We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now I am Lying”

Poas Bar and restaurant
Ranked #464 of 644 Restaurants in San Jose
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Now I am Lying”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I have not eaten at Poas Bar since the new owner took over or since I discovered that everything served there comes out of the freezer, into the microwave then served. The mericle in that is some of the dishes are actually good. The truth is.. it was Harry that made the place a hit. After all the place is built in the corner of a garage where the Cocarachas are almost as big as a mouse. I wish the new owner well but say that he has some big shoes to fill. I wonder if my picture is still on the back wall..the guy with the 365 pound marlin caught in Mexico 1983.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sam-the-shamou812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    8
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Hill, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cold Beer, real French Fries, expat hangout”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Local pricing on beer and food, American oldies on the radio and the barstools, Fried Fish dinner under 8 bucks, you could do worse. Probably not good for a family , Definitely not fancy,(Think Alabama Jack's if that means anything to you) but they make honest change and the beer is cold.Some might call it a dump, but they can find" nice" places that are like home elsewhere

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fredh136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“When You Want a Really Good Burger”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Poas Bar in San Jose is an expat owned and operated bar and restaurant in San Jose. The place is tiny and funky, in a good way.

In my opinion, they offer one of the best hamburgers and fresh cut fries that money can buy. Their salads, especially the avocado salad are big, fresh and tasty.

Give them a try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredIam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleside, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Not Fancy - But Where Friends Go to Meet”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Between Calle 3 y 5, across from the Santo Tomas hotel.
A long standing restaurant run by an American from Chicago. The atmosphere appears Gringo-centric but he gets a surprising mix of Ticos, Nicos, and foreigners drawn by the TV sports, food, and laid back atmosphere. Their excellent cook provides amazingly good Tico or Gringo food from her small corner, with daily specials at very good prices. Harry is usually on site to provide a welcome and ensure things are running smoothly. Bar staff are attractive, friendly, and at times, entertaining.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poas Bar and restaurant also viewed

San Jose, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 
Escazu, San Jose Metro
San Jose, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Poas Bar and restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing