We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in San Jose
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I stayed here for one night, upon arrival to San Jose. The hotel is a great choice especially if you are arriving on a late flight and on the way to a different location. It has a free shuttle from the airport. There’s a Denny’s on the property that is convenient (again… the late/delayed flights). It has a pool, bar, business center and free calls to the US. Good Wi-Fi. The rooms are pretty standard but spotless and service was fantastic.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank -Ari01-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2010

I stayed here for a week based on the reviews found on this site. I almost stayed at the other Best Western Downtown, but again, based on the reviews on this site I did not. It is about 15-20 minutes away from downtown. You can take a taxi or public bus which costs less than $1. This hotel was very convenient for taking tours as there is a Grayline office attached. The Denny's was a good choice for breakfast and they offer a free Costa Rican breakfast with beans and rice (gallo pinto). You will also receive discounts on your other meals. As there is a bar and casino, things can get a little loud a night on the weekends. The room was clean. The hallways open up to the outside, so there can be bugs - just close your door quickly. The staff was really nice. There are computers available to the public with Internet access. There is also excellent Wifi. They will pick you up and drop you off at the airport for no charge. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calamaestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Because this is a major US/Canadian chain, it's a good choice for travelers first arriving to Costa Rica. Standards similar to Best Western resort hotels in US, similar services, pool, etc. Near airport and car rentals. Not far from major restaurants, malls, conference centers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank openfacesandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

My friend and I left our husbands home and took a 60th birthday trip for two weeks. She flew out from Oklahoma and I from West Virginia. She flew the day before me. When I arrived I learned that she had had a heart attack the night before and was in intensive care at the Liberian, Costa Rica hospital. She had to be air lifted to San Jose to have a stint put in.
I knew nothing about San Jose but went to stay there for 5 days while she recovered. This is a amazing hotel. They gave me a beautiful terrace room overlooking the pool and the beautiful landscaping. The price was amazing also. I did not speak Spanish and they went out of their way to make sure I understood everything. They have a happy hour with free drinks and free international long distance. In my case that was worth a million. I could update family and friends about my friend's condition. You also get a free breakfast at Denny's next door.
The only problem I had with this hotel was the front desk was always very busy with sometimes more than a half hour to get to the front of the line, I wrote a review on biz rate and got a personal apology from the manager of the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carriebell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2010

Love the treatment, people are nice, jumble. Good food, nice places to visit. The volcanos, Bahia, Poas, Irazu. Heredia other places.

Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
Thank DianaR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

This hotel was terrible!! It's located close to a casino which made it very hard tosleep. Seemed to be prostituted around. The room was very bad. It smelled awfully. It was like entering a room build in the sixties. The AC was a big box at the window! The decoration was very ugly! The whole hotel would need a renovation! The computers on the hotel were very very old! The hotel tries to attract customers by free wifi, free internation call calls and free drinks within an hour each day. The wifi signal is low and it seems to be something wrong with the free international calls! I don't reccomend this hotel! It's the most terrible hotel I've ever lived at. It's a joke that it is rated as a 3-star hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntonA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We booked this hotel on Hotwire and were a little uneasy about it when we saw some of the other reviews here. Let's just say it exceeded our expectations and then some.

It was our transition hotel on the way back to the US. We flew in from Tambor in the early evening and were promptly picked up by the shuttle with no problems. We took the 5AM shuttle the next morning and everything worked out perfectly.

We asked for a top floor room and got a great corner spot with some decent views of San Jose. We sat on the balcony and enjoyed our last sunset in Costa Rica. The hotel was clean, the room was clean, the bed was great, and the staff was friendly!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dj3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo San Jose
Barcelo San Jose
#12 of 77 in San Jose
1,396 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
0.9 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 77 in San Jose
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Corobici
2.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Jose Costa Rica
3.3 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 77 in San Jose
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino

Address: Km 3 Autopista General Canas | Edificio sur, La Uruca, San Jose 10107, Costa Rica (Formerly Best Western Plus Irazu Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in San Jose
#3 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#7 Green Hotel in San Jose
#17 Family Hotel in San Jose
#24 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £58 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Irazu Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Irazu Hotel San Jose
Best Western Hotel Irazu
Best Western San Jose
San Jose Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing