms located near the front of the hotel adjacent to Calle Central, but I've always received a room well off the street. They offer a free sparse continental breakfast in the morning (usually just toast, juice and coffee. On my last visit they included fresh fruit.). I ordered a real breakfast once and found it to be overpriced for what I received. Best to just grab something in one of the local restaurants if you need a hearty meal.
They have allowed me to stow my luggage when I knew my appts. were going to run long.
I appreciate having a safe convenient, quiet, clean space to stay when I must visit downtown San Jose. It's where I will continue to stay when in that part of the city. Note that beds are full size. Sheets are not cotton. Bring your own shampoo. A couple of the rooms have the bathroom adjacent to your room rather than opening into your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room well back from Calle Central. Some bathrooms are quite small. If you need a large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EliseChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Convenient location. Able to walk to downtown sights and shops. Affordable hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
Hotel Casa Roland San Jose
#27 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#59 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritzli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritzli

Property: Hotel Ritzli
Address: Calle 0 , avenida 8-10 | 250 Mts Sur del Parque central, San Jose 10000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ritzli offers one of the best locations for seeing the capital of Costa Rica – San José. Owing to our well-known hospitality, Hotel Ritzli has been the meeting point for thousands of travelers that have visited Costa Rica. Ritzli Hotel offers 16 contemporary rooms distributed among three floors. Each room is easily accessible and comes with a private bathroom and views of the capital. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing