We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fleur de Lys”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This hotel was disappointing. If you don't get one of the better rooms you are stuck on the ground floor in a room with no windows and in the case of Iris room, a sense of a prison cell!
A tepid welcome from reception, no help with luggage and no water in the rooms. Coming from Guatemala we had expected a better level of service but so far not the case

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsV480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

A lovely little hotel, full of character situated in a fairly quiet area of San Jose although a train does pass by but fairly infrequently. The train is quite a sight coming along tracks embedded in the road, all part of the experience.

The hotel is decorated with lots of exotic woods and is very well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. There is a quiet litte bar, ideal for a per dinner drink and a good restaurant, which also serves a good breakfast.

The National Museum is 7 or 8 minutes walk away, just turn right outside the hotel. There is a great steak restaurant one block away, La Esquina de Buenos Aires, it's worth booking though as it can get very busy.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Small hotel very close to the city center. Excellent service, comfortable rooms (bathtub, finally!), not much to do there but very good for the price. Every place that is willing to prepare me a coffee at 4 in the morning deserves thumbs up. Rooms have thin walls and there is a train passing by, but it goes seldom and wasn't even as noisy as I would expect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepabou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here 1/19-1/21 before leaving for the OSA Peninsula. It is located in an intriguingly renovated house on the western edge of the downtown area. It was a nice walking tour to go to the nearby National Museum (very interesting with multiple perspectives on Costa Rica), the Contemporary Art Museum (also quite good-shows how today's Costa Rican artists respond to their culture), and the Jade Museum (interesting founding story but not as interesting as the National Museum). We arranged booking online and they gave us a suite with one room containing a small display case of Costa Rican artifacts and a tiny porch. The bed was enormous-we could've slept 4! They recommended a fine nearby Argentinian restaurant to us (finest meal we had in Costa Rica) and served a good variety of dishes for breakfast including the usual tica dishes and excellent Costa Rican coffee.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rthNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a great little hotel, right in the Centre of San Jose, within walking distance of the centre. I had a great time wondering around and visiting the sites, and getting a feel for the city. Away from the heavy traffic, which pollutes the atmosphere, this was the perfect place to stay. The hotel has a colonial feel to it, with friendly staff. I would come back again. Sandra Packham UK

Room Tip: Perfectly located for visiting this city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is a great little hotel-even if it is pink. It is right downtown in a run down area but the hotel is wonderful. It is an old house that has been converted.The rooms are large and very funky. It is clean.The staff are very courteous and they were happy to answer all our questions. Breakfast was great and there was lots of it.
If you want to stay in a hotel like a Hilton-dont stay here. If you like different and unusual-this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medusa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends in Daisy room. We stayed at the beginning and end of our holiday in Costa Rica arriving from into and leaving San Jose.
It's convenient location - only 20 minutes to the airport but close enough to walk to the shops and check out Mercado Central for souveniers.
All the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and there was a fan above the bed to keep us cool.
I'm not sure if the room we were in was above the restaurant area but there is a lot of noise so I would recommend taking ear plugs if you are a light sleeper - plus, since this hotel is a stop over for other guests, you will be able to hear alot of banging around when guests have early departures and drop offs.
Hotel was thoughtful enough to provide us breakfast boxes for our early departures.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosey5nose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#46 of 78 in San Jose
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kaps Place
Hotel Kaps Place
#27 of 78 in San Jose
316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 78 in San Jose
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#57 of 78 in San Jose
522 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 78 in San Jose
1,063 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#29 of 78 in San Jose
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £36 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing