We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, nice owner”
Review of Hostel Casa Colon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostel Casa Colon
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Positive: The service by the owner and the ladies at the front desk was excellent. Very helpful and nice. The Junior Suite was very big and comfortable.

Negative: The breakfast was tiny and the juice not always fresh. Also, it rained very strong one night and the ceiling was leaking on the bed and on the floor. The other guests were a bit noisy at times during the night, but it did not especially affect my sleep fortunately.

In general, I was pretty satisfied for choosing this hostel as a single woman. I felt safe and very well taken care of.

Room Tip: The Junior suite 202 with the big bed (small bathroom) was excellent and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Eve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Gerente at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Hola Eve,

Nos complace saber que le encanto nuestro hostal y nuestros servicios, le pedimos disculpas debido al inconveniente con la gotera en su habitación, lamentablemente estamos en temporada de lluvia y estos problemas empiezan a surgir, sin embargo ya hemos solucionado el inconveniente y le recordamos que la esperamos con los brazos abiertos en Hostel Casa Colón, su casa en Costa Rica.

Saludos Cordiales!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Enjoyed Casa Colon. Beautiful old family home converted into hotel/hostal. Only problems were noise in streetside units due to extremely heavy traffic and slippery floors in shower stalls. Very comfortable with good beds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gymwhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Recepcionista at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We hope see you again in Hostel Casa Colón for us always is a pleasure attend you!!

Best Regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We got a private room, facing the Scotiabank ATM. We felt safe in the area, our room was clean, and the breakfast was fantastic. The staff were not as amiable as we had read, but they were helpful in answering our questions.

Casa Colon arranged for a driver to pick us up from the airport, which cost around $28 USD. Breakfast was included.

For the price, it was average, but it's convenient for flights that land later in the day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Recepcionista at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014
Google Translation

Hola Sophia, lamentamos que no todo el servicio superara sus expectativas, sin embargo nos agrada saber que su habitación siempre estuvo limpia y esta fue de su agrado, respecto al servicio del personal haremos todo lo posible por mejorar y mantener el buen servicio al cliente, me disculpo en nombre de todo el equipo de Hostel Casa Colon y esperamos tenerla de nuevo en nuestro Hostel, le garantizamos desde ya, que no se presentara ningún otro inconveniente en el servicio en otra ocasión.

Saludos Cordiales!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Hostel Casa Colon in San José for three nights, Thursday through Sunday last weekend and found the place to be very nice and clean. Honestly can't complain too much. I originally found the place because the Scotiabank ATM next door sucked my card in and I had to use the internet to call my bank back in the states to have someone give Scotiabank reps verification that I was who I said I was.. long story short - don't let your ATM card sit in the slot for more than 10 seconds at Scotiabank. The person at the front desk of the hostel let me borrow the computer at the front to look up phone numbers very briefly and use their phone which was incredibly awesome.. so next time I was in San Jose I had to stay at Casa Colón.

Someone previously described the staff being "indifferent at best" and I couldn't agree more. I'm a beginner at speaking Spanish and found they got really annoyed with me despite staff at places around town being very pleasant and willing to deal with my lackluster spanish. They couldn't care less about what I had to say. Hardly anyone smiles there.. I tried to find out what the a couple of the staff were doing there cause they're clearly not Costa Rican.. again I annoyed them. Haha. Oh well.

Great place for a quiet, clean place to stay but don't expect to learn much about the area from the staff. And watch out for the guy who stays in the shared room but goes to bed at 9 only to wake up at 6 to play video games on his iPad.. apparently he's been there for 2 months.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Located in main avenue Downtown San Jose, the private rooms were cozzy and has the friendliest and nicest staff, both Vivian and Tatiana were willing to help with anything we'd only stay for two day's because we were heading to the beach, one thing for sure is that we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guillermo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Recepcionist at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Hello!!

Guillermo thank you so much for your comment, for us is a pleasure attend you and we hope see you again in the hostel!!!

Best Regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stay at Casa Colon twice a week when in San Jose. They have comfortable beds, restaurant, relaxed bar area, dorm rooms, single rooms, computers with free internet, fast enough wifi. When staying in the dorms, you use communal showers and toilets, and there are enough of those. You dont have to wait in line for a s***, shave and shower. It is very clean, and the staff is very friendly. You are a few minutes walk from town, with lots of shops, restaurants, bars, and other entertainment. The bus stop is very close to the hostel so you don't need to spend lots of money on taxi's. I highly recommend this place for anyone. Backpackers, families, even when on business.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorneliusSKYDIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014
Google Translation

Para nosotros es un placer que se sienta como en casa, seguiremos brindándole calidad en el servicio todas las semanas, para que nos siga recomendando. Saludos de parte de todo el Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel on the main road, relatively close to the city centre is not to recommend if you want just want to sleep. It is also slightly overpriced, but mostly I gave a low rating because the loud music from the bar makes it very difficult to sleep. If you are just arrived after several hours of flight it is not a good place. If you are in transit and a bigger group of young poeple probably the place is not too bad, because it has big rooms and a bar (with music) inside the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms upstairs should be nicer because of windows, and décor, but in general you need earplugs due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelbear83de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostelCasaColon, Receptionist at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Good Morning!!

Excuse me about your inconvenient in the Hostel, we are very near to downtown is the Main Avenue this place is very nice for the tourist that want to know our country and make shopping but for this rason is very noisy too, nevertheless always we try that client feel better that in your house thank you so much for your comments and we will resolve this problem in a little time,

Kind Regards!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.8 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#56 of 78 in San Jose
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#27 of 78 in San Jose
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
973 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
160 reviews
2.9 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Casa Colon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £9 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing