We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 trip”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #28 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
PEORIA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2013 trip”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I just spent two wonderful nights (Feb. 27 & 28, 2013) at the Fleur de Lys Hotel in San Jose, C.R. at the end of a busy 10-day Caravan tour. There is no elevator but someone took my luggage up to the second floor - a ramp for luggage would be a plus - but they retained the Victorian House charm when they converted it to a hotel. The management was very helpful, my room named NARCIZO was charming and clean, continental breakfast was very nice and substantial and the entire hotel is totally charming. I am so glad I found this hotel on-line for my final two nights in this gorgeous country. Thank you Fleur de Lys for a great time. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again! Beverly Brown from Peoria, Arizona, USA

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevbrown49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    221
    86
    24
    13
See reviews for
44
249
60
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This hotel was disappointing. If you don't get one of the better rooms you are stuck on the ground floor in a room with no windows and in the case of Iris room, a sense of a prison cell!
A tepid welcome from reception, no help with luggage and no water in the rooms. Coming from Guatemala we had expected a better level of service but so far not the case

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsV480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

A lovely little hotel, full of character situated in a fairly quiet area of San Jose although a train does pass by but fairly infrequently. The train is quite a sight coming along tracks embedded in the road, all part of the experience.

The hotel is decorated with lots of exotic woods and is very well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. There is a quiet litte bar, ideal for a per dinner drink and a good restaurant, which also serves a good breakfast.

The National Museum is 7 or 8 minutes walk away, just turn right outside the hotel. There is a great steak restaurant one block away, La Esquina de Buenos Aires, it's worth booking though as it can get very busy.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Small hotel very close to the city center. Excellent service, comfortable rooms (bathtub, finally!), not much to do there but very good for the price. Every place that is willing to prepare me a coffee at 4 in the morning deserves thumbs up. Rooms have thin walls and there is a train passing by, but it goes seldom and wasn't even as noisy as I would expect.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepabou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here 1/19-1/21 before leaving for the OSA Peninsula. It is located in an intriguingly renovated house on the western edge of the downtown area. It was a nice walking tour to go to the nearby National Museum (very interesting with multiple perspectives on Costa Rica), the Contemporary Art Museum (also quite good-shows how today's Costa Rican artists respond to their culture), and the Jade Museum (interesting founding story but not as interesting as the National Museum). We arranged booking online and they gave us a suite with one room containing a small display case of Costa Rican artifacts and a tiny porch. The bed was enormous-we could've slept 4! They recommended a fine nearby Argentinian restaurant to us (finest meal we had in Costa Rica) and served a good variety of dishes for breakfast including the usual tica dishes and excellent Costa Rican coffee.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rthNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This is a great little hotel, right in the Centre of San Jose, within walking distance of the centre. I had a great time wondering around and visiting the sites, and getting a feel for the city. Away from the heavy traffic, which pollutes the atmosphere, this was the perfect place to stay. The hotel has a colonial feel to it, with friendly staff. I would come back again. Sandra Packham UK

Room Tip: Perfectly located for visiting this city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is a great little hotel-even if it is pink. It is right downtown in a run down area but the hotel is wonderful. It is an old house that has been converted.The rooms are large and very funky. It is clean.The staff are very courteous and they were happy to answer all our questions. Breakfast was great and there was lots of it.
If you want to stay in a hotel like a Hilton-dont stay here. If you like different and unusual-this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medusa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 78 in San Jose
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#15 of 78 in San Jose
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#32 of 78 in San Jose
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Property: Hotel Fleur de Lys
Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing