We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel, but excellent staff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Average hotel, but excellent staff...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

We just came back from a 10-day vacation in Costa Rica and stayed at the Fleur de Lys for 2 days. Hotel itself is very basic, but the staff was superb. Very friendly and extremely helpful. For the price we paid, thought the hotel was excellent. It's not a luxury hotel by any means, but we were happy. If we go back to Costa Rica again though, we probably wouldn't even stay in San Jose. Not much to see really. Much better to spend your time in other parts of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
1 Thank alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    217
    83
    21
    11
See reviews for
41
238
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wellington,Floria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2008

I booked this hotel for my son's honeymoon 1 year ago, with confirmations from Mr. Espinosa for the jacuzzi suite. My son and new wife arrived, only to find out that they did not have their reservation, and sent them to another hotel. On top of that, they charged them to make phone calls to us in the United States. How can a hotel be so careless? My son is booked there for 2 more nights, they had those reservations, but not their arrival. Calling Costa Rica is not easy, especially on a Sunday. I am disappointed in this hotel for their carelessness in making a honeymoon experience miserable

  • Disliked — they lost my reservation and charged me to make phone calls
Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nursepower10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, VA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2008

I am currently at this hotel writing the review.

Positives:
- They have wireless and I was able to convince them to give me the key for free. If you don't have a laptop, you can use their computers for free for 15 minutes. After that, it's about $2 / hr.
- The hotel itself is very cute. Nicely decorated inside and a cute patio out front.

Negatives:
- We booked online and received a receipt for two people for $84 (including tax). When we got there, they charged us $104. The next morning, when I realized the discrepancy, I talked to the front desk. They would not accommodate us AT ALL, even after showing them the emailed receipt confirming $84 (which they had as well).
- The location could be better -- we felt a little worried on the cab ride over. You probably wouldn't want to walk around after dark.
- The beds were very firm and uncomfortable. My partner did not get a good night's sleep.
- The room as a whole could've been better.
- The staff wasn't very helpful - they forced us to check out early, despite the sign hanging in the lobby indicating there was a 12:00 checkout time.
- The breakfast "buffet" consisted of toast, cereal, and fruit. If you wanted something hot, you had the option for one egg with rice & beans.


Mainly, the reason we wouldn't come back, is that we couldn't help but feel we were being taken advantage of because we were tourists (ie. higher prices and earlier checkout).

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sro_sro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2008

Stayed here on three occasions, during a recent tour of Costa Rica. Resteraunt, bar and staff are good, but we stayed in thrree of the rooms and they were not good, especially if you require twin beds. Most rooms have doubles, some very small doubles. Not many have windows and those that do have a view of about 3 feet. We were in a lrage party and they confirmed our opinion of the rooms.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank osinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2008

We stayed here either end of our time in Costa Rica. We were never really going to have time to explore and just needed a place that was clean, comfortable and central - Fleur de Lys met all the criteria.

Our first room was a bit dark and dingy, though when we returned for our last night we had a bigger, brighter room - if you can ask to get the better rooms you'll enjoy your stay more. The shower in the first room was also little more than a dribble, again not a problem with the second room.

Staff were friendly, though we had little dealings with them beyond check in. Breakfasts were OK, though certainly nothing special.

Overall, I wouldn't choose to spend a lot of time here, but if you've got to spend some time in San Jose then I'm sure you could do a lot worse.

Also, the traffic in San Jose is surprisingly bad - if you are coming in or leaving for the airport around rush hour (and haven't any time to look around the town - where there's not much to see anyway!), you'd be just as well to stay out of the centre. Our journey there took an hour leaving at 9.30am.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — the small, dark room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acr606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topanga
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2008

Safe, clean, comfortable small hotel with good international clientele. Was a little concerned that the room would be stuffy since had only windows opening to an interior atrium but was fine with the ceiling fan. If staying more that one or two nights it might be worth getting a junior suite. Cocktails on the patio Friday evening included good conversation and a trio with local color. The breakfast was good.

  • Liked — Clean, safe, good shower
  • Disliked — No view
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JericoSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning and end of our Costa Rica honeymoon. The hotel is in a great and safe location, short walking distance from the cultural spots of the city. Staff are very friendly, they remembered our names when we returned for the last night of our trip! The rooms are nice enough for a 3 star hotel, clean and a decent size, with fans and tv. The restauraunt is ok, we weren't crazy about the food though but the service was great. The hotel also provides internet, decent breakfast and airport pick ups.
Overall a good choice if you are looking for a reasonably priced city hotel with a homely feel.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Restaurant
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank candp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#29 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Property: Hotel Fleur de Lys
Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing