We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must to go!!”
Review of Machu Picchu

Machu Picchu
Ranked #161 of 648 Restaurants in San Jose
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
São Paulo, Brasil
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Must to go!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Must to go, its just amazing! My first time was in 2004! And every time I go back to Cuzco, I go to Machu Pichu!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fsdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Peruvian Food”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Tucked away in a corner of San Pedro, this restaurant has some of the best Peruvian food I have tasted. The ambience is cozy (they have an outdoor seating area and a little play yard for kids), service is great, prices are reasonable, but best of all the food is great!!

Try their appetizers (octopus, and other seafood), and for entrees try the Secco lamb (fantastic, cilantro curry style tender lamb), or one of the sea-bass specials. My colleagues had steak and they said it was very good too.

I went there twice in two trips to CR and highly recommend it.

Prices will likely range about $16-$20 per person (including one drink, service charge and tip).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SVG108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perhaps it was a bit too late for there to be any vibe at all...”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Absolutely excellent seafood. Very high quality. However the ambience was quite drab and the waiter may have taken advantage of me some, but that's probably my fault. My wife and I ended up with two separate plates of octopus versus one plate for two people. In other words, LOTS of octopus... We would have been more than fine sharing a plate for 1. Oh well. Food was outstanding...maybe a little pricey, probably worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AMork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pisco Sour”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Went to this place near our hotel in Sabana for a late evening drink and snack, and found one of the best Pisco Sours I've ever had. The Papa Rellena and the Papas a la Huancaina were both delicious, and enough for a light meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food and ambience”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I went to both: San Pedro and paseo colon. San Pedro is more formal, though still casual, paseo colon much livelier and open. I prefer the latter. All the food was great, mine and my companions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jackietrehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Machu Picchu also viewed

San Pedro, Province of San Jose
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
Curridabat, San Jose Metro
 
San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Machu Picchu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing