We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price/quality ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great price/quality ratio”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very pleasant stay, nothing at all to complain ! Nice people and ligitamite, always ready to serve and go out of their way to guarantee for you to have a pleasant stay. Simply an very good experience in a decient, safe and friendly enviorment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Shonton, we really appreciate your wonderful comments.

There is nothing we like more than when we read reviews like yours in which guests write that everythng in our hotel was up to their liking and expectations and much more because we really do thrive on their complete and total comfort and satisfaction. We want them to experience a very pleasant and restful stay in which they can be sure that our staff will go beyond their way to comply with all their needs and requests so they can feel very well taken care of and as if they were right at home.

It was a pleasure being of your service, we hope to see you back with us real soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    302
    130
    55
    29
See reviews for
143
204
60
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you are visiting Costa Rica for the first time this is good place to start. (this was our 5th Costa Rica trip and first time beginning at the BW Irazu). The Free shuttle from the airport is very convenient, provided you arrive not too late in the evening (check with hotel for last shuttle). The hotel room is standard USA Best Western style room, comfortable with no surprises. The the pool and jacuzzi area grounds are well kept and it's nice to have the room balcony overlooking the open area. We used the jacuzzi and enjoyed it. The hotel desk staff are polite and helpful and we could change some money right there so you don't have to run around looking for a bank to get your trip started. The free breakfast at the Denny's next door is convenient and adequate to start your day. Taxis are waiting to take you where you need to go. The only problem we had was trying to use the guest desktop computers with a Spanish style keyboard (no @ key) and the internet connection was very slow making it very hard to use. And the Subway sandwich shop across the street gave us sandwiches with stale bread which we were disappointed with, which brings up the point that there are not a lot of dining options, (not the hotel's fault), just the Denny's, the Subway, a buffet place across the street, a Hotel Bar/Restaurant and the Casino bar food service, but there is a market around the corner to get snacks and drinks and whatever you might need to bring to your room. All in all a good value and a good place to comfortably start a visit to Costa Rica. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Capt_Doubloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Capt_Doubloon. thank you for sharing such a thorough review. It is always nice to know when our guests are satisfied about our hotel, its services, its location and the attention received.

We are a hotel that thrives in our guests happiness and comfort, that is why we are constantly looking for ways to improve the services and accommodations we offer so we can guarantee that our guests are always going to feel that they got what they expected and much more. Besides the Denny´s next door there is also another new restaurant that specializes in Spanish and mediterranean food, we hope that you can check it out the next time you visit, and remember that our personnel can recommend several restaurants depending on what you want at the time and we will gladly call you a taxi that can take you there immediatelely.

We are sorry about our desktop computers being only in spanish, but you could have asked one of our front desk staff to show you were the @ key was and they would more than gladly would have comply. We want our guests to know that they can count on us for whatever they need because besides from providing them with all the comfort and well being we are able to give them we want their stay to be free of any hassles that can stress you and make this a not so perfect experience.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, we hope to see you back with us very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Teresa, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

a very good professional and nice experience. the place is central , especial the whole stuff is very friendly and professional.this hotel has everything you need.
also the convinienc having wendiy next dor and a casino is the icing on the creme

Room Tip: book early...jajaaj
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FRITZLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Public Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear FRITZLAND, thank you for writing such a great review,

We are delighted to know that you not only found our hotel very professional, with a very convenient location, a very helpful and friendly staff and with all that you needed to make your stay a very pleasant and successful hotel experience. We are totally committed to our guests comfort and satisfaction so we do everything we can, to comply with all they request and need during their stay, that way, they will always trust us when their well being is concerned.

It was a pleasure being of your service, we will look forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We needed a hotel close to the airport and my husband's cousin recommended this place. After driving around on the crazy roads of San Jose, we welcomed the peacefulness of our room which overlooked the pool. We wished we had stayed longer so that we could have enjoyed the inviting pool as well as the awesome workout room. We did get a chance to sample the fare at the restaurant in the hotel and were very impressed with the seafood soup as well as the guacamole. Pass up the souvenir shop in the hotel and walk across the street to find much better priced merchandise as well as a friendly face. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Betsy N, thank you so much for taking the time to write and share your comments.

We are thrilled to learn how much comfort and peacefulness our hotel gave you during your stay, specially since your room overlooked our beautiful pool and the incredible garden surrouding the hotel. We have always been a hotel who takes our guests' comfort and satisfaction very seriously and its personnel do everything within their reach to make them feel more than welcome, surrounded by warmth and attentiveness, with their satisfaction and well being completely guaranteed..

It would be a delight to see you back again soon, thank you so much for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynndel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have stayed at the Best Western, Irazu on all of our stays in Costa Rica. We usually stay two or more nights as it is very convenient to use the shuttle to the airport. The staff are always, friendly, professional and courteous. The pool and gardens at the hotel are very nicely kept and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Ben C, we really appreciate your wonderful review. It makes us extremely proud to see when a guest is a constant guest because it clearly shows us how satisfied they are with our hotel, its services and accommodations, so much that they continuously rely upon us for their satisfaction and convenience of a wonderful hotel experience. Our staff is always going a step up to make our guests feel more than welcome, surrounded by warmth and friendliness so they can be sure that they are getting everything of what expected and much more.

Thank you so much for making us your number one hotel choice everytime you visit the country, we are very proud to count you as a member of our extended family. It is alwayys a pleasure being of your service, the entire staff looks foward to your next stay.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not worth the money. Our room was from the 70s and ugly, the restaurant in the hotel was awful, and the hot water was non-existent. Also don't plan on sending postcards from here they do not have the service. The hotel itself is dated and for the money I would go somewhere else. Vet disappointed in my stay.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Pamela S. thank you very much for your review.

We are extremely proud of our hotel, its services and our entire personnel because we really do strive in providing our guest with the highest quality of services and accommodations for their total satisfaction. It makes us very sad to learn that you found our rooms dated since only a couple of years ago we had them totally renovated. We know that every person has different tastes in everything from accommodations to cuisine so it is very difficult for us to please every one of them and it truly makes us very sad.

Once again, we are sorry that we didn't achieved your expectations, and we thank you for choosing us.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I thought the hotel was very nice. The restaurant was affordable and good. I enjoyed the Casino on site. The room overlooking the courtyard had nice balcony but we had to have a service call for the shower. Barely any water coming out. I would recommend it. Close to airport and downtown.

Room Tip: Ask for the one of the top floors overlooking courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristiina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Kristina2014, thank you for posting such a candid review. It is very rewarding to know how much you liked our hotel and its services and how fun you found our casino. We thrive on our guests' satisfaction and well being so it makes us very happy to learn when our guests leave feeling so pleased about everything they experienced with us during their stay.

Thank you so much for letting us know about the problem with the shower, we assure you that we will take care of it immediately and we are sorry that it happened to you. We are also very happy that you found our location so convenient, being so near to to the airport (less than 15 minutes away) and also being so near the downtown area of the city so our guests can get around very easily and fast.

Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you back again very soon.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 78 in San Jose
1,363 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
892 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Property: Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#4 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing