We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus San Jose
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This Best Western was a nice way to end our trip to CR. It's not too far from the airport, and there is a market, farmicia, and a few good restaurants within walking distance. We were able to do some birdwatching on the lovely grounds in the AM. Very nice pool, spa, gym as well as onsite spa services. Breakfast is at the attached Denny's and is quite basic. You can use your breakfast vouchers for upgraded breakfast is you want. The happy hour in the casino consists of free drinks for an hour (red/white wine, well drinks) from 5:00-6:00. Food is available to order for a fee. We had no trouble with bedbugs as mentioned in a previous review. The beds were comfortable...all in all a nice experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden away from the street with a king bed (2 bed rooms have double beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soozesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear user:

Thank you for your comment! We love to hear that you had such a good time with us, and that our facilities and services were convenient for you. Hopefully next time we receive you here, will be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    296
    124
    53
    28
See reviews for
137
199
58
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanDiego
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Was "jailed" here for 40 hours courtesy of Copa Airlines (flights cancelled over 2 day period, someone "broke" the flight dispatch system...*#*#&@
Was surprised, the nights' sleep was good, king bed, nice linens, and even though there is a casino on the property, it was quiet.
Only downside, the window-mounted AC sounds like a freight train. Am sure glad it has rained hard enough to cool the room off for sleeping.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJFromSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear guest:

It is good to know that even you did not plan to stay here, you had a quality time with us. We always try to give a pleasant time to our guests and make them feel as confortable as possible.

We are going to be looking forward your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a nice airport hotel and typical for a Best Western. Staff was nice and rooms were a bit dated but what is expected for the price. They have a shuttle from/to the airport (look for the guy when exiting the airport with the sign) and it will pick you up in about 10 minutes once you get is scheduled outside. Though I did not use it the pool looked nice. The attached casino is very simple and not worth the visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 16507ins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear user,

We are happy to hear that you had a good time during your stay with us. We really hope to have you here in your next visit to Costa Rica and give you an even better experience.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have stayed there for the past 10 years. My last stay was in January. They do a very good job of keeping the place updated. The pool and Jacuzzi are nice. The rooms are nice with free international calls. They advertise complementary mixed drinks. This was a great feature in the past. This time the bar tender had no idea what I was talking about. I got a manager and he took care of us. Beware of the ladies of the night trying to solicit you. The guard at the entrance is good about running them off. The rental car office on site is a nice plus. The WIFI works great.

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the pool with a direct walk out to the pool. All rooms are quiet, which is r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear user:

We appreciate your comment, and we are glad to know that you could enjoy our benefits. It is great having you here for the past 10 years, and we hope many years in return.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham. Alabama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I stay one night on a business trip, to many young people, to noise, kids running on the hallways screaming. The room to small. But close to the airport. No restaurant around. Front desk Services good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear user:

First at all, thank you for taking a few minutes to leave us a comment, that is what make us improve everyday.

We want to apologize if you experienced any inconvenience during your stay. We always try to please our guests and make them feel as confortable as possible. There are three restaurants just next to the hotel. We would like to receive you here again and make sure that you get to enjoy properly all what we can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Irazu for 3 nights in February 2012 as a home base for some long day trips around the coffee plantations and La Poas Volcano. What can you really expect from a Best Western? The hotel was older but in a convenient location close to the malls and highways. Check in staff are very pleasant as are the lounge staff. The free drinks during happy hour (5pm - 6pm I think) were great and not watered down. Loved the Rum Punch! I didn't get to use the pool, but it looked nice enough and was in a secluded courtyard. I enjoyed the free internet but it would get very busy at times. The room was clean but very old and dated. The free long distance calls were a plus as well, but the phone would cut out often. Enjoyed my daily included breakfast at the Denny's, especially since they served the usual Costa Rican fare. No real complaints other than the dated rooms.

Don't stay here expecting a luxury hotel - it is pretty bare bones but gets the job done.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear guest:

First we want to thank you for your review. It is good to know that our benefits were convinient for you. Also we are going to focus in the things we can improve in order to offer a better experience everytime. We hope to receive you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Costa Rica was our "home base" as we traveled between countries and we stayed @ the BW Irazu 3 times during July. Primarily because there is an airport pickup (caution! they stop @ 11!) and there is a rental car place on site. The grounds are fantastic, the hotel clean and the rooms are very comfortable. They even have safe drinking water from the tap! There is a Denny's that serves breakfast for the guests in the morning for some good old fashioned comfort food. There is a grocery store around the corner so you can buy drinks / ice cream / etc. The pool is clean and warm and the hot tub very cozy. We will stay here again if we're in the neighborhood!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IronBenderII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivannia Z, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Plus San Jose, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear user:

It is great to know that you had a good experience with us. Of course we are going to be looking forward your next visit, hopefully very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#14 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
3.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus San Jose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus San Jose

Property: Best Western Plus San Jose
Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#5 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#23 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus San Jose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing