We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We needed a hotel close to the airport and my husband's cousin recommended this place. After driving around on the crazy roads of San Jose, we welcomed the peacefulness of our room which overlooked the pool. We wished we had stayed longer so that we could have enjoyed the inviting pool as well as the awesome workout room. We did get a chance to sample the fare at the restaurant in the hotel and were very impressed with the seafood soup as well as the guacamole. Pass up the souvenir shop in the hotel and walk across the street to find much better priced merchandise as well as a friendly face. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Betsy N, thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your comments.

We are thrilled to learn how much comfort and peacefulness our hotel gave you during your stay, specially since your room overlooked our beautiful pool and the incredible garden surrouding the hotel. We have always been a hotel who takes our guests' comfort and satisfaction very seriously and its personnel do everything within their reach to make them feel more than welcome, surrounded by warmth and attentiveness, with their satisfaction and well being completely guaranteed..

It would be a delight to see you back again soon, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed at the Best Western, Irazu on all of our stays in Costa Rica. We usually stay two or more nights as it is very convenient to use the shuttle to the airport. The staff are always, friendly, professional and courteous. The pool and gardens at the hotel are very nicely kept and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Ben C, we really appreciate your wonderful review. It makes us extremely proud to see when a guest is a constant guest because it clearly shows us how satisfied they are with our hotel, its services and accommodations, so much that they continuously rely upon us for their satisfaction and convenience of a wonderful hotel experience. Our staff is always going a step up to make our guests feel more than welcome, surrounded by warmth and friendliness so they can be sure that they are getting everything of what expected and much more.

Thank you so much for making us your number one hotel choice everytime you visit the country, we are very proud to count you as a member of our extended family. It is alwayys a pleasure being of your service, the entire staff looks foward to your next stay.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not worth the money. Our room was from the 70s and ugly, the restaurant in the hotel was awful, and the hot water was non-existent. Also don't plan on sending postcards from here they do not have the service. The hotel itself is dated and for the money I would go somewhere else. Vet disappointed in my stay.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Pamela S. thank you very much for your review.

We are extremely proud of our hotel, its services and our entire personnel because we really do strive in providing our guest with the highest quality of services and accommodations for their total satisfaction. It makes us very sad to learn that you found our rooms dated since only a couple of years ago we had them totally renovated. We know that every person has different tastes in everything from accommodations to cuisine so it is very difficult for us to please every one of them and it truly makes us very sad.

Once again, we are sorry that we didn't achieved your expectations, and we thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I thought the hotel was very nice. The restaurant was affordable and good. I enjoyed the Casino on site. The room overlooking the courtyard had nice balcony but we had to have a service call for the shower. Barely any water coming out. I would recommend it. Close to airport and downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for the one of the top floors overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristiina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Kristina2014, thank you for posting such a candid review. It is very rewarding to know how much you liked our hotel and its services and how fun you found our casino. We thrive on our guests' satisfaction and well being so it makes us very happy to learn when our guests leave feeling so pleased about everything they experienced with us during their stay.

Thank you so much for letting us know about the problem with the shower, we assure you that we will take care of it immediately and we are sorry that it happened to you. We are also very happy that you found our location so convenient, being so near to to the airport (less than 15 minutes away) and also being so near the downtown area of the city so our guests can get around very easily and fast.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you back again very soon.

Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This hotel is okay for the price. The lobby area, gardens and pool are nice. The other thing that I liked was that there was a computer lab where Internet was free. Printing was free too, which was helpful when printing information for activities.
The room was okay. The two double beds (beds are full size not queen) were comfortable. However, the room did not seem that clean. The shampoo and conditioner were low quality so I had to purchase shampoo and conditioner from the local store.
I would recommend you get a room with a pool view. Those rooms are the nicest.
I liked this hotel because there is free breakfast at the Denny's attached to the hotel, free shuttle to the airport, free internet and printing and free local and international calls.
However, the location of the hotel is not very good. It is located in industrial area and there is not much to do around the hotel. There is a grocery store, pharmacy, Subway and souvenir shop within walking distance.
Some things to know:
- Taxi from the hotel to downtown San Jose is about 10 dollars. You can also take a public bus to downtown and will cost you less than a dollar per person
- The Denny's attached to the hotel is EXTREMELY expensive for lunch and dinner (Sangria (the hotel bar) is much cheaper)


Warning: Do not book activities at the small office next to the Alamo car rental! The girl that works there (Jessica Gutierrez) lied to us about what is included in an activity we booked. We wanted to go to Arenal Volcano National Park and she signed us up for an activity that did not include the Arenal National Park but only the hot springs. We were extremely disappointed. The tour was through Marbella tours and the tour guide told us that we should ask the agent who booked the trip for us for a compensation since she misinformed us about what is included in the activity. We went to Jessica Gutierrez again and explained that the tour did not include Arenal National Park and she said " The tour does not include Arenal Volcano National Park because the park is closed because it is too dangerous". She refused to give us a partial refund and was very rude. We were furious and left her office. After that I called the Arenal National Park to see if they are really closed and they said that they were open!!! So, she lied for the second time!!! We went to the hotel reception to seek help and they said that they rent the office and they are not affiliated with Jessica Gutierrez or the company she works for (Hotel Beds) at all and they could not do anything.
Then, I called Jessica's manager at Hotel Beds. His name is Christian Murrillo. He knew about this case but kept defending Jessica. He said that she knows that the trip does not include Arenal Volcano National Park but did not comment on her second lie that the national park was closed. After a long conversation he said that he would refund us 30 dollars as a compensation. Guess what? He never refunded the money!!!!!
Do not book your activities with Hotel Beds or with Jessica Gutierrez. They are not professional at all and do not care about their customers. They care only about money.
Before booking activities with any agent ask them what company they work for and if it is "Hotel Beds" don't book with them. I have been on so many vacations and have booked so many activities and I have never had such horrible experience!!!

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Lina W, thank you very much for sharing such a thorough review about your stay with us. It is a delight to learn of how much you liked our hotel, its gardens and pool, and how convenient you found all the services we offer.
More than our job, it is a pleasure to make our guests feel very comfortable and satisfied during their stay. We strive to provide them with everything they need and request to guarantee a perfect hotel experience which will make them smile everytime they remember it. We are very sorry to learn that you did not found your room to be clean enough, it is the first time a guest has said this and we really like to apologize. We would have gladly change you to another room more of your liking if you would have informed us about it as soon as you got there.

We take the comfort and satisfaction of all our guests very seriously and any problems we are made aware of are always dealt as quickly as posible to guarantee our guests complete satisfaction. We are going to share your review with our Brand Standard team so they can promptly see to it that situations like this never happen again.

As a hotel hotel that is not only characterized by its trustworthy qualities and coming from a respected and well stablished brand we would never ever dream of providing our guests with lower quality amenities and we are sorry to learn that that how you felt about the shampoo and conditioner we offer.

It was a pleasure being of your service, thank you very much for choosing us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I had the the misfortune of my flight with Avianca Airlines being canceled. Avianca has an arrangement with Best Western Irazu, so myself and a friend where given a free nights stay before our new flight out the next day. After 8 hours in the airport I just conked out on the bed and never thought to have to pay attention to these details. To my horror the next day, I woke up to a BLOOD STAIN on my pillow that did not belong to me. With a personality already prone to anxiety, the manager on duty Mr. Brian Ballestero, although extremely calm and nice in demeanor did nothing to calm my nerves. in hindsight tell me the pillow was at least 100% washed?? Then I might have relaxed a little. I'm certain now I overreacted and I won't get a disease from this, but it's absolutely no excuse for a western hotel chain. Take a look at the photos folks. This is a new one for me in all my travels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Evan C, thank you so much for posting your comments since they are very important for us because they provide us with big amounts of feedback about how our guests perceive us and the services we offer, that way, we can see what we can do to continuously improve for attaining our guests' total satisfaction.

We are mortified to learn about the mishap you experienced and we can assure you that something like this has never happened before. We are going to immediately share your review with our Brands Standard team so they can see can see tp it that this never happens again. We are a hotel who takes its quality and standars very seriously and we can assure you that this is never going to happen again . Our guests' satisfaction is our outmost desire and we always maintain it the best way we can.

It was a real pleasure having you with us and once again we ask you to please accept our most sincere apology. Thank you for staying with us.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I only stayed one night at Best Western Irazu on the last day of our wonderful trip through Costa Rica. The hotel Irazu had very comfortable rooms and the restaurant / bar area was perfect for a final night with good food and good drinks. The bartenders and wait staff were very friendly and professional. I enjoyed a quick swim in the pool the morning of our departure and would have enjoyed spending more time there!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking the pool area are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Valerie S. thank you for writing such a nice review.

It is lovely to learn how much you liked our hotel and its services and how much you enjoyed staying with us eventhough it was a very short stay. We are a hotel that takes very seriously our guests´comfort and satisfaction so we really do strive to comply with everything they need and request. We also want them to feel more than welcome during their stay that is why we always surround them in a warm and friendly atmosphere, giving them all the best attentions they deserve and much more.

We really do hope that the next time you visit the country you can stay with us a little bit longer so you can get to experience everything we offer.

Thank you so much for choosing us, we really hope to see you back very soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,424 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
909 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
3.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £56 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing