We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hostel Casa Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Casa Colon
Ranked #27 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Hostel Casa Colon was in a great location, not too far from the airport and walking distance to downtown San Jose as well as the park. We had a superior double private room and it was very spacious and clean with a king size bed. The staff was nice enough and it comes with a breakfast in the morning of your choice of continental or traditional. A good place to stay while passing through San Jose.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
There are newer reviews for Hostel Casa Colon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

After a miserable bus ride from Nicaragua that seemed to take a day longer than planned, we were sooooo relieved when we walked into this place!! I'm rightfully hesitant when it comes to hostels in San Jose after my first talk with a guy that said he even keeps a knife with him in the showers for self defense, but this was definitely more of a hotel than a hostel. Probably the best shower I"ve had in Central America, walking distance from the TicaBus San Jose station (even at night it's only a few blocks down decently lit streets), clean, comfy beds, and a huge TV if you care. We got off the bus later in the evening and only spent one night, but food was decent at the in-house restaurant, wifi available, and the lobby was super comfortable. In fact, knowing we were waking up to another miserable bus ride the next day, we almost considered staying just one more relaxing night in San Jose….

Room Tip: You're in downtown San Jose next to busy intersections - just drink a glass of wine and ignore t...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keakua17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed there one night, it was fine, the room was spacious and clean, we had 2 showers in the bathroom, only one had hot water. The staff is not really friendly or helpful though. The breakfast was okay, but a little more consistent would of been nice.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Julietitap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I do not complaint about the staff, just the space. I had read about it in a previous review, I thought "well, let's see what happens". We asked for a private double basic, there is a premium (I think it's called); the difference between the two, they said, is the bed size. The space was pretty tight, and I mean, there was not even 1 meter from one side of the bed and the wall, and from the other side, none.
The bathroom is an addition and it's a plank, so you can hear all sounds (I point it out for people who have a problem with this)

The sink is in the room, in front of the bed. Ours had a leak, it was taken care of after we left because we only stayed one night.

I think it's a very closed environment, not a lot of windows.

It was clean, and we had a room in the back so there was little noise from the street.

Room Tip: Get the premium if you can, maybe it's bigger
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I've stayed in hostel casa colon twice now and both times I've been blown away by the beautiful building, quiet atmosphere, and friendly staff. While is a little more costly than most hostels, it is well worth it and I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbit2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I don't have any complaints about this place! ok, maybe one..

The place is clean and comfy, the front desk staff were really nice and I felt comfortable and safe. (I was there by myself). Also, the pictures they have only are accurate.

It is a few stores from a super market and some cowboy shops (they sold cowboy stuff) and a few blocks from the shopping area.

I truly dislike San Jose, CR because it reminds me of the Bronx, NY on Fordham RD however, this place was really nice and I enjoyed my night stay.

There were some workers relaxing when I arrived. I didn't like this because it looked unprofessional however, they were in the back near the kitchen awaiting customers and I just happened to need the bathroom so I had to walk past them. The were not rude or unfriendly, it was just unexpected on my part (partly because I am used to NYC and DC life but mostly because I am an HR professional).

Cost+ atmosphere= good cheap living!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I duly recommended, staff very helpful, rooms were clean and will be cleaned if asked. arrived late at night and put us in the first available room.The hostel is within walking distance to the city, bus station, supermarket, restaurants, and parks. Hostel has a unique charm with detailed wooden banister. price also includes breakfast. WIFI Great no problems found.

Suggestions to improve one's stay: better lighting in rooms, more attention is needed for cleaner washrooms and showers.

Room Tip: For an extra $2 choose the breakfast option. rooms in the ground floor towards the back are fairly s...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#55 of 77 in San Jose
496 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 77 in San Jose
112 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 77 in San Jose
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 77 in San Jose
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Hotel Fleur de Lys
#26 of 77 in San Jose
495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cocori
Hotel Cocori
#54 of 77 in San Jose
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £13 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing