We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Isla Verde Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Adventure Inn(San Jose)
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barcelo San Jose(San Jose)
US$98
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Hotel(San Jose)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
172
95
17
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
95
17
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsusa embassyserves chinese foodindoor gardencosta ricadeluxe roomsmin driveworkout roomwould stay againonsite restaurantnice stayhotel is cleantop floorplantainsnational stadiuminternational airportwithin walking distancetwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel is near the USA embassy but not a great active neighborhood. Room was modern but the air conditioning did not cool the room. Bathrooms are very nice and the rooms are quiet. Security is good and parking in a locked garage is included.

Room Tip: Make sure your room will be cool enough.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C0ach2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucia S, Propietario at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear C0ach2013,

Thank your for your comments on Trip Advisor!

We are pleased to know your liked our rooms and facilities. Concerning the air conditioning, we have not had any complaints about it, however we´ll have it checked with our maintenance.

The neighborhood we´re located is very convenient, besides being close the US Embassy, is a very commercial and industrial area, we are about 4miles to San Jose downtown, 8 miles from the SJO international airport, and within an area of 5 miles you can get around pretty much to most important city sites of San Jose.

We hope you´ve enjoyed your overall trip to Costa Rica and hope to have you again with us in the future!

Best regards,

Lucia Shum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently stayed at Isle Verde on our initial arrival to Costa Rica. The hotel is a $30.00 cab ride from the international airport.
Had a standard room and were upgraded to Deluxe the second night. Much better...modern, new bed, linens, flat screen, nice bathroom amd comfortable. Personnel attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Quimera66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucia S, Propietario at Isla Verde Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013
Google Translation

Estimado(a) Quimera66,

Muchas gracias por sus comentarios en Trip Advisor!

Nos complace saber que disfrutó su estadía con nosotros y esperamos tenerlo de nuevo en su próxima visita a San José.

Saludos cordiales,

Lucia Shum

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Chose this hotel for its close proximity to the US Embassy, only 2 blocks. Also walking distance to McDonalds and a Quiznos and a short cab ride to malls, better restaurants. Very close to National Stadium as well.

I had a standard room the first night and upgraded to Deluxe the second night. Do yourself a favor-upgrade! $10 more and much better...new bed, linens, flat screen, nice bathroom.

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harlan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This Expat having stayed here several times now over my moving here to CR. This is a very wounderful, well appointed hotel. If you enjoy chinese food... all that is needed here is a walk down to the lobby. The wonderful smells coming from their restaurant is like a "magnet". I do love it! But, their is for someone like myself... a Mc Donalds across and up the road. Where, I live we have not one!
This is also maybe my last stay here. I was just here at the end of September and spent the night. I was flying out on Nature Airlines to Nicaragua. I have found out that Nature Air is moving all of it flights over to SJO airport, so it will in my case not be practical to stay this far from the main airport. If your going to be in or near downtown SJ, this is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: Don't panic... If it takes what seems a long time to get "hot" water, try the other faucet. Tip I learned! Not sure who did their plumbing.. LOWES or HOME DEPOT! But they do have hot water!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank coatiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We recently stayed at Isle Verde on our initial arrival to Costa Rica. The hotel is a $30.00 cab ride from the international airport and the rental car agencies do not provide pick up nor is there an airport shuttle.

The rooms were very nice ( Modern, Quiet and Comfortable) and the restaurant was adequate and the personnel relatively attentive. We experienced staff with modest English skills but a sincere interest in helping.

Overall, we would stay here again if our plans called for San Jose travel.

Room Tip: Ground floor is good and quiet. Also easy access to the lobby.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews