We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to start and/or end your round trip in Costa Rica!”
Review of Casa Abierta B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Abierta B&B
Ranked #9 of 68 San Jose B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

A perfect place to start and/or end your round trip in Costa Rica:
Quiet room, amazing breakfast, good and safe location and great hospitality!

Thank you Darrylle & Mary! You were great hosts!

Niamh & Alwyn

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niamhje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! This home is clean, comfortable, designed beautifully, and most of all charming . . . in every way. Darrylle is the perfect host, breakfast is fabulous, and there isn't a thing he has missed. This is definitely a fond memory and a place I recommend without reservation. What a treat!

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shar5809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here whilst on our honeymoon. Darrylle has a beautiful home and he is an amazing host who made us feel at home from the moment we arrived.

This place is amazing for the price! Our stay was perfect. Darrylle advised us on things to do,sites of interest, restaurants, shopping tips, called tour companies, taxis etc We felt very sad to leave Casa Abierta.

The room we stayed in was beautiful, very clean, spacious and very comfortable . Darrylle kept some luggage for us whilst we travelled around Costa Rica. Maria made the most delicious Gallo Pinto and breakfast was the BEST we had in Costa Rica...a variety of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, muesli, juice, home made banana bread, coffee....so much ! Darrylle took us to the outdoor weekend market and seeing all the fresh fruits and vegetable and locals shopping was a wonderful experience


We would definitely stay at Casa Abierta again. Thanks again Maria and Darylle for a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SharelJagroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a very positive experience staying at Casa Abierta. The house itself is beautiful; we were greeted kindly by Darrylle (with tea and homemade cookies, no less), and we really felt that it was a safe and comfortable place to stay. Breakfast was also as amazing as they all promised it would be!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annie1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We would agree with all the other reviews which say how great Casa Abierta is. Darrylle is a fantastic host with a beautiful home which is in a lovely, safe area of San Jose. We stayed for 2 nights in Sep before travelling around the country for 2 weeks,

There are lovely restaurants which were recommended by Darrylle that are within walking distance and the city centre is a pleasant 15mins walk. Breakfast was the best we had anywhere in costa rica! We couldn't recommend anywhere more highly to stay when in San Jose.

Room Tip: There are only 2 other rooms (as far as I know) and they are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gigglybebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have nothing but good things to say about our stay with Darrylle. We needed one night at the start and finish of our vacation in Costa Rica, since we fly in/out of San Jose. Darrylle's home is ideal for a couple, singles or a small group of friends. He is very friendly, respectful and is open to deep conversation, making our time with him more fulfilling than if we'd stayed at a hotel. He provided airport transportation for $40 a ride, plus a wonderful breakfast, drinks and homemade cookies for snacks. Darrylle retires to his room at 7pm but we were free to go in & out as needed for dinner or the ATM nearby. His neighborhood is clean & safe, with a lot of restaurants in walking distance. The accommodations are very charming and comfortable - more than expected. We especially enjoyed spending time on the patio listening to the fountain & watching the flashes of lightening. Very quiet and relaxing.

Enjoy your stay at Casa Abierta!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J_Tonnelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Casa Abierta is a very comfortable and peaceful home in a safe neighbourhood in San Jose. The rooms are airy and spacious, with a nice terrace garden to enjoy a good book or a chat with Darrylle, who is an excellent host - knowledgeable, friendly and full of wonderful stories. I had a fantastic stay here - this really is "5 star" standard, and the breakfast each morning was quite possibly the finest and most generous I've had anywhere. Highly recommended - I can't fault it on any level, with many thanks to Darrylle and Maria for making me feel so at home. Already looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BriClo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
998 reviews
2.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
966 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 78 in San Jose
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Casa Lima B & B
Casa Lima B & B
#2 of 68 in San Jose
191 reviews
6.2 mi away
La Boruca
La Boruca
#7 of 68 in San Jose
158 reviews
1.3 mi away
Exe San Jose Center
Exe San Jose Center
#1 of 68 in San Jose
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Abierta B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Abierta B&B

Address: Barrio Dent, San Jose, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in San Jose
Price Range: £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why stay in the suburbs of Santa Ana and Escazu, far from cultural activities and requiring expensive taxis through heavy traffic to get you where you want to go? We are located in one of the best neighborhoods in the heart of the city - centrally located, safe, quiet and within walking distance to the University of Costa Rica, galleries, museums, parks, theaters, cinemas, fine restaurants, shopping areas and excellent public transportation. At the end of our street is a lovely park that runs along a creek for several blocks. Relax and immerse yourself in the beauty of our home's tranquil, multicultural and open-minded ambiance. Breakfast on fresh tropical fruits, homemade breads and jams, organic cereals, yogurts and rich Costa Rican coffee, share some stories, explore ideas on how we can develop a better world and enjoy an intimate inside experience of what life can be like in Costa Rica. Casa Abierta is well organized and clean, but relaxed, warm and meant to be enjoyed. Great conversation and daily breakfast are included. Laundry services are available upon request. Although not intrusive on your privacy, our host is available to share interesting conversations and meals and assist you in any way. Easy access to all forms of public transportation. We provide safe, comfortable and efficient airport transfers for a fee and can book other tours and transportation needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing