We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and helpful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #22 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and helpful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed three nights in June 2014 and really enjoyed this place. Felt well taken care of by the friendly staff whom arranged pick up from the airport, gave us useful advise on trips and gave us a better room than the one we had actually paid for.
Nice bar and restaurant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Asa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    214
    81
    21
    11
See reviews for
41
233
58
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

On a quick visit to Switzerland we needed a place to stay one night in the Neuchatel area and this was really the only hotel available for a family. A quaint, oldish hotel, fairly easy to find in the main street with secure parking in a side street which is a little difficult to arrange. This means a bit of a walk with luggage but unexpectedly there was a fast elevator after check in.
Room quite large with four beds (two pushed together to pretend they are a double). Rooms very clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast was an adequate continental buffet in what doubles as an adequate Italian Restaurant at lunch and dinner time. Reception staff had very good english but difficult to talk to breakfast staff although they kept disappearing. Had dinner in the restaurant which was ok Italian but very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rego Park, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms large and comfortable, and the hotel is gorgeous. My husband stayed here on our last night of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We ended up spending a lot of time in the hotel bar because there isn't a great deal to do in San Jose, but we had fun watching soccer and listening to live music! It was a great way to feel spoiled on our last night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Fleur de Lys for 2 nights as a short stop before leaving for Arenal. Overall, I have nothing to say against the Hotel itself. We had a free upgrade for the jacuzzi room. It was really clean smelled good. The staff was nice, helpful and the food was good. Restaurant are expensive in San Jose and we didn't find the menu overpriced. The breakfast was also really good. The Hotel is greatly located, a few minutes from the main street. Count 25$ US for a taxi from the airport.

The only downside: the train. It is litterally 4 meters away from the hotel and passes by from 5 am to 21hre pm. And it honks very loudly constantly. It kept us from sleeping well and woke us up every 15-30 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I love hotels with character, and this hotel definitely has it. The hotel is located in one (or several?) authentic San Jose houses and is well-decorated; my friends who visited San Jose before me liked the house and took pictures of it - we discovered it while watching their pictures. The rooms are clean and very pleasant and cozy. My room did not have a window (window was facing a corridor), you might want to consider it. Also, the staff does not speak good English, and they sent me to a different bus station when I was going to Liberia.

The breakfast buffet was better than what I experienced in other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Volga981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grecia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The front desk staff were fluent in English and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was ample and the salad I had for dinner was excellent and the provide you with the password along with your room key. The complimentary cocktail was a little sweet for my tastes, but I enjoyed savouring the delicious salad and vino blanco while people watching from the patio bar. The Wi-Fi was outstanding. The metro rumbles near the building and train whistles honk frequently.It's a three story old and possible historic hotel. There are no elevators so climbing the stairs can be taxing for some older people. Also the banisters are rather unstable and need of repair. My room was very small but had a balcony that looked out onto a large amphitheater and tall office buildings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEGGAROO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuhotel, Director of Sales at Hotel Fleur de Lys, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your comment in Trip Adviser. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the stay in our Hotel. Yeas you are right the House is 150 years old and as to keep his beauty it only has been (all the time is) softly restored by us. The banisters have been fixed and we always are attending not to give elderly guests the 3 floor rooms.

We would be very pleased to welcome you soon again in the Fleur de Lys Hotel.

With our best regards

Jordan and all my helpers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

All roomas are different and named after varios flowers. Rooms are bit small, but well equipped and cozy. The entire hotel (including rooms) is well decoreted and has nice atmosphere. Welcome trink is a nice surprise. Restaurant has good food both for breakfast (included) and dinner. There's a railway near the block, so you can hear the trains honking from time to time at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mluiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#17 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#27 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#43 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Property: Hotel Fleur de Lys
Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing