We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so friendly”
Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #26 of 78 Hotels in San Jose
A TripAdvisor Member
Roanoke,Virginia
316
Reviewed 31 March 2006

Staff not friendly or that helpful.We had a noisey room next to the check in desk.NO fan!The friends traveling with us had a much nicer room.We enjoyed the near by restaurant,Nuestros Tierra.Large portions,good food.Wine was expensive,many selections all,$30.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2006

We found this hotel to be spotlessly clean, beautiful decor and fine local artwork throughout. Rooms all decorated to an above standard and staff extremely helpful. Nice to be able to sit outside in the bar area of an evening although there was no view! One fault was although the hotel is on a side road, passing lorries can be heard during the early hours. Perfect as a one-night stop-off point.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jofontana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2005

No complaints here. Fleur De Lys was exactly what we were looking for. The room was clean, the staff was helpful and efficent, and the front porch was a terrific place for a beer at the end of the day. The breakfast was excellent, and we really enjoyed the great conversation with some of our fellow hotel guests. I was concerned that our room would be noisy because it fronted on the street, but this was not the case. We would recommend this hotel to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westwilshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham, England
15
Reviewed 17 April 2005

This is an absolutely lovely hotel. It must have had a complete refurb since the previous reviewer stayed. The whole place is beautifully decorated, the rooms spotless and comfortable, the service excellent. I would go back tomorrow!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago, IL
25
Reviewed 17 January 2005

Our experience at Fleur de Lys was really good... I thought the hotel had a lot of character, the staff was very helpful, the breakfast buffet yummy, and the little outdoor bar/patio a nice place for a drink. We stayed in two different rooms, on nonconsecutive nights, and one was a little nicer than the other, but overall not bad. It's a few blocks walk from the main part of town, but fairly convenient. There's a good/interesting restaurant right around the corner, called... Nuestros Tierra (I think). Authentic, cheap, locals eat there.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2004

awful in every respect........worn out, cheap, old, in need of paint, little service....lousy restaurant, bad beds, bad lighting, crappy bathroom, over priced, no ceiling fan.........on the plus side, the watermelon at the breakfast buffet was good...

go to the Don Carlos or Grano de Oro

jz

1  Thank zaxmtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer hatten Namen einheimischer Blumen - empfehlenswert ein Zimmer abgewandt der Bahnlinie wä...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ausgewanderter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 78 in San Jose
961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#40 of 78 in San Jose
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#42 of 78 in San Jose
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 78 in San Jose
1,330 reviews
4.1 mi away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#33 of 78 in San Jose
241 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
San Jose Cocoon Hotel
#53 of 78 in San Jose
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#19 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range: £33 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing