We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and excellent host !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Abierta B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Abierta B&B
Ranked #6 of 67 San Jose B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location and excellent host !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

It was very nice location since you can walk to downtown and nice neighborhood area!
The owner was an amazing person. I could easily stay a week to hear his stories and finding out what his projects over there! It was trasure to meet him :) Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpringMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
67
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

Words cannot describe the level of care and hospitality Darrylle gives his guest. I was originally suppose to fly into Liberia, due to plane issues I had a last minute detour to San Jose and I need a place to stay for one night. I contacted D, really late the night before I was due to arrive. I told him my sob story and asked if he had room. Luckily he did, it was the best night ever. He picked me up from the airport and made me broccoli soup on the cold and rainy day I arrived. It was just so perfect. Later that evening he made me and the other guest, beans and rice with spicy chicken mole followed by a night of great conversation. If you want feel like being around friends and family I say stay with Darrylle. He is more than a host. I would recommend him as the only place to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colorful c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

If you are planning a visit to San Jose, I highly recommend that you stay with Darrylle at Casa Abierta. The house is beautiful and comfortable, centrally located, and Darrylle is a flawless host. You will wake to smells of fresh baking, as breakfast consists of homemade banana bread and muffins, delicious platters of fresh fruit, and even homemade jam! Also, if there is anything you need, Darrylle seems to have the answers. He readily assists with helping to book tours, arrange taxis, suggest restaurants....your whole experience of San Jose and perhaps even Costa Rica will be enriched by meeting him. So book....and enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

I stayed in Casa Abierta for 2 nights and loved it. This was my first time staying with a host and I was pretty apprehensive, but Darylle (host) has such a warm and pleasant persona about him, it put me to ease. His home is lovely and well furnished - quite airy and has lots of light. The building itself is secure and the neighborhood is great. I walked alone in the night to a mall close-by to grab food and felt very safe. The house is close to centro (about 15 minutes walk, 5 min cab ride) but still away from all the hustle of San Jose. A cab from centro to his house cost me $5.
The house was very comfortable and the beds are super awesome. I had my best sleep in Costa Rica here. There was another bedroom but didn't have any guests.
Darylle was a great conversationist, and he is very well travelled. Its great to talk to him during breakfast and while having tea in his patio. Also, he has a great book collection :)
I have no cons about this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swordfish82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Darrylle was an amazing host. He was very warm and welcoming and offered friendly travelling advice. The room was spotless, the bed the most comfortable one we had in costa rica, and the service excellent. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nadia h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Perfect is the only way I can describe our two nights at Casa Abierta. The home is absolutely beautiful. I say home, because that is how we felt from the minute Darrylle picked us up at the airport.The property speaks for itself, clean, beautiful, spacious and relaxing.
Our host, Darrylle, has to be one of the most interesting, friendly and loving people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. We actually decided to spend our nights staying in to enjoy his company, along with delicious food, wine, all served up in his beaurtif home (Darrylle makes excellent Margaritas too!) We actually returned on the last night of our trip becasue we had such a wonderful time. The location was perfect, situated in a quiet neighborhood and within walking distance of all the important sites in San Jose.
So again, our experience.....perfect. And I happy to say that I have made a freind for life. Thank you Darrylle!!

Room Tip: They are the best rooms in San Jose, so how do you choose?? The 2 rooms upstairs are identical. Howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sazzlejo1
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Staying at Casa Abierta was the perfect end to a six week trip in Central America. Located in a safe and super convenient neighbourhood, within walking distance of Downtown, the University and lots of bars and restaurants, Casa Abierta itself is a peaceful and unique house with large comfortable rooms, beds and powerful hot showers (very welcome!) The outside extension to the living room was a lovely place to chat to Darylle over coffee. Darylle really made our stay in San Jose, helping with everything from restaurant recommendations, running routes and taking us to the airport before 6am. Darylle is committed to ensuring that his guests have a fantastic experience. From the home made banana bread and jam at breakfast, the comfiest pillows on our trip and the honest and inspiring conversations we had, our experience of Casa Abierta is one we would definitely recommend.

September 2011

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazzlejo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Cambranes
Hotel Casa Cambranes
#13 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Casa Orquideas
3.2 mi away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
3.5 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Abierta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Abierta B&B

Property: Casa Abierta B&B
Address: Barrio Dent, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in the suburbs of Santa Ana and Escazu, far from cultural activities and requiring expensive taxis through heavy traffic to get you where you want to go? We are located in one of the best neighborhoods in the heart of the city - centrally located, safe, quiet and within walking distance to the University of Costa Rica, galleries, museums, parks, theaters, cinemas, fine restaurants, shopping areas and excellent public transportation. At the end of our street is a lovely park that runs along a creek for several blocks. Relax and immerse yourself in the beauty of our home's tranquil, multicultural and open-minded ambiance. Breakfast on fresh tropical fruits, homemade breads and jams, organic cereals, yogurts and rich Costa Rican coffee, share some stories, explore ideas on how we can develop a better world and enjoy an intimate inside experience of what life can be like in Costa Rica. Casa Abierta is well organized and clean, but relaxed, warm and meant to be enjoyed. Great conversation and daily breakfast are included. Laundry services are available upon request. Although not intrusive on your privacy, our host is available to share interesting conversations and meals and assist you in any way. Easy access to all forms of public transportation. We provide safe, comfortable and efficient airport transfers for a fee and can book other tours and transportation needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing