We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor rooms”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Stayed here on three occasions, during a recent tour of Costa Rica. Resteraunt, bar and staff are good, but we stayed in thrree of the rooms and they were not good, especially if you require twin beds. Most rooms have doubles, some very small doubles. Not many have windows and those that do have a view of about 3 feet. We were in a lrage party and they confirmed our opinion of the rooms.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank osinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2008

We stayed here either end of our time in Costa Rica. We were never really going to have time to explore and just needed a place that was clean, comfortable and central - Fleur de Lys met all the criteria.

Our first room was a bit dark and dingy, though when we returned for our last night we had a bigger, brighter room - if you can ask to get the better rooms you'll enjoy your stay more. The shower in the first room was also little more than a dribble, again not a problem with the second room.

Staff were friendly, though we had little dealings with them beyond check in. Breakfasts were OK, though certainly nothing special.

Overall, I wouldn't choose to spend a lot of time here, but if you've got to spend some time in San Jose then I'm sure you could do a lot worse.

Also, the traffic in San Jose is surprisingly bad - if you are coming in or leaving for the airport around rush hour (and haven't any time to look around the town - where there's not much to see anyway!), you'd be just as well to stay out of the centre. Our journey there took an hour leaving at 9.30am.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acr606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2008

Safe, clean, comfortable small hotel with good international clientele. Was a little concerned that the room would be stuffy since had only windows opening to an interior atrium but was fine with the ceiling fan. If staying more that one or two nights it might be worth getting a junior suite. Cocktails on the patio Friday evening included good conversation and a trio with local color. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JericoSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning and end of our Costa Rica honeymoon. The hotel is in a great and safe location, short walking distance from the cultural spots of the city. Staff are very friendly, they remembered our names when we returned for the last night of our trip! The rooms are nice enough for a 3 star hotel, clean and a decent size, with fans and tv. The restauraunt is ok, we weren't crazy about the food though but the service was great. The hotel also provides internet, decent breakfast and airport pick ups.
Overall a good choice if you are looking for a reasonably priced city hotel with a homely feel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank candp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2007

We only stayed one night, the last night of our trip on our way out of Costa Rica, which I think is sufficient enough time in the hotel.

The hotel is not a big name hotel, so you may have problems finding it. Some of the taxi drivers had never heard of it.

While the hotel seems charming, the rooms do feel a bit worn out and in need of remodeling. The room was fairly clean, but the bathroom tiles were stained and old which gave it a dirty feeling. There is no A/C so we had to leave the windows open. The problem we had was that there was a party sitting just below our window having drinks and it kept us up at night.

Breakfast was included, and the staff were nice enough to put together a boxed breakfast for us because we were leaving much earlier than when breakfast was served. While the food was not good, it was considerate of them to offer it to us. The staff in the bar and restaurant were excellent, even preparing us drinks to bring to the room with no charge.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TexasEx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2007

This hotel is way underrated! We stayed there for five nights in May for our honeymoon. We used San Jose as a base and did day trips out of the city all over the country -- all of which we set up at the hotel travel agent desk -- which was also AWESOME and totally affordable!
We had the suite (we requested the side away from the train and it never bothered us) and it was much bigger, nicer, and cleaner than we ever expected. We were able to relax here -- took afternoon naps on our futon, and really enjoyed the spotless hot-tub and American TV (in Panama our second destination -- we had NO English language TV). The staff is EXCELLENT and ALWAYS very friendly! EXTREMELY accomodating!! Breakfast was pretty good...dinner in the restuarant was VERY VERY good and it's right around the corner from a really good lunch place! I would 100% recommend this hotel! But get out of San Jose most of the time you're there -- the countryside and nature is too nice to miss!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alley_gator773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2007

I stayed here before seeing the rest of Costa Rica. This is a nice hotel with nice people but you MUST ask for a room that is not near the restaurant and bar. The rooms near the restaurant and bar are very loud.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank skaterannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
4.1 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#30 of 78 in San Jose
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 78 in San Jose
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#56 of 78 in San Jose
505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#18 of 78 in San Jose
418 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 78 in San Jose
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £35 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing