We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff and super clean!”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great hotel with the most friendly staff ever! We ate at the hotel's restaurant and the food was excellent. In San Jose, good restaurants are hard to find. We left at 5.20am to the airport and they had made us breakfast ready in a box to take away!! It was very safe and calm hotel and worth every penny!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ContentGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

Very Nice hotel, very old style. Funny train from the Road. Closed to most everything. And half an hour from airport. Very helpfull staff. Good breackfast. Also if you have a early flight. Hope to return.

Room Tip: Close to airport and City
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gitterita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We liked the place so much that we came back to stay here a second time, before we left Costa Rica. The interior of the hotelito is just perfect and very tasteful. Breakfast was great with tasty banana cake, they have a nice terrace where you can sit and enjoy some drinks. It is a lively place, we liked the atmosphere. Did not try the restaurant, because we just found a great one just around the corner of the place (Nuestra tierra - looks very rustic but food was fantastic!).

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erna78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Costa Rica is a beautiful place but San Jose is not at all. Nevertheless Hotel Fleur de Lys is a nice place to stay for a night or two. It's very close to the center and the people are very helpful. The Hotel is clean, breakfast is ok. The rooms are very simple. You can park your outside in a safe area and a bakery is around the corner. When you're used to the Costa Rica rhythm (sleep early, wake up early) the train next to the hotel won't bother you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Doris S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The trains sound scary, but they stop passing by around 20.30h, until approx. 5h in the morning. So if you go early to bed (like we did cos we intuitively adapted to CR rhythm), then you shouldn’t have a problem getting some sleep in this hotel :)
It is in the centre, the rooms at the back of the hotel are acceptable, those overlooking the street not so.. The rooms are very small and quite old. But it looked clean so it was ok. The center of San Jose is not really place where I would walk in the night, we hated this city, it is disgusting. So better take a hotel which is on the outskirts in a nice area like Escazu, you will anyway be picked up for every fieldtrip and in the center you have nothing to search for.
The staff was really amazing, we complained because of the noise (I have heart problems and needed rest), so after phoning our travel agency they even gave us a suite at the back of the hotel, without charging us for upgrade. Really nice of them.
The food was nothing special, I ate a thai curry once, it had nothing to do with thai nor curry ;)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VK V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Beautiful colonial building with nice hall and coridors. Everything made of wood. Good wi-fi, peaceful location. After check-in you get free welcome drink. Bathroom should be refreshed!
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pibi_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 78 in San Jose
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,330 reviews
4.1 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#33 of 78 in San Jose
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £33 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing