We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some rooms have no outside windows”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Fleur de Lys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fleur de Lys
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Some rooms have no outside windows”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed here for 2 night at the start of our trip round Costa Rica and one night before we came home. It is situated in bad part of San Jose and advised not to go out after dark.
We found this hotel not up to standard it was dirty and the bathrooms smelled of urine. The beds were always clean and comfortable,but my main complaint is that some rooms had no outside window. The window in the room looked out to a corridor were ever one passed it felt very cautrophobic. The celling fan did help to move the air about which did help the situation.
The food at breakfast time was dreadfull and if you did not get there early no food was left and what was left was cold. The food in the evening was better but very expensive.
We went on a tour with a company and I shall be complaing about this hotel to them,we payed a lot of money for this trip and expected better.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DecerningLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    217
    83
    21
    11
See reviews for
41
238
59
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

We stayed here four nights, in three different rooms, during a tour which started, ended, and had a mid point in San Jose. All the rooms were different and we learnt from other family and tour members that they vary considerably in size and brightness. All were clean, with comfortable beds, coffee making machines, TV etc. The hallways, particularly the main first floor landing, are elegant with polished floors and floral arrangements. We only ate breakfast here, which was perfectly ample if unexciting, but were told by others in our party that the evening meals were very good.
Overall this hotel is probably a good stopping off base for a touring holiday. It is very convenient for walking to the centre of San Jose, reasonably comfortable and has a friendly small hotel ambience.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

Stayed at this hotel before and after a tour of National Parks and before our final return. 2 of the rooms were dark with no outside windows, however the third was very bright and airy. There is no lift and some rooms are on upper floors. A good hotel for our stop overs.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimpsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elstree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Stayed here at beginning and end of Costa Rican trip, in different rooms both clean and comfortable. Free wireless internet & computers for guest use. Coffee available downstairs and in the room. Breakfast adequate, not exceptional, but enough to fill you up. The position is very good & although we had front rooms, we were not really disturbed by the train.

Don't expect luxury, but a good basic hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

Good location; rooms were good, not great. we realy enjoyed the ambiance of the bar, and the restaurant was surprisingly good. We would stay here again

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ellenint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

Stayed here first and last nights on holiday ( Costa Rica MUST be visited - best vacation destination EVER ! ) really nice old style hotel, loads of character and agree with all the positive comments from others. Spotlessly clean throughout, excellent breakfast - best we had in CR - and really excellent evening meal and very good value. The train acts a wake up call at 6.60 am !

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c7hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crchango
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

the hotel is really ok, it's clean, very helpful people at the desk. If you consider the price of 100$ a night though, it is really a bit overpriced. As we booked it already in advance, we just picked the recommendation of our travel agent.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crchango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#29 of 85 in San Jose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dunn Inn
Hotel Dunn Inn
#19 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 85 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fleur de Lys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fleur de Lys

Property: Hotel Fleur de Lys
Address: Calle 13 between avenidas 2 and 6 | PO Box 10736, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#16 Family Hotel in San Jose
#18 Business Hotel in San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fleur de Lys 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fleur de Lys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleur De Lys Hotel
Fleur De Lys San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing