We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Start to our Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Start to our Vacation”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

This was our third time to stay at the Irazu and it was a perfect start to our Costa Rican vacation. First of all,it was my husband';s birthday and we were so surprised and delighted to find in our room a lovely flower arrangement,a birthday card and some delicious fresh pineapple organized by front desk manages Wendy Flores. I guess our son had contacted the hotel about his father's special day and Ms. Flores was also kind enough to send him a picture of the arrangement. We really appreciated it,especially the pineapple which was delicious after a long flight. ! Our room was pleasant and comfortable with such a pretty view onto the swimming pool,huge trees and landscaped garden area.
We find the Irazu very convenient with its close proximity to a grocery store,the Denny's restaurant with breakfast there included, and one of our favourite restaurants which is just steps away. It is Casa de mi Abuela .( Grandmother's House ) run by a man formerly from New Brunswick. We have started our trip each time with a delicious dinner there,probably the best meals we have had while in Costa Rica. The free drinks at Happy Hour in the Casino are also a positive aspect of the Irazu and while there we met a friendly group of fellow Canadians who have been coming to the Irazu for years.. We had no problem getting WIFI in our room and we found the beds very comfortable. We also stayed in the Irazu on our last night before flying out. The Alamo car rental is in the hotel and we were able to take the free hotel shuttle from the airport and then pick up our rental car at Alamo the next morning . It was easy to drop the car off at the end of our trip and catch the shuttle back to the airport. Our experience at the Irazu has always been a very positive one and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: We have always had a room facing the pool and gardens and it is lovely. We could easily get from our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 154976Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear 154976Happy, thank you for such a wonderful and thorough review.

It makes us very proud to see that we are your hotel of choice everytime you visit the country and that is also very rewarding because it shows that we are indeed doing everything we are supposed to do which is to provide our guests with everything they need to make their stay everything they expected and much more. Our staff works very hard to provide for our guests all the convenient services they need for a pleasant and hassle free stay, and they do it with all their warmth and friendliness because for the entire staff, this is more than a job, it is a pleasure because we want them to feel not only comfortable but also more than welcome, we want them to feel as if they are right at home surrounded by people who will gladly comply with their every need.

We are very happy that you liked our little "surprise" for your husband´s birthday, we are very glad that you liked it so much and it was our pleasure to do it and best of all, that we were able to send a picture of everything to your son so eventhough he was not here with you, he was able to see what was awaiting for you both when you arrived.

Thank you so much for making us your number one hotel when you visit the country, the entire staff will look forward to your next visit.

It was a pleasure being of your service.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    301
    130
    55
    29
See reviews for
142
204
60
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stay there for 1 night about every 2 months. The staff are friendly enough and the rooms are decent, but the wifi is terrible and they need to heat the swimming pool as it's a beautiful pool, but way too cold.

Room Tip: The Holiday Inn Xpress now heats their swimming pool, but about 10% more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D9997DWMike_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear D9997DWMike_B, thank you for sharing your comments.

We are thrilled to learn that you are a frequent visitor of the hotel and it makes us extremely proud because it shows us how much you appreciate our accommodations and everything we do to make you feel right at home. Our staff is always wanting to comply with everything our guests need to make their stay with us a delightful experience and for us this is much more than a job, it is a real pleasure.

We are going to take into account your comments about the wi-fi and are going to share it with our Brand Standards Team so they can target the problem as quickly as possible.

It is a pleasure having you here with us so often, we will look forward to your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Service is good, without any sales pressure. Next to the hotel is a Denny's restaurant, were we ate the breakfasts that are included in the room price. Food is good, and the coffee very good.
The hotel offers 24 hours/day free Internet terminals and also free WIFI.
We were pleasantly surprised about the decent exchange rate given for the Canadian Dollar, the US-Dollar, and the Euro; right at the hotel front desk.
Local buses to the city centre are easy to catch if you walk the underpass of the highway. On your way back, exit at the bus stop right in front of the hotel.
We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Martinder,thank you for posting your comments, we really appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
We are very pleased that we were able to fulfill all of your expectations regarding our services and accommodations. We are very proud of our level of service and quality of product, so it makes us very happy whenever our guests recognize and appreciate them because they are the reason of the work we do.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you next time you visit Costa Rica.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbyville, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This place is more than you could amagin, it was total breath taking and first class all the way.
The rooms were very comfortable,clean,roomy and very pleasant. The view was to say the least
unbelievable . Would definitely recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank craig f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Front Office Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear craig f, thank you for writing such a great review. Making all our guests feel comfortable in a very beautiful and cozy environment is what we are always striving for.

We want that everytime our guests think about their stay with us, they can remember a beautiful infrastructure with wonderful landscaping, the most convenient services and the friendliest and most helpful staff and that will immediately make them have a big smile across their faces. Also, by providing them a super comfortable and cozy room we are able to guarantee the most restful stay ever.

It was a pleasure being of your service, we will look forward to your next stay.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central america
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I have stayed at this Best Western several times and have always found the staff to be friendly and the rooms clean and comfortable. I returned in January 2014, having just arrived overland on a long bus trip. I checked in, and being very hungry, I ate at the Denny's restaurant which is conveniently attached to the hotel and food can be billed to the room.. But the food was misrepresented to me,,,badly prepared.....and way overpriced. I will never eat there again (I never have been a fan of Denny's but assumed that, since this one was affiliated with the Best Western, it would be quality. I was wrong) I would recommend the hotel but stay away from the Denny's. One can eat better and less expensive food in the hotel casino. Best Western should terminate there affiliation with Denny's if they desire to maintain a good reputation

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralAmericaRover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear CentralAmericaRover2, thank you for your review.

We are very please to know that you are a frequent guest here with us due to the great quality of accommodations and services we offer and the helpfulness and nice disposition of our entire staff. We really do everything in our power to make our guests´ stay be everything they were expecting and much more, we really want their complete trust regarding their comfort and well being.
We are very sorry to hear about what happened to you with the food. We are very glad to inform you that now we have another restaurant option in the premises, we hope that you get to try it the next time you visit us.

Thank you for staying with us, it was a pleasure having you.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have stayed here on 3 different occasions while having dental work nearby. The rooms are pretty basic for a hotel/motel but the place is so clean and well maintained that it stands out. There are so many conveniences and amenities to add value. The new "Sangria" lounge on site has good food at very reasonable prices as well as a very nice sangria! The included breakfast is at the adjoining Denny's and altho you order from a special menu, there are great choices for a full breakfast. Free happy hour is in the adjoining casino daily. There is a self service laundry room, and free coffee 24 hrs in the well-equipped computer room. The pool is lovely but unheated and pretty much unused. There is a little grocery store, a pharmacy, a bakery and several little lunch places just around the corner. The hotel is close to a major freeway so getting most places by cab is pretty efficient. There is public bus service very near and a 10 min walk to a Banco de Costa Rica where there are no change fees! The lobby is spacious and comfortable for visiting, playing cards, reading or just people watching. Oh, and the free airpost shuttle comes and goes every 30 minutes! A really great place to stay in San José.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear BarbaraL4, thank you for posting such a thorough review.

Reading reviews like yours are always a great source of motivation for everyone here at the hotel because it demostrates what a great you we are doing, being able to provide so much comfort and satisfaction for all our guests. We rely on the best accommodations and the most convenient services which along with a super caring, complying and friendly staff are able to guarantee that you get everyhting you expected and much more.

We are also glad that you found our location so convenient, not only for its closeness to the main freeways but also because there is a supermarket, a pharmacie and a bank right around the corner. We thrive on our guests total confidence and satisfaction and knowing how much you enjoyed your stay with us gives us so much pleasure.

Thank you for staying with us, we will look forward to your next visit.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We travelled to Costa Rica for the first time this January. We stayed in several hotels throughout our stay. Most of the hotels we stayed at did not meet the North American Standards that we are used to. Beds in other hotels I found were not so great. We were very pleased to find that the beds at this hotel were great. The best we experienced during our two week stay in the country.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Stephen J, thank you for posting your review.

We are delighted to learn of how much you enjoyed staying with us and how much you liked our beds. It made us very proud to know that our hotel was your favorite during your visit because there is nothing we like more than to provide all of our guests with the best services and accommodations to make their stay with us a great experience and to assure them that they can always trust us with providing them everything they need.

Thank you for choosing us, it was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope that you visit us again soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,360 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
892 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Property: Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#4 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing