We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Hotel in an quiet barrio”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #24 of 76 Hotels in San Jose
CH-Kriens
1 review
“Stylish Hotel in an quiet barrio”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Rooms with a individual, colonial touch. Quiet quarter garaneeing relaxing sleep.
Excellent restaurant respecting individual wishes. Very freindly personel. All rooms are clean and comfortable. As european travellers we felt safe in the hotel an the region. Very good internet facilities for business purposes.

Room Tip: Spacy rooms especially in the upper floors with view over San José
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph Em H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    218
    85
    21
    11
See reviews for
42
241
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our first night in Costa Rica. We felt very welcomed upon our arrival, were offered help with our luggage, and were provided free welcome drinks from the bar. Our room (Gardenia) was on the first floor which we felt was convenient to access. The room and private bath were clean and sufficient in size and amenities for us. Breakfast was also quite nice, with a variety of fruits, juices, eggs, beans and rice, and other options available buffet style. HOWEVER, be warned if you intend to attempt to sleep past 4:30 AM! The train station seems as if it must be within the hotel (though it's next door), as you can hear not only train horns and engine noise, but people (workers?) talking; The acoustics of the building make it sound as if they are right in the hotel room with you and ignoring the fact that you're trying to sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed at Hotel Fleur de Lys for one night in a standard room. I was very happy with my stay. The room was reasonably sized for one person with a TV (not many channels though...), a double bed, a fan and a large, if dated bathroom. Everything was very clean, Wifi worked very well in all areas of the hotel, my room was quiet and breakfast, which is included in the room rate, was quite good, consisting of fruit, yoghurt, scrambled eggs, homemade cake, rice and beans, tea or coffee. I was able tomstore my luggage at the hotel for the day, they have a safe at reception and a nice bar where you get a complimentary welcome drink upon arrival. It was maybe 3 blocks from the centre of town, just one to he crafts market and national museum. I would recommend this hotel, even though I did not like San Jose much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEORIA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I just spent two wonderful nights (Feb. 27 & 28, 2013) at the Fleur de Lys Hotel in San Jose, C.R. at the end of a busy 10-day Caravan tour. There is no elevator but someone took my luggage up to the second floor - a ramp for luggage would be a plus - but they retained the Victorian House charm when they converted it to a hotel. The management was very helpful, my room named NARCIZO was charming and clean, continental breakfast was very nice and substantial and the entire hotel is totally charming. I am so glad I found this hotel on-line for my final two nights in this gorgeous country. Thank you Fleur de Lys for a great time. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again! Beverly Brown from Peoria, Arizona, USA

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevbrown49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This hotel was disappointing. If you don't get one of the better rooms you are stuck on the ground floor in a room with no windows and in the case of Iris room, a sense of a prison cell!
A tepid welcome from reception, no help with luggage and no water in the rooms. Coming from Guatemala we had expected a better level of service but so far not the case

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsV480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

A lovely little hotel, full of character situated in a fairly quiet area of San Jose although a train does pass by but fairly infrequently. The train is quite a sight coming along tracks embedded in the road, all part of the experience.

The hotel is decorated with lots of exotic woods and is very well maintained. Friendly and helpful staff. There is a quiet litte bar, ideal for a per dinner drink and a good restaurant, which also serves a good breakfast.

The National Museum is 7 or 8 minutes walk away, just turn right outside the hotel. There is a great steak restaurant one block away, La Esquina de Buenos Aires, it's worth booking though as it can get very busy.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AGDowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Small hotel very close to the city center. Excellent service, comfortable rooms (bathtub, finally!), not much to do there but very good for the price. Every place that is willing to prepare me a coffee at 4 in the morning deserves thumbs up. Rooms have thin walls and there is a train passing by, but it goes seldom and wasn't even as noisy as I would expect.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepabou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#36 of 76 in San Jose
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#30 of 76 in San Jose
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 76 in San Jose
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#40 of 76 in San Jose
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aranjuez
Hotel Aranjuez
#6 of 76 in San Jose
988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#16 of 76 in San Jose
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Property: Hotel Fleur de Lys
Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing