We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like Coming Home - Very Charming and Beautiful Colonial Style Hotel”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed in the Fleur de Lys several times for several days during our journey through Central America. It is one of the best hotels I stayed on my trip and is always the first choice for me in San Jose. Arriving at the Fleur de Lys feels like coming home.

The hotel is very pretty, atmosphere is great and relaxed, the staff and the manager are very kind and helpful and solved all my queries very quickly!

The rooms incl. bathrooms with different names and styles which make them very individual have a good size and are always clean! The food of the restaurant is amazing with a delicious choice we did not get on my whole trip.

The location of the hotel could not be better. It is based directly in the centre nearby many sightseeing points like the national theatre, loads of shopping possibilities and excellent restaurants and nice bars.

The Wi-Fi connection is very fast and available in all the rooms.

We are already looking forward to our next stay in the Fleur de Lys!

Room Tip: All the rooms we stayed were very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DownSouth2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We started our Costa Rica travel with a few nights in San Jose. We selected the hotel based on other reviews.
We were a bit disappointed at the end. The staff was in general kind, though service quality changed from person to person. Breakfast was supposed to be from 6 to 10, however when we came at 9, half the buffet was empty.
The building itself looks very lovely, though the rooms would profit from a remake.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reto_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel while traveling with a high school EF Tour. It was on of the nicest of the trip. Clean, beds were comfortable, had ceiling fans, decent sized bathroom & hair dryer, TV, WIFi & an internal patio. However, when opening that door you could hear what was going on in the floors above you. Our stay was pretty brief - less than 8 hours. Staff were nice. Food was average

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerreG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

It looks pretty from the outside and is very central, the staff were friendly and helpful but on both occasions I stayed the room was disappointing. The first room was dirty and smelt of toilet. It was also noisy. When I returned I was given a room where the window opened into the corridor/restaurant. It was musty and stuffy. The decor and fittings were tired and neglected. If being central is important then this place has character, if you notice the little things and like a bit of luxury then you can get a lot more for the same money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

On my world trip since two years I have to say it's the nicest place I ever stayed. The staff and the manager are so friendly and helpful. Very creative and proper rooms with individual given names. They know exactly what a (world) traveller needs to have a comfort time. I also liked the well internet connection in my room:). In the lobby you can also find a very good and informative Tour Desk that can organize individual trips.

Room Tip: I saw the suite with the jacuzzi what was brilliant but to much for my budget I stayed in a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatricDillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The Fleur de Lys Hotel made already a nice impression from the outside and especially the wooden parts of the interior are really charming. The room itself was neatly clean.
The staff at the hotel was quite helpful and we could organize everything at the hotel as in a one stop shop.
The location is quite central, so you can do your sightseeing by foot. Unfortunately, there is a railway-track not far from the hotel and - even as the passing train is really slow - it makes a lot of noise to warn the car drivers, as it passes on the normal streets without any signalisation.

Room Tip: The Camelia Room in the 3rd floor has an outside balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

First I am going to preface this review with we had a room with a Jacuzzi tub which is on the high end of their rooms so I can’t speak for the other accommodations. The room was great Jacuzzi tub, shower, wet bar and an awesome old style atmosphere made for a great little place to stay. The hotel is in a great location with many of the attractions within walking distance including the central shopping market. The only area where I feel the hotel could really use improvement is the breakfast. They have an ok selection of ok food, nothing to write home about. Other than that I would recommend this hotel as an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayson_Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#27 of 78 in San Jose
314 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#38 of 78 in San Jose
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £35 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing